We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even during a hurricane, it is the place to be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Inn to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Wilmington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Even during a hurricane, it is the place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a fantastic place! The grounds and rooms are immaculate; the service is friendly and most accomodating. The dining room is so elegant and the menu is superb! My stay was during Hurricance Sandy, though only wind was prevalent in that area. But I knew I was safe and so enjoyed the comfort and surroundings! Treat yourself if you are lucky enough to be in such a wonderful, ocean side setting; you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: All rooms look delightful, but ocean side is majestic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    269
    56
    37
    10
See reviews for
258
557
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We didn't stay in the main property but nevertheless had a large room with a fantastic sea view overlooking the harbour. The breakfast was good too, although nothing could set us up for the temperatures - we went on a boat trip and even the locals down in the shops said it was the coldest October they could remember! As soon as I got off the boat I bought a larger coat and we ventured into town. Bar Harbor is a fairly small town and when there is a cruise ship in it seems very busy, but in reality the hotel is ideally placed to sample everything and the cruise ship passengers are gone by 5pm, so things all die down pretty quickly. In the hotel they have a large open fire and the I can assure you that the reputation for fine dining is not wasted - despite the fact that the waitress tipped red wine on me and also brought the wrong dish, I would visit again - that is what you call a British stiff upper lip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I visited Bar Harbor last week for a photo workshop and the group stayed at the hotel. I had a large, very clean, non-ocean front room for a very reasonable price (even considering it was off season). The staff was very friendly and helpful with advice about the area. The continental breakfast buffet was one of the largest I have seen plus you get to eat overlooking the ocean.

The next time I visit I will definitely be returning to the Bar Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed the cruise liners as the dropped
anchor in the bay. The spectacular colors of autumn were awsome throught the park and all of Maine.
The spa and all the employees was outstanding, the spa services
were very professional, evident of a throughly trained staff with
high standards. The spa also offers massages for men and my husband
enjoyed the gift of one for our anniversary. YES we will return.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights a few weeks ago. We loved it! We stayed in the oceanfront lodge, room 421 I believe. The view was wonderful. We really liked the room as well. We got one of the packages that included some meals at the hotel restaurant, which was excellent. The continental breakfast was pretty good as well. It's best to get there earlier in my opinion. But it was great to eat at one of the tables outside. The hotel is right near many fun shops & restaurants you can walk to in just a couple of minutes. It's also a short drive to Acadia National Park, so that was convenient. The only thing I found that I didn't like at the hotel was no microwave in the room. We ate at so many great places and I would have loved to reheat some leftovers! In the morning we had a great view of the sunrise from our balcony. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Having the free wireless internet was great, we had no issues using it. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Great view from the oceanfront lodge, especially the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First of all, you are greeted by waiters and waitresses dressed formal and the pianist is playing romantic music for the perfect ambiance. We were seated at a window table overlooking the harbor and the view defies words. It is spectacular! As the sun sets and the cruise ships set sail to return to the sea, we placed our orders for dinner. Yes, the meals are expensive, but absolutely delicious. I had a lobster dinner and every step of it was grand in both appearance and taste, from appetizer to dessert. We felt as though we were cast in a movie scene from some exotic faraway site. It feels good to be spoiled at least once in your life, and a vacation getaway is the perfect time to spoil yourself. Bar Harbor is a perfect vacation site. We have been there twice for 3 day stays, and might well do it again someday. From the views atop Cadillac Mountain, to the casual feel at Jordan Pond, to the sandy beach near Thunder Hole, and the luxury of Bar Harbor Inn this is the perfect vacation getaway spot. Try it and you will love it!

While the travel date I selected was November 2011, in reality we were there in October 2010. The computer would not give me the option to select the true date. Go to Bar Harbor in the fall. The colors are exceptional!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We decided at the last minute to head to Maine for a long weekend. I was pleased when the Bar Harbor Inn had a room available. Having never been to Bar Harbor before I wasn't sure what to expect, but we were very pleased with the friendly staff and the amazing view from our corner room. The balcony faced Frenchman's Bay and the islands leading to the Atlantic Ocean. The room was pricey, but it was large and nicely decorated (a bit worn around the edges). We enjoyed a breakfast special at a very good price, but eat dinner elsewhere. There really is no other hotel on the island that has views quite like the inn, but we did see alot of lovely views through out our stay in Bar Harbor and the National Park.

Room Tip: Room 221 for the corner view and comfortable King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 7 Newport Drive, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.