We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location of this hotel makes it a great choice! We woke up every morning to a beautiful sunrise over the water, and fell asleep to the sounds of footsteps crunching along the ocean path. We enjoyed seeing the cruise ships anchored in the harbor. It was an easy walk into town, and convenient drive to Acadia. Room was nice and clean.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    270
    57
    37
    10
See reviews for
259
560
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I did a 5 Night stay here in October of 2012. I stayed 2 nights in the main building and 3 more nights in oceanside lodge.

In the main building we stayed on the first floor, a beautiful room with a striking view of the bay. The room was quite "roomy" with a jacuzzi. Only a couple of downers...first when you stay in the main building, ther eis very little parking close by. You will have a bit of a walk to get to your car. Second the nights we stayed in th emain building, the folks above us were pretty noisy coming in late. Otherwise it was terrific.

We did last few days of our stay on the second floor of the oceanfront lodge. The room was not quite as roomy...no jacuzzi...I knew this going in to it). it was very quiet, with great views. The parking situation was alot better.

They have a restaurant on site...we did not eat there, however it is highly rated.

Pros:

Great location in Bar Harbor....leave your car in the lot and stroll around...very central to everything.
Beautiful views, well, kept, staff was very nice.
Continental breakfeast was the best I've had, they put out a really big spread.
Good afternoon cookies!

Cons:

A little pricey, you are paying for the views and location....in the off season its affordable.
Parking, depending on wwhat building you are in.

And the ultimate litmus test....would I stay there again....yes!

Room Tip: Chose themain building for roominess. Choose the Oceanfront lodge for a little bit more quiet with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I enjoy quiet getaways and the Bar Harbor Inn was exactly that during their final weekend (Thanksgiving, 2012) for the season. We stayed in an oceanview room during this cold weekend and couldn't have been more pleased with the view, location, and service (not to mention end-of-season rates...!). We did not get to try The Reading Room restaurant becuase they had closed already for the season but intend to return one day just for the view, and as a previous reviewer experienced, the continental breakfast was minimal (I attribute it to end-of-season clean-up - which I expected). If you are looking for all of the businesses to be open during your Bar Harbor stay, you need to go earlier in the season. We did find a couple of restaurants, the bookstore, and a few gift shops open. We have been in mid-summer, early fall and now late Fall. I think that this has been my favorite stay so far. Fewer people, better service, and no lines to drive through Acadia State Park. Just be sure to pack your parka for the oceanview walking path!

Room Tip: We loved our second floor, oceanview room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, General Manager at Bar Harbor Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review. It was our pleasure having you as our guest.
While we are closed for the winter we have some exciting renovations going on. The Ocean Front Lodge, where you stayed, will be receiving new and updated bathrooms in all of our queen rooms. The Main Inn entrance is getting a face lift as well as other common areas around the property. We are also renovating rooms in our Newport Building and the Landing section of the Main Inn building.
We are always trying to improve on the beautiful property we have here and appreciate the feedback we receive. We look forward to having you return as our guest in the future and getting your feedback on our renowned Reading Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel provides a warm and pleasant environment with a good breakfast in an excellent location. Beds are very comfortable and bathrooms are more than adequate. Parking is easily available. Hotel staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Other guests are a pleasure to be around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This Inn was a very peaceful quiet place to stay! We stayed for 4 days. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed. The room was beautiful with a view of the ocean. The continental breakfast was quite disappointing. The only food available was cold cereal, packaged oatmeal, bagels, ect. The fruit was great the first day but by day 3 they were down to watermelon only. There was no waffle maker! But we had a lovely say anyway.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on the 3rd floor facing the ocean. The view was beautiful. The rooms are well insulated and we were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Bar Harbor Inn ranks right up there with any top-notch place we've stayed in Bermuda or the Caribbean. It's immaculate, charming and picturesque. Very friendly staff. Impeccable service. And the Reading Room restaurant can't be beat! Four star breakfasts and dinners, with white glove service. These people really pay attention to the details and it shows. We give our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.