We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Woburn, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Location but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

Bar Harbor Inn's propery location is without a doubt incredible and because of that it makes up for the rooms and the staff.

Let me qualify all this by saying we go to Bar Harbor at least 3 times a year. We stopped staying at the Bar Harbor Inn because of the rooms and the staff, we stayed here this trip due to our alternative hotel not having any rooms available. We figured we heard they had renovated some rooms so we'd try it again.

We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge 2nd Floor. View is amazing. The beds are HORRIBLE... bring your Doans back pills because you WILL NEED THEM. You shouldn't hear the "bong" of springs when getting in or out of bed (and no I am not a large person). No matter where on the bed there were springs poking and bonging.. not good. There were multiple stains on the dingy carpeting and the windows weren't cleaned. No fixtures matched and in general the place looked worn (paint chiped, wall paper peeling in bathroom). It was clean but worn. Rightfully so the hotel is busy and popular but come on! I can only hope in the future someone buys the hotel and gives the rooms the attention they deserve because the location is unbelivable.

I won't comment much on the staff because as all the other reviewers stated their isn't much to comment on. If you see a staff member they won't acknowledge you. It is truly YOUR honor to stay at THEIR hotel. You should be going out of your way to greet them and thank them for letting you stay there.

In summation - great hotel location, beautiful views, bad rooms, non-exsistent customer service. So stay but prepare for back pain and being ignored.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    270
    57
    37
    10
See reviews for
259
560
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights at the Bar Harbor Inn in the last week of October. We found the deal on Ebookers for just $99 a night. It was right at the end of the season and we were in the Newport building which doesn't have a view, but even so I thought this was fantastic value.

The hotel sits right at the edge of the harbor with the Shore Path skirting the edge of the property. The weather was foggy a lot of the time we were there, but when the fog lifted, we could see the Porcupine islands from the Breakfast Room window and the islands in Frenchman's Bay if you stood on the terrace and looked towards the main building. It's just 2 minutes walk from the main street and all amenities - and about 10 mins drive or less from the Acadia park entrance. I don't think we could possibly have done any better!

I'm really surprised at the comments from the previous reviewer. Throughout our visit, we found all staff to be extremely helpful and polite. We were welcomed by a member of staff the moment we arrived and every time we met a member of staff throughout the stay they smiled and said hello.

The continental breakfast was the best I've ever had in a US hotel - there was nothing hot, but a variety of cereals, baked goods and lots of fruit. The area was well maintained (again, very helpful, pleasant staff) and the view (when weather permitted) was stunning.

We took advantage of a special offer for guests in the hotel - 3 - course dinner in The Reading Room restaurant for $37 per person. As most of the entrees were around that price on their own, it was a really good deal and we had a very pleasant evening with attentive (but not intrusive) service.

This was my 4th visit to Bar Harbor - I love the place and can't wait to go back. It was really interesting to see it in another season - I've always been in the summer before. I don't suppose I could afford the Bar Harbor Inn at the height of the season, but if i could I would definitely choose to stay there again!

  • Liked — Location and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Noisy heater!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

Bar Harbor Inn is like no other hotel. The staff is probably the best staff we have ever had the pleasure to meet. And, believe me, you meet them. They greet you and smile at you everywhere you go in the hotel. We haven't met a single cranky or unpleasant staff member. The hotel itself is beautiful and charming. The food is exquisite. We had the lobster bisque the other night and it was to die for. We could have eaten a bowl of it and had nothing else, but, of course, we had more!! We cut the filet mignon with a regular kitchen knife.
We are invited up every year and it is such a privilege to be there. We are pampered and treated like kings and queens. What a wonderful place!!

  • Liked — the wonderful staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We just returned from our honeymoon at the Bar Harbor Inn in Bar Harbor, Maine and I already want to go back again. It was everything I had hoped it would be and more! We stayed in the Oceanfront Lodge building on the second floor maybe 50 feet (or less) from the ocean itself. Our room had a king sized bed and sitting area (both very comfortable) arranged so that when we work up in the morning we were actually looking out the french doors across the water (as long as we left the drapes open which was fine on the second floor!)

Once we were ready to start our day, we made sure to stop in downstairs for their expanded deluxe continental breakfast which really was as good as the name suggests -- bagels, muffins, banana bread, coffee cake, multiple cereals, fresh fruit, fruit salad, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, milk, four different kinds of juice. It was so good that we just ate a large late breakfast and skipped lunch entirely all week!

The location of the inn itself, is part of what made it so great for us. It's literally right in the middle of where you want to be! We were directly across the street for the center of town, within walking distance to everything -- whale watch and sea kayak tour offices, restaurants, shopping, town green, museums, even a couple of great hikes along the oceanfront path or out to bar island across the sand bar (at low tide).

