We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great (Better?) One Year Later” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Richland, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Still Great (Better?) One Year Later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We first stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn in May 2013, and decided to come back to stay in July 2014. (We live in Washington State, but have family we visit in Maine.) We had the the same type of room (the two story "loft" suite) in the Main Hotel portion. We were pleasantly surprised that the entire unit was freshly painted and all the decor cleaned or upgraded (I'm suspecting that the hotel, in general, was painted, re-decorated, etc.). It was great a year ago, but it was really nice to stay in a "nearly new" very old room!!

View from the upper floor deck facing the harbor/ocean was fantastic. Spent many hours just enjoying the view, people watching and seeing all the boats coming & going. (Were also blessed with fantastic weather, so that helped... :-) ).

HINT: While it was fun "rubbing elbows with the rich & famous", summer is the peak $$$$ season, and they don't have specials/discounts during this time (don't have to, the hotel and town are PACKED). For a more frugal stay (but still a tad pricey), take a chance on the weather and go mid/late-Spring, or early Fall. (They close down during the Winter.)

Room Tip: See above on the time to visit regarding the seasons and pricing. (Summer is the peak for $$$$.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you decided to return as our guest at the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa. Thank you for your very kind review. I highly recommend staying with us mid/late-Spring or early Fall. Both of these time periods are beautiful times to visit us. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,


Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    269
    56
    37
    10
See reviews for
258
557
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Wish we could have stayed longer. Spent two nights in a two level suite. Downstairs with a queen bed, nice sitting area looking over the gardens and parking, and a bathroom. Upstairs was a king size bed with a large amount of space and a lovely view over the harbor. We could even see the bar from the window and watch its appearance and disappearance. There was a fridge and a small microwave. Wish we had known about the microwave as we would have bought something quick to eat after our long drive. Upstairs shower was pretty basic and did not match the quality of the inn. Having two bathrooms though with a family is very helpful. As others have said the included breakfast is ok only, would be better with hot oatmeal. The view from the patio outside of the breakfast area is very relaxing.
Location of the hotel is great, walking distance to the main part of town but yet feels quiet and relaxed. Grounds are well maintained with beautiful plantings.
Internet did not work at all during our stay and they said they are trying to put some boosters in the area. We did not try the fitness area, it was small but did not go to Maine to work out when Acadia is right next door.

Room Tip: Two level suite in main room is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Our family of three just spent the long Labor Day weekend at the Bar Harbor Inn and had a wonderful time. We spent the extra and purchased a package which included full breakfasts and two dinners in the Reading Room. The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. Everyone we encountered during our stay, from Julian at the front desk, Jon who took care of our room, Paula and Jessica in the dining room and the kind gentlemen who manned the front doors - all were outstanding, pleasant and friendly. This is definitely the way to go! We're already planning our trip for next year - staying longer next time!

Room Tip: If you can't stay in the Oceanfront Lodge or the Main Inn, the Newport building, 2nd floor is ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

You can't beat the view at the Bar Harbor Inn. We stayed there in August and loved sitting out on our balcony. It was nice to walk into town along the waterfront. The rooms could use a bit of an upgrade, but it really didn't matter since the view and the continental breakfast were the main factor for us. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit and bakery. We sat out on the porch and watched the fog lift as we had breakfast. Nice hotel at a perfect location. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We chose the first floor so that we didn't have to walk up the stairs with our luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Spent a wonderful 7 days there around 4th of July. This is perfectly located to everything picturesque Bar Harbor has to offer. Two story suite in the Main Inn was excellent, views and service are great. I loved walking the shore path at sunrise and the resort has Yoga classes on the lawn overlooking the ocean that were a highlight for me. Now that is serenity. Beth the instructor is fantastic. Complimentary breakfast was excellent with lots of fresh fruit and the staff was helpful and friendly. Hurricane Arthur took the power out for 20 hours but the staff was wonderful and professional. Terrace dining had great food and ambiance, wasn't thrilled with the indoor dining, snotty maitre'd - the only sub-par employee. We will be going back next year, can't wait for those beautiful yoga classes !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Superb location, and a warm welcome. Our room on the second floor of the bay-side building provided a very nice and quiet view. It was a bit dated in terms of furniture, but stll provided all the comfort we wanted. Decent continental breakfast. Friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The view from our second-floor rooms in the oceanside lodge was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The location is convenient to everything in downtown Bar Harbor (walking distance! no looking for parking!) and Acadia National Park (10 minutes' drive to several entrances). My boys loved having a pool. Also, the rooms are quiet. Close the windows and you will NOT hear your neighbors. However, the lodge rooms *are* close to the shore path -- I can imagine that folks with open windows on the first floor could be disturbed by all the people strolling or jogging by. Breakfast was fine for us, but we eat light. My husband thought there could be more protein options and those who like a full breakfast will have to go elsewhere. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.