We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Visit - Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Inn

Save Saved
You added Acadia Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3rd Visit - Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our 3rd visit to the Acadia Inn. We were not disappointed. The family has been there 3 times in the past 4 years and still have not been disappointed. Spacious rooms, great staff, the Island Explorer at our doorstep, and breakfast included. While breakfast may not include scrambled eggs or meat, everything else (French Toast, waffles, bagles, muffins, cereal) all there for the eats. Plenty of space for the dining family.

I highly recommend this hotel both for location and cost. I do have one recommendation for the hotel to consider - Yes, put out those scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, a few times during the week!

Room Tip: Ask for First or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    100
    42
    10
    3
See reviews for
89
102
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Inn is 1 mile from the pier in Bar Harbor and 1 mile from the Hull Cove entrance to Acadia National Park! The free Island Explorer Shuttle comes regularly to take you to town or a variety of places in ANP. The continental breakfast is varied & plentiful - fresh fruit daily! They often have cheese/crackers out if the afternoon, and warm cookies in the evening! We were there over 4th of July, and Hurricane Arthur! The hotel lost power for a little over 12 hours! The staff was fantastic! They went above and beyond to meet guest's needs; passing out flash lights, lanterns on stairways and hallways, etc.... Staff even went into town to get urns full of fresh coffee for all to enjoy!!

The pool and hot tub could use resurfacing, but they are clean. Nice play area for kids! Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed over the July 4th weekend. It's a short walk to town and you can access Acadia Park's trails right behind the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet. The staff was very courteous, accommodating and friendly. It was a great value for the $. When the power went out due to storm Arthur, the continental breakfast was a blessing (no hunting for a restaurant with power) the halls and stairways were well lit, there were games in the lobby and they allowed us to check out early without a penalty. Across the street at one of the “Resort” hotels, they were originally going to charge the rest of our family the full $279/night, but when they put a stop on their credit cards they still charged them $100 for each room and were going to continue that for the nights that they weren’t going to stay.

We plan on going back next fall and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddam, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a three night stay for this hotel, the price seemed to be average for the location and what it was. We had a two queen room, and a portable crib they offered us so we would not have to bring a pack and play. The rooms we kind of small but adequate. The bathrooms were average size. The room did come with a fridge which was handy.
The front desk attendants were helpful when it came to giving suggestions, one went above and beyond to help us out on how to get to an area in Acadia National Park.
The pool was heated, parts of the edge surrounding was deteriorating and crumbling off. It was ok for the kids to us, heated made it easier to swim in.
The hotel was on the free shuttle bus route which made it all worth while, no driving I to town for dinner made the trip easier.
The breakfast was ok, continental style. Coffee and tea were available 24/7 and sometimes they had cookies in the afternoon.
All in all, it was an average stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was underwhelming to stay at this hotel. For $179 per night you stay in Bar Harbor at peak season, but it was all...so...boring. I won't complain about the unpleasant smell in the room, the thin little rags disguising as "towels" for the 3x3 foot "jacuzzi," the perpetually broken toilet, the front desk staff that knew absolutely nothing about the area or the fact that the s'mores they offered were cooked over a Duraflame log. I will kind of complain that it was truly the worst hotel breakfast I've ever had, so awful that the food tasted mostly like the plastic containers it all came in. Mostly, it was just blah. Our window view was blocked entirely by a shrub, which was good, because otherwise it we would have had a view of a parking lot. I wish we'd have stayed down the road a bit and overlooked the ocean. For the extra few bucks, we could've done more than warehouse ourselves in the equivalent of a thirty year old Days Inn. Kudos to the housekeeping staff for doing the best they could with what they had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were spotless and roomy, and the staff was super friendly and helpful. This is a great place for families to stay when visiting Bar Harbor. Beyond the pool, they also had games (indoor and outdoors) and activities for kids. Making smores was a big hit with my son. We were close to town (about a 20 minute walk or short car ride) and the Acadia Park entrance. We would definitely stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, clean and comfortable, friendly staff. Close to everything. The Charter Room restaurant one half mile down the street is a great place to eat with a fantastic view. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor. Nice view of pool and play area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Address: 98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.