We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We recently paid $200+ a night to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn. We knew these were the "low-end" rooms and didn't expect to the room to be fancy, be in the main part of the hotel or to have an ocean view. However, it was a little disappointing upon our arrival to see that we were essentially staying in a motel in the back of the parking lot. And we were truly underwhelmed when we entered our room. It was about as basic as a Motel 6, with cheap, unattractive furniture and bedding that looked as if they'd last been updated in the 1980s. The hotel didn't even provide the little bottles of shampoo and conditioner or bars of soap that are standard in all but the lowest end motels. Instead, liquid shampoo and soap were available from a cheap plastic dispenser on the wall.

The continental breakfast that was included with the room reminded us of a college dining hall experience. It was served in a room with gray linoleum floors that felt like it was in a basement and featured a buffet with industrial sized bowls of canned fruit cocktail and small, dried-out pieces of coffee cake.

On the plus side, the room was clean, the hotel is in an undeniably great location and the spa was wonderful. Even so, next time we're going to drop a couple hundred per night on a hotel in the area, it certainly won't be this one.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI, Innkeeper at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2008
Sometimes I see a review that really puzzles me. It makes me wonder if they even stayed at our hotel or if they confused us with some other property. We do have a building that is more moderately priced and we note on our web site its location and we provide photos of the furnishings. The furniture was all refinished this past winter, as well as all the walls and trim freshly painted. Most guests are very happy with these accommodations. In addition, for a reasonable price, you are staying in a seven acre resort property with 1000 feet of ocean frontage. Plus we are only a short walk into the heart of town.

Even more puzzling is the description of our complementary continental breakfast. The room in which it is served is not only carpeted, but it is in the center of our Ocean Front Lodge which sits 75 feet from the water. The view from this room is nothing short of phenomenal. If you prefer, we have tables on the lawn steps away from the ocean where you can enjoy your breakfast. We serve freshly sliced cantaloupe and watermelon, apples, oranges, bagels, freshly baked muffins, coffee cake and banana bread as well as cereals, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Of course if you prefer a more hardy breakfast you are welcome to join us in the main dining room for omelets, cinnamon apple crepes, raspberry or banana French toast, pancakes or eggs any style. This full breakfast option, which is included if you are on one of our packages, also has a fantastic view in addition to the table service of the Reading Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    270
    57
    37
    10
See reviews for
259
560
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheckyesq
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

bar harbor inn is the perfect stay when visiting acadia national park and mt desert island/bar harbor. it is essential that you have the waterfront rooms though. it provides beauty , tranquility and a certain zenlike experience. the inn has a deluxe continental breakfast which you can enjoy while sitting on the lawn overlooking the picturesque frenchmens bay. the accomodations are clean..friendly ..and the perfect end and beginning to everyday at the greatest place in tthe world...mount desert island. the waterfront room provides a view of the sunrise that is unparalleled and the first place the sunrise can be viewed in america . town is just a stones throw away providing fun shopping and great restaurants after a day of hiking..sailing ..fishing ..biking or whatever you chose to do that day . i have been to bar harbor a number of times and stayed in various locations.. bar harbor is the perfect summer vacation destination and the bar harbor inn is the perfect place to stay .

  • Liked — the view from the waterfront room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Our stay at Bar Harbor this year was at the Bar Harbor Inn. While expensive it is certainly worth the money for a seaview room. I can't comment on the non-view rooms.

The room itself was two levels. The bathroom was on the first level along with a fridge. The upstairs had the bedroom and the view (with a balcony). The bed was comfortable and for once the pillows in a hotel were not made of brick! There was plenty of room which is at a premium in Bar Harbor. The maid service was efficient.

The breakfast and evening dining were excellent experiences. Wonderful service, wonderful food & a great view. There is a decent little store with some books and trinkets.

I can't tell you how relaxing it was to sit on the balcony or just inside the room and watch the sunset and sunrise.

The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Parking was a breeze. The location is clearly ideal - walking distance to everything. All in all top marks.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Bar Harbor Inn and I'm ready to go back. The hotel had the nicest employees, from front desk to housekeeping. A big shout out to Frank and Art behind the bar! Valet parking, extra cot one night, more pillows, bedding or just tourist questions, no problem.
We stayed in the Main Inn and our balcony/porch faced the water, sunrises were glorous to watch. I had a massage at the Spa and felt like I was in heaven.
We went to Mount Desert Island to see Acadia National Park and the combination of excellent outdoor activities with fabulous vistas, weather that was perfect and a lovely place to sleep at night was unbeatable. Take time to smell the roses.

  • Liked — Size and location of room
  • Disliked — Computer availability
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

r 3rd stay here.
Not what it used 2 b.
The service is not up 2 par, but we attributed that 2 the unavailability of foeign workers allowed ito the states these days.
Way to go "W".
In additon, when paying $400+ nightly 4 a room, it's absurd that they charge for Wi Fi.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

This was my second stay. We had an oceanside room in the Main Inn.
Room was excellent. Service was excellent.
If you want to use thier computer you can plan on waitng for a bit.
I did suggest that they add a few more for guests.

  • Liked — View from room
  • Disliked — computer access
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochestesr
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

The Good: The Bar Harbor Inn is in a spectacular location with beautiful views of the harbor. The restaurant is quaint and food was very good.

The "Not So Good": Well lets just start by saying my husband and I had just returned from a five hour hike up one of the many beautiful mountains in Acadia Park to check-in to the Bar Harbor Inn, so we were definitely not dressed to impress during "check in". We were greeted with pompous attitudes, they looked at us, and treated us like we were aliens invading their precious hotel. For the high cost of this hotel we expected much more, from a more friendly and helpful front desk to a more modern and updated rooms. Generally, this hotel was just a bit "off". There were dings, dents, paint was worn in areas, spiderwebs on balconies, and very noticeable cheap repairs.

But, If you your looking for a hotel in a great location and a beautiful view and willing to pay top dollar for just that. This is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI, Innkeeper at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2008
It is wonderful that this guest found that our property has a spectacular location with beautiful views. Our prime location on the water with 1,000 feet of ocean frontage in the heart of Bar Harbor provides our guests with wonderful views and yet a short walk to downtown.

Our sincere desire is that our guests have a pleasant and memorable experience during their stay with us. One of the beauties of the Inn is that we have a very diverse clientele. We have guests that come to hike and bike the trails of Acadia as well as guests that have visited the Inn for 25 years or more. We even have small groups that stay with us on a regular basis that take bicycle trips around the island. I am sure that what ever the poor impression this guest received at check in was not at all intentional. Being a resort hotel with a vacation going clientele most of our guests are dressed casually. In fact, our Outdoor Terrace Grille where we feature our Downeast Lobster Bake is geared toward a casual atmosphere. In addition, our deluxe continental breakfast is frequented by guests that want a quick bite to eat before they head to the park for a day of hiking and other outdoor activities.

It is unfortunate this guest’s stay was marred by their perceived inconsistencies to our usual high standards. Our preference in any situation like this is the guest let us know if we have let them down in some way so that we can make it right during their stay. Our heartfelt desire is that every guest leaves the Inn with a wonderful, memorable experience as many other guests have enjoyed and commented on in other TripAdvisor reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.