We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds, good location but smoking neighbours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acadia Inn to your Saves list
Acadia Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great beds, good location but smoking neighbours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place had the most comfortable beds we slept in throughout our trip. it is in a great location for access to Acadia National Park and it takes about 15-20 minutes to walk into the heart of Bar Harbor. The only downside for us was that out room was separated from our neighbours by a door and as they were smokers the room filled up with the smell a couple of times which was a bit annoying. But the room was a good size and very clean. Breakfast was good and there was complimentary cheese and biscuits every day as well as free access to coffee all day. But there is no doubt that the best thing was after a day exploring the Park it was fantastic to come back to a really comfortable night's sleep. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Don't have a room with an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you found our beds to be comfortable, that is such an important amenity in a hotel. I am sorry to hear that your neighbor was smoking in their room. The Acadia Inn is a 100% Non-Smoking hotel and had the desk been notified while you were still here, we would have contacted that guest and made them aware of our non-smoking policies. I hope that this will not change your plans to stay with us in the future. Thank you for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    141
    50
    11
    3
See reviews for
121
130
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay very friendly, helpful, convienant to everything the park is amazing, restaurants in bar harbor are very pricey. We got some end of season deal at hotel saved us some money, went out of town for lobster much cheaper. Went sailing on the Margret Todd schooner beautiful seen bald eagles.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First trip to Bar Harbor. It was beautiful, hotel was disappointing . Not many pros , but here they are: good location , decent continental breakfast.. Cons: rooms need a lot of updating, very thin sheets, and frayed towels, holes in room ceiling and wall, rude housekeeper, very thin walls, cleanliness not great but okay enough to stay,"snowy" television. Will go back to Bar Harbor, but will not stay here or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadia98, General Manager at Acadia Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for submitting your review on TripAdvisor. We use comments on TripAdvisor to help us increase and maintain guest expectations. I am happy that you found our location and continental breakfast to meet your needs while staying with us. I am sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience in your room. During the past two years we have upgraded all our bedding and renovated our bathrooms entirely. I am unaware of any room in the hotel with holes in the wall and ceiling and invite you to contact me personally so we may determine the room and the exact issue that you are mentioning. I can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to all management levels of the hotel and only wish that you had spoken with the Front Desk and/or management upon