We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Couldn't get room with ocean view, reasonably good accommodation, clean, free standard internet, about 2 miles drive to Acadia National Park, about 6 mikes drive to Cadillac Mountain top for the amazing Sun rise view, plenty of parking, one may not consider it a great family hotel.

Room Tip: Book rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our resort. You can't go wrong with a Cadillac sunrise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    268
    183
    103
    82
See reviews for
229
357
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I am a platinum elite member and I travel a great deal so I always stay in an ihg property. We have been in an 18 day east coast road trip so this was our last stop before flying home. I booked this room 2 months ahead of time for this trip. When we checked in a rude person checked us in and we did not get the room we requested. We had stayed here several years ago and so I knew to ask for an ocean view room. She told me they were completely sold out which was a lie. Because I checked my app on my phone and they were not. And they had rooms available all 3 nights we were here. I have never had any problems like this in all my travels. So I took the room she gave us just to keep from causing a scene in the lobby. When I got to the room I called the manager (Andrew). And he told me he would upgrade me to an ocean view room as soon as they had one cleaned that day. So we just went out to the pool area and enjoyed the peacefulness and the beautiful scenes. Andrew had the bell man move out stuff to the ocean view room and in about an hour our room was available. So thankful that Andrew saved the day. I will stay here again if we come back to this area. It is in a good location but it is not walkable to down town unless you want to walk 2 miles in one direction. But as far as the room it was always clean and the beds are comfortable. Housekeeping does a good job. I just hope you don't have the lady that first checked us in. I failed to get her name.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
I'm sorry the beginning of your stay was not perfect, and I'm glad to hear Andrew sorted out your room issue. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the rest of your visit. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

So, there is a reason why this Holiday Inn is rated at 33 of 40 hotels (Actually only 39 since #40 is closed), it just doesn't come up to the standards of what makes a great hotel.
First of all, as a business traveler, I stay in Holiday Inn Expresses, Hampton Inns, Hilton Garden Inns, and Comfort Suites all the time. I know what an "average" property looks like, and the service that it gives. If you check out my other reviews, I think you will find that I review hotels fairly.
But THIS place is a "Resort". That means it has multiple restaurants, a bell desk, property to walk around, Tennis Courts, Pool, upgraded suites, Views of the Ocean...
BUT... it looks tired. it needs renovation. The Grandfather clock in the elevator Lobby looks out of place, the front doors don't open automatically, the Elevators are slow (but have a beautiful glass wall view towards the ocean).
Reason for giving my score:
1. Service: We arrived at 4:00... well after the 3:00 check-in... We had to wait in line... then, the room wasn't ready. We were asked for our phone number and they would call us in 45 minutes... at 5:00 they finally called. Score: Poor
2. Platinum member: What? No Upgrade? OK, i know that upgrades are optional, and when available... But being a Platinum member takes a lot of stays... I am just saying... Score: Average (Not knocking them down for this).
3. Cleanliness: Room: It was very clean... but this is expected for anyplace that I stay. nothing exceptional here: Score: Very Good.
4. Room "Niceness": I am sorry... but this just isn't a "resort" room... I have been to many other hotels which have nicer rooms. TV: Tiny, FURNITURE: Worn Out (Chips in wood of Chest), Beds: Comfortable, BALCONY: What is that? Our room LOOKS like it has one from the outside... but there is no door to get there.. you can step through the window if you want. BATHROOM: Large size and clean. As I normally do, I am scoring this on "what is expected" for the price... Score: Poor
5. Internet: Very bad in my room (#333) I ended up using my hotspot and got better speed (with only 2 bars). Score: Very Bad
Overall Score: Poor

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View if you want one, otherwise, you have a balcony (with no doorway onto it) overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear timshuwy,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

When we checked into the hotel it took us over an hour to get our room. The first person we talked to said we were in one building and then an hour later when we were finally told out room was ready we got put in a different building after we had already brought all of our things to the first building they said we were in. We had no view except trees outside our room.This hotel was a little way out of Bar Harbor so we had to drive into town. Parking was very difficult.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Sorry about the room confusion. We usually do much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I were passing through and needed a place to stay. we looked on line and booked a room at the last minute. We got a great deal here and anything else available was $80 more a night. No, we were not in the main building. we have been before and this time were just looking for a cheap room. we were on the property at the Eden house. it is probably 100 yards from the main building.

We ate at Stewart's lobster pound and had the lobster dinner. It was very good. the prices were not bad for being on the resort with a beautiful view of the harbor. The rains were pouring and we did not want to go downtown on the motorcycle anyway. Even in the rain, the view from the restaurant was excellent. They only use paper products to serve in that restaurant. (I think they don't want glass down there for safety reasons) I found this to be a little of a turn off. It isn't very green and for the money,, I don't expect to have wine in a plastic cup.

The room was clean, the king bed was comfortable. Breakfast was not included in our room. We were going to eat the buffet but it didn't open until 7am and were were on the road at 630 home.

i enjoyed the stay and would stay again..

Room Tip: get a budget room on site at the eden room at the last minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Awesome! If you are going to have lobster you may as well enjoy it 5 feet from the water!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Room booked as "accessible with roll in shower" barely qualifies and doubtful that it meets ADA standards. Door is standard width and to maneuver wheelchair in bathroom requires making multiple turns in the shower itself. Probably can't do it in a large wheelchair. Horizontal grab bar is attached to the sink at an unusual height. There is no vertical grab bar. No room for knees under the sink making it difficult to use from a wheelchair. Requested a shower seat and was informed none was available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the resort for two nights, July 23 & 24th! When we arrived (late) the room we booked was not available, we were automatically upgraded to a suite! Front desk staff were pleasant and professional. We enjoyed relaxing views, the hot tub, and even the laundry room the morning it rained. We would go back!!!

Room Tip: Ocean View!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eben S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Great! Sometimes timing is everything!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#22 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency

Address: 123 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Hotel Bar Harbor
Regency Bar Harbor
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.