We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acadia Inn to your Saves list
Acadia Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Louisville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

We recently stayed at the Acadia Inn. It's about one mile from downtown Bar Harbor and a short distance to the entrance to Acadia National Park. The Island Explorer, a free shuttle bus, picks up at the hotel and drops you off at the Village Green in Bar Harbor. It ran every 30 minutes.

We had a room with two double beds. It was a spacious room, clean and the bathroom was a nice size with plenty of counter space. We also had a small refrigerator in the room. They have a nice continental breakfast.

They also had a computer in the first floor hallway that anyone could use. That was a nice feature. The front desk employees were pleasant and knowledgeable.

All-in-all, it was a nice hotel for the money.

  • Liked — Location and computer access.
  • Disliked — Room view
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    137
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
118
122
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

Stayed here a few years ago when the Acadia Inn was brand new. It was and is moderately priced, with a convenient location near town and Acadia National Park, not much in the way of frills, but a small fridge in the room, complimentary breakfast (all starch save for hard boiled eggs) guest laundry and helpful front desk staff made it a pleasant stay.

This trip the accommodations were showing some age and deferred maintenance. Our room's carpet felt dusty underfoot and under the bed hadn't been vacuumed. The night table drawer had a large crack in it. The small fridge had to be turned off at night so we could sleep without the awful whining noise it made.

Worst of all, While I was soaking in the tub, I noticed a very strong mold smell. Looking around, I noticed a thick strip of jet black mold under the lower soap dish, and went on to note mold in various areas of the grout between tiles in the shower. The maid that day was very good about cleaning it when I asked her to and left me a note saying she'd brought it to her supervisor's attention. It appears that some investment in carpet cleaning, maintenance of furnishings and better inspections by the housekeeping supervisory staff are in order.

The Acadia Inn isn't bad, it's just not as nice as it was, and certainly not as clean.

  • Liked — Location, guest laundry, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Condition of some furnishings, should have been cleaner
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We booked a 3 day Getaway package at the Acadia Inn, and what a great find this was!! For $549 (for 2 people), we received deluxe king room accomodations, 2 fabulous dinners at the Bar Harbor Inn, continental breakfast each day, $20 gift shop credit, and choice of either a 2 hour harbor cruise or a bus tour of Acadia Park. This was an unbelievable deal. The dinners included anything from the menu (and dinner would have been $140/couple), and the tours alone would have been $35pp. The hotel accomodations were excellent. Super clean, great shower, very comfortable bed and pillows, free use of computer to check email, etc., and friendly, helpful staff. I couldn't say enough about our stay! Oh, and there is a free shuttle bus that comes every 15 minutes from 3pm-10pm, and every 30 minutes from 7am-3pm. This bus takes you from your doorstep of the hotel to the Village Green (to town), and is very convenient. The Bar Harbor Inn (where the dinners are served) is right in town, so you never really have to take your car out.
We also took our own tour of Acadia Park in our car, instead of going on the narrated bus tour. We bought an audio CD at the Information Desk in town ($12.95) , popped it into our car CD player, and took off one mile down the road for our own narrated tour. This was great, because we could stop for as long as we wanted at any of the sights in the park. We spent almost 8 hours in the park visiting the sights instead of feeling rushed on one of the bus tours.
We have traveled extensively, but this was definitely one of the best vacations we have had....absolutely gorgeous sights to see, super friendly people, and an array of activities for everyone.

  • Liked — Convenient, comfortable, clean
  • Disliked — uneven air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is a nice motel and we had a great, large room with fast internet access. The elevator kept breaking down, however. The hotel sells a package that includes a two hour cruise on a sailing ship and dinner for two at an excellent restaurant overlooking the harbor. The package is an excellent value.

We'd rate the motel "excellent" if we were more confident about the elevator.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

My family enjoyed our stay at Acadia Inn while vacationing in Bar Harbor. The room rates were reasonable and very close to town and Acadia National Park. The free continental breakfast was very good each morning as well as the complimentary cookies and coffee throughout the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a basic, clean and affordable hotel stay.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

My husband & I stayed at this property for 3 nights, beginning on July 4th. I found the staff to be courteous and friendly and our room large and clean. This hotel offers a free continental breakfast between 6:30 am & 10:30 am, which is convenient & tasty, with many healthy options. I will agree with some of the past reviewers and say that it was a bit noisy; I was aware of the folks in the room above ours. It wasn't horrible, it simply reminded me of apartment living. We also had a bit of noise due to the fact that we were right next to the kitchen storage room. But, we booked the room only a few days ahead of time, and there were no vacancies the first night we arrived, so I assume they give away this room last. The room had a fridge, an iron & board, plus a hairdryer, all of which were very convenient. Also, the hotel offers a heated pool & Jacuzzi, plus a grassy play area complete with swing set.
The hotel is located about a mile from the downtown/waterfront area, which is easily walkable as there is a sidewalk all the way into town (the lighting at night is not the best). The 'Island Explorer' Shuttle comes right to the hotel door, so it's an easy alternative. I think that the shuttle only runs extended hours on Friday and Saturday nights, but I am not completely sure. Parking in downtown is very limited, so walking, cycling and/or shuttle use would be the mode of transport I would suggest.
I found this hotel to be good value and would definitely stay there again if I was to be in the Bar Harbor. I would also recommend to anyone with children.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

We have gone to Bar Harbor every summer for over 30 years; and we just got our best deal ever! Mr. Witham has four hotels, including this one and the old Bar Harbor Motor Inn (BHMI). The BHMI is an right on the water. We have gone there for dinner whenever we are in this town on our anniversary.

Here was the deal: Stay at any of his four hotels, and get a two or three night package - includes dinner at the BMHI, cruise on the four masted Margaret Todd, and $20 in the gift shop.

We paid $275 for two nights at the Acadia Inn (rack rate $129 last week), and got the rest for free - taxes and tips included. Dinner was $126, the cruise would have cost $67 - both with taxes and tips.
We got over $200 of goodies for free!! -- After 30 years, these are some of the best things you can do in Bar Harbor.

The Acadia Inn was very clean, large bathrooms, decent breakfast, very nice desk personnel. We also looked at the Bar Harbor Grand - similar, but a bit more expensive. The Motor Inn is a lot more expensive, besides their ocean view rooms were sold out. BOTTOM LINE
....GET THIS DEAL!!!

  • Liked — Absolutely Unbelievable DEAL, Nice Room, Clean, Convenient Location, Nice People, Good Breakfast
  • Disliked — No Complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Address: 98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.