We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for visiting Bar Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acadia Inn to your Saves list
Acadia Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Augusta ME
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good location for visiting Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Acadia is a good choice for visiting Bar Harbor. It is just outside the main tourist area and the free shuttle stops right at the door. The hotel is well designed, has a breakfast area just off the lobby with coffee and tea available 24 hours. The continental breakfast is standard fare and can get busy, I suggest heading into town early to one of the restaurants. The room was OK, size wise and the bed was comfortable. There was a flat screen TV, a writing desk and a comfy chair to sit with a book. The bath was well laid out and there I found my only complaint. The housekeeping could be better. I found a couple of hairs left in the shower and the next day there were some of mine left as well I also noticed a cobweb in one of the corners of the bed room. Not to say this looked like the "Munster " house but it's the details. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would not rule out a return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankee_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We initially booked this hotel because it was the only one that had two nights on short notice with two beds. The price was reasonable and the reviews seemed safe - I had little prior knowledge of the area so I wasn't sure where we should stay.

The location is great. It's just outside of the park entrance and very close to downtown. There is a free shuttle that runs almost constantly, so there is no need to drive into town and search for parking.

The breakfast was plentiful, though very busy both mornings we were there. Though seating was tight, we managed fine both days. Ignore anyone who complains about the breakfast- for a free hotel breakfast, one must limit their expectations. They did as well as can be expected for the number of people they feed. It was more than sufficient.

Rooms were clean and well appointed. A nice surprise was the heated outdoor pool and a s'mores cookout on the first night we were there. The kids could not have been happier, which made my life much easier.

I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the elevator - they were very accommodating and out us on the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacknmichaelsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked a three night package deal. The room was very clean and spacious, but the air conditioner was unusable. My daughter has asthma and as soon as we turned it on there was a moldy smell coming from the ac unit. The staff said they would send someone up to work on it while we were out for the day. I don’t know if any one went to the room but the ac was still smelly and unusable. They offered to change our room but having one night remaining we decided not to move. Also the continental breakfast was not very good, many of the offerings were stale and the yogurt being out in a large bowl seemed unsanitary. It would have been better to have individual servings. There was some fresh fruit available.
All that being said the staff was very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle service was very convenient. The package we had was for two meals at their sister property The Bar Harbor Inn. The food was fabulous and plentiful. The package also offered an excursion. We choose a boat trip on the Margret Todd a four mast schooner. Although the boat was beautiful the trip was boring. We were on the boat for two hours and never lost sight of the dock.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great location, reasonable property. Staff was pleasant and helpful, Acadia - that's the real attraction! The Acadia Inn is not a 'destination hotel' - though the pool is pleasant and the breakfast is reasonable - so if you are looking for a resort, this is the wrong option. But if you want to take in Bar Harbor, and head out to Acadia and enjoy the scenic beauty, this is a great base of operations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. We were on the 3rd floor, on the side facing the trees. Nice, quiet, clean room. We liked that it had a sturdy grab bar in the tub. Another plus were the warm chocolate chip cookies for guests, which were put out in the late afternoon. Also, at night there would be cheese and crackers. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful if we needed directions, etc. They even provided a large umbrella when we got caught in the rain loading the car. We did use the shuttle bus to and from town, which was great. Now for the negatives -- I was disappointed that they do not have a fitness room. They suggested we go to their sister location across the road and down a bit. However, in the rain, I prefer a place to work out in the hotel. How expensive can it be to get a tread mill and a few weight machines? The continental breakfast was so - so. More fresh fruit instead of that awful canned stuff would have been nice. We were also disappointed that they do not offer a senior discount.

Room Tip: Third floor, facing trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler33878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great value for the price. Friendly staff, good selection of food for breakfast. The rooms are spacious and clean. The free shuttle to the Main strip stops in front of hotel (and back) every 30 minutes. Very convenient! Nice pool and hot tub out back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSav0ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was my first visit to the Acadia Inn and I was extremely pleased. Our room was comfortable, the Island Explorer (free shuttle bus) stops at the front door, there was a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, small gift shop, and complimentary continental breakfast. Very personable and friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#9 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#8 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Address: 98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing