We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice birthday trip for hubby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice birthday trip for hubby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took my husband to Bar Harbor Maine and this was both of our first time here and we absolutely loved it! The hotel was great and the service was too! Definitely will go back again! We went on the season opening weekend so we didn't have to deal with the large crowds that we heard about and it made the experience that much better. There still was quite a bit of people there but such a lovely place. Relaxing

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Bar Harbor. I very happy to hear that the hotel was great and you enjoyed our service. I will pass your review along to our staff. That is fantastic that you are planning to return. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    622
    234
    50
    34
    10
See reviews for
215
493
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

LOVED this place!! It's very clean, beautiful grounds and surrounding, even if you don't have an oven view room, it's ok, you will still love it. The restaurant room is just so pretty. Eating breakfast is amazing, you have an amazing view of the ocean with cruise ships coming into dock, and great food! Best of all you just walk from your hotel to tour the town which is right there, and the hotel is just a hop skip jump from Acadia which is NOT to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Bar Harbor Inn & Spa on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you loved our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your room, our grounds, our food and the surrounding area. I agree that Acadia is not to be missed. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Fred Link
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Historic hotel in the town of Bar Harbor, Maine, it was fantastic to walk around and enjoy the breeze off the water, watching the boats come in, and all the specialties of the hotel. The dinner was fantastic in the hotel and we had the best lobster ever! We chose a package deal and got dinner free with our stay. The dessert selection was amazing and the cheesecake was fantastic! The hotel is a short drive from Acadia National Park and it is very interesting as so much to see there as well. The town of Bar Harbor has wonderful art shops and quaint stores to browse through also. The spa is invigorating and average in price for a spa and had a massage that really helped my back and shoulders after riding in the car for over twelve hours. Very nice place and very relaxing. Would visit again. Nice for families also. Free continental breakfast with wonderful fresh fruit!!!!!

Room Tip: Watch for advertised specials around the holidays. We got a package that included dinner and gift ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonderland, Maine, United States
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I performed at this Inn for a wedding ceremony & reception. It was a remarkable property with an amazing view, beautiful grounds, and very good service. This Inn is fully equipped through & through! I highly recommend this Inn to anyone honeymooning, or getting married (for their wedding & or reception).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park New Jersey USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at BHI in 2011, and in retrospect, I wish I had worked for companies that were as well-organized & efficient. Perfect location, very nice accommodations, a staff that you'd like to know in your own home town; complete lack of the "tourist hustle" that can and does ruin trips anywhere. We're booking again this summer for five days and are looking forward to arriving. Thank you.

P.S. Computer did not allow posting without the date stayed at the hotel - but did not offer "2011." So "February 2012" was selected under duress; disregard.

Room Tip: Marry a beautiful lady and it won't matter what room you're in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stay at the Bar Harbor Inn almost every year. The stay is always excellent. The rooms are clean. The service is good. The hotel welcomes us back each year with a returning customer gift which is a nice touch. They seem to appreciate their customers. We have stayed in all the buildings over the years. The Newport building is on the property and offers great rooms for a good price. The Oceanside Lodge has great views and well as the Main Inn.

Room Tip: For a good deal - Try the Newport Rooms... They are roomy but are very reasonably priced for the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location of this hotel makes it a great choice! We woke up every morning to a beautiful sunrise over the water, and fell asleep to the sounds of footsteps crunching along the ocean path. We enjoyed seeing the cruise ships anchored in the harbor. It was an easy walk into town, and convenient drive to Acadia. Room was nice and clean.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.