We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Bar Harbor Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Byfield ma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the Bar Harbor Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We have been going to the Inn 3 times a year for the past 15 years and can't wait to go back. The service is top notch and they make you feel like family. The views are amazing and the rooms are excellent. All this within walking distance to town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    270
    57
    37
    10
See reviews for
259
560
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This Inn is by far the best Inn my wife and I ever stayed in , with great views of Frenchman's Bay and Islands The service in this Inn is exceptional From the Top Management to all the service staff. The Front Desk and bell men are the most helpful and pleasant people out of all the Hotels we have been to and we have been to quite a few. The Reading room restaurant at the Inn is top of the line with food, Chefs, and waiter staff, also a talented piano man to entertain you as you dine. Housekeeping has our room clean and tidy every day, every night they turn down the bed and a mint is placed on the pillow. The morning continental breakfast has a wonderful assortment of healthy breakfast items to choose from. All in All it's just a GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

10 years and going again this summer! The location of this lovely property is its strongest point, although all aspects are superior. We choose to stay on the second floor overlooking Frenchman's Bay in the Ocean Front Lodge. After hiking in Acadia in the morning, sitting on our private porch overlooking the bay makes for a peaceful afternoon. From this spot you can easily walk to lots of shopping and many good restaurants. Acadia is only a few minutes by car. Bar Harbor village can get crowded with traffic so walking is a bonus. Breakfasts are very good as is dinner in the Reading Room or outside at the Terrace Grill. The rooms are pleasant and clean. It is hard to find a place that has it all and this one does.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Frenchman's Bay in the Ocean Front Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aUSTIN, tEXAS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

WHEN WE WALKED IN THE DOOR THE FIRE PLACE DREW US IN IMMEDIATELY! We have been enjoying this romantic hide away for 11 years and it never gets old! Breakfast is still splendid and dinner in the restaurant was the best and fresh even in the winter months.

What a place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I am admittedly biased as my husband and I got married here in August 2012. The whole wedding planning process was a delight, as was working with Nicole and Melissa. The Reading Room restaurant was the perfect size for our 85 person wedding, the food was very good (and we got a lot of compliments), and their cake baker built us a delicious and absolutely gorgeous wedding cake. The vendors they recommended for other things were also generally good. Even though it ended up being foggy for our outdoor ceremony and then pouring rain for the indoor reception, we loved our wedding. The views from the lawn are spectacular in the sunshine but even in the clouds we were able to see some of the nearby islands and it was still quite nice. The only bad experience we had with the wedding was with the spa and it was terrible - they insisted on doing my hair after all my bridesmaids even though we repeatedly asked them to do otherwise, which resulted in them rushing through my hairdo (it fell down partway through the reception) and me having to rush through hair and makeup. Most of my bridesmaids were also unhappy with their hairstyles. They also charged me (without telling me) for my mother-in-law's hair (I never mentioned her to them and she didn't come in with me and the bridesmaids - so not sure why they thought they had the right to charge me for something I did not request)....and the kicker is -- she had already paid for it herself! So we were charged twice (it was corrected after some aggravation). I highly, highly recommend the Inn as a wedding location, but avoid the Spa at all costs.

We have also stayed here, on our wedding night and on a separate occasion in October 2013. The rooms in the Main Inn and the Oceanfront Lodge are very expensive, more than $350 in summer and well more than $200 even very late in the season (mid-October). For that price, I can understand why some might be disappointed by the rooms themselves (they are comfortable and clean but not nearly as fancy as you typically get at that price point). However, you are paying for the view and the balcony/patio, which are phenomenal. They also include a lot in the rate - free continental breakfast, free wifi and free cookies, tea and juice in the lobby in the afternoon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My Husband and I have been staying at the Bar harbor Inn for 15 years now. We love this Inn. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. If you have an issue they are at your door in minutes. It is very clean and has amazing views of Frenchman's Bay. The terrace grill has great food and cocktails and the view from your table you can't beat it. Yes the prices are a little high at the inn, but its all worth it. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: staying in the main inn has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend for the weekend - It was absolutely wonderful - We walked out of our back door and were greeted by the chilly fresh ocean - We walked to get our breakfast lunch and dinner (the in hotel resteraunt was pretty pricey, but whatever) - There are so many great shops, restauruants to eat and drink at - We drove to Acadia every day (which is only 10 minutes away) It was a wonderful trip - The rooms were extremely clean and the fire place in the common area is where we spent our last few minutes before bed. I LOVE it here!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a door to a small patio - You can walk right to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.