We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel and view of fhe water off our deck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel and view of fhe water off our deck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Historic hotel in the town of Bar Harbor, Maine, it was fantastic to walk around and enjoy the breeze off the water, watching the boats come in, and all the specialties of the hotel. The dinner was fantastic in the hotel and we had the best lobster ever! We chose a package deal and got dinner free with our stay. The dessert selection was amazing and the cheesecake was fantastic! The hotel is a short drive from Acadia National Park and it is very interesting as so much to see there as well. The town of Bar Harbor has wonderful art shops and quaint stores to browse through also. The spa is invigorating and average in price for a spa and had a massage that really helped my back and shoulders after riding in the car for over twelve hours. Very nice place and very relaxing. Would visit again. Nice for families also. Free continental breakfast with wonderful fresh fruit!!!!!

Room Tip: Watch for advertised specials around the holidays. We got a package that included dinner and gift ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    286
    65
    40
    10
See reviews for
278
612
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
142 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I performed at this Inn for a wedding ceremony & reception. It was a remarkable property with an amazing view, beautiful grounds, and very good service. This Inn is fully equipped through & through! I highly recommend this Inn to anyone honeymooning, or getting married (for their wedding & or reception).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside Park New Jersey USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at BHI in 2011, and in retrospect, I wish I had worked for companies that were as well-organized & efficient. Perfect location, very nice accommodations, a staff that you'd like to know in your own home town; complete lack of the "tourist hustle" that can and does ruin trips anywhere. We're booking again this summer for five days and are looking forward to arriving. Thank you.

P.S. Computer did not allow posting without the date stayed at the hotel - but did not offer "2011." So "February 2012" was selected under duress; disregard.

Room Tip: Marry a beautiful lady and it won't matter what room you're in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stay at the Bar Harbor Inn almost every year. The stay is always excellent. The rooms are clean. The service is good. The hotel welcomes us back each year with a returning customer gift which is a nice touch. They seem to appreciate their customers. We have stayed in all the buildings over the years. The Newport building is on the property and offers great rooms for a good price. The Oceanside Lodge has great views and well as the Main Inn.

Room Tip: For a good deal - Try the Newport Rooms... They are roomy but are very reasonably priced for the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location of this hotel makes it a great choice! We woke up every morning to a beautiful sunrise over the water, and fell asleep to the sounds of footsteps crunching along the ocean path. We enjoyed seeing the cruise ships anchored in the harbor. It was an easy walk into town, and convenient drive to Acadia. Room was nice and clean.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I did a 5 Night stay here in October of 2012. I stayed 2 nights in the main building and 3 more nights in oceanside lodge.

In the main building we stayed on the first floor, a beautiful room with a striking view of the bay. The room was quite "roomy" with a jacuzzi. Only a couple of downers...first when you stay in the main building, ther eis very little parking close by. You will have a bit of a walk to get to your car. Second the nights we stayed in th emain building, the folks above us were pretty noisy coming in late. Otherwise it was terrific.

We did last few days of our stay on the second floor of the oceanfront lodge. The room was not quite as roomy...no jacuzzi...I knew this going in to it). it was very quiet, with great views. The parking situation was alot better.

They have a restaurant on site...we did not eat there, however it is highly rated.

Pros:

Great location in Bar Harbor....leave your car in the lot and stroll around...very central to everything.
Beautiful views, well, kept, staff was very nice.
Continental breakfeast was the best I've had, they put out a really big spread.
Good afternoon cookies!

Cons:

A little pricey, you are paying for the views and location....in the off season its affordable.
Parking, depending on wwhat building you are in.

And the ultimate litmus test....would I stay there again....yes!

Room Tip: Chose themain building for roominess. Choose the Oceanfront lodge for a little bit more quiet with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I enjoy quiet getaways and the Bar Harbor Inn was exactly that during their final weekend (Thanksgiving, 2012) for the season. We stayed in an oceanview room during this cold weekend and couldn't have been more pleased with the view, location, and service (not to mention end-of-season rates...!). We did not get to try The Reading Room restaurant becuase they had closed already for the season but intend to return one day just for the view, and as a previous reviewer experienced, the continental breakfast was minimal (I attribute it to end-of-season clean-up - which I expected). If you are looking for all of the businesses to be open during your Bar Harbor stay, you need to go earlier in the season. We did find a couple of restaurants, the bookstore, and a few gift shops open. We have been in mid-summer, early fall and now late Fall. I think that this has been my favorite stay so far. Fewer people, better service, and no lines to drive through Acadia State Park. Just be sure to pack your parka for the oceanview walking path!

Room Tip: We loved our second floor, oceanview room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.
While we are closed for the winter we have some exciting renovations going on. The Ocean Front Lodge, where you stayed, will be receiving new and updated bathrooms in all of our queen rooms. The Main Inn entrance is getting a face lift as well as other common areas around the property. We are also renovating rooms in our Newport Building and the Landing section of the Main Inn building.
We are always trying to improve on the beautiful property we have here and appreciate the feedback we receive. We look forward to having you return as our guest in the future and getting your feedback on our renowned Reading Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.