The second thing that sets this place above the rest is their superior service. When I called them to book the room, I mentioned once that it would be our honeymoon, but throughout our entire stay, any of the staff we spoke to congratulated us. Everyone was incredibly friendly, professional and efficient. They even surprised us when room service delivered us a bottle of sparkling cider for our first night there!

Lastly, but certainly not least, I can't say enough about their Reading Room restaurant. We used a local review book to choose different 3-diamond restaurants for dinner every night. All our meals were excellent, but we saved the Reading Room for our last night and it's a good thing we did because no one else could possibly have topped it. We got seated at a window seat overlooking the ocean, the service was again pleasant and perfectly timing, the professional piano player set a romantic sophisticated mood, but there aren't words to describe just how good the food was. Simply put, my husband and I agree, it was easily the best meal we've ever eaten anywhere ever.

We paid $169 a night for our room which seems to be a fair price for the location and quality of both the facilities and service. However, since it was at the end of October and past peak season there were some things that we weren't able to do (sea kayaking, whale watching, etc.), although it was also really nice to avoid the big crowds and hassles that come with them. We'd like to go back again when it's warmer, but I know the prices get much steeped during the busier times of the year. Maybe next time we'll try for early summer, until then we've got lots of great memories from our honeymooner's paradise to keep us warm!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed at a different hotel when we visitied Bar Harbor for vacation last year! When we walked along the shore path we decided that we would have to come back this year and stay at the Bar Harbor Inn because of how close it is to the ocean and the unbelieveable view it has. Well, we decided to get married there as well. We stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn and had an ocean front room with a balcony that you can watch the sun rise and set every day with gorgreous views of the mountains with the ocean! We got married on the property at the white Gazebo which was just beautiful.. The only thing we were disappointed in was the pillows. They seem a little out dated and the mattress on the bed as well. Such a perfect place to stay. The continental breakfast was just awesome! If you leave there hungry, it will be your own fault. The staff was GREAT! The nicest people I ever met! Even sent something to our room as a gift from the hotel for our wedding. They always smiled and remembered us and always asked what we needed. (softer pillows, lol )
We plan on going back and staying at the Bar Harbor Inn every year for our wedding anniversary.. It was such a great way to start our new life together and we will go back and request the same room.. The view is more than well worth it!!!

Mr & Mrs Oliver
Kentucky

  • Liked — THE VIEW!!!!
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We booked the autumn finale package and enjoyed our stay at BHI. The hotel is in downtown Bar Harbor and right on the water. We had a second-floor ocean view room in the main Inn building. The room was good-sized and decorated in a Victorian style with a four poster king bed and dark wood furniture. Our room had a gas fireplace which ran on a timer. The timer's clicking was a little annoying. Initially when we checked in there was a strange odor that I think was related to the gas but we brought it up with housekeeping and it was addressed quickly. The room had a small balcony that we didn't use too much because it was pretty chilly in the morning and evening when we were actually in the room. There was a large jetted tub, plenty of towels, comfy terry cloth robes, and lots of counter space in the bath. Continental breakfast in the Lodge building was included in our package. This felt a little downscale/cafeteria style to me but was certainly adequate - muffins and breads, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee. One day we treated ourselves to breakfast in the Reading Room. It was excellent and the servings were generous. We also had dinner in the Reading Room one night. Our server, Tom, was outstanding and the lobster pie lived up to its "famous" billing. There is live piano music to accompany the meal. The hotel is very convenient to shopping and restaurants. Be aware that you are staying next to an active harbor where fishing boats head out very early in the morning. I won't complain about that because I certainly enjoyed their hard work every night at dinner! Overall I would describe it as casually upscale if that makes sense.

  • Liked — Location, views, dining in the Reading Room, ambiance
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittykat
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

We stayed in a room on the ocean w/a balcony. Although it was very chilly in the morning and evening, the sunrise and sunset were so overwhelmingly beautiful we stayed out there and watched them. The house keeping was great. The room service was excellent. Bed was so...comfortable along with the entire room. They have flat screen TVs. Main St, which has so many gift shops, restaurants and attractions are all within walking distance. There are so many things to do, or you can just relax and enjoy the sounds of the ocean. The entire town and its residence are pleasant and very accommodating. My husband and I would have stayed for a month is we could have, and intend to return in 2 years for our 25th aniversary and renew our vows there, to us it is the perfect place to display our love infront of family and God.
Thank you for the oppertunity to let everyone know how wonderful the Bar Harbor Inn is as well as the town in general.
Mr. & Mrs. Shehady

  • Liked — Ocean veiw, shopping, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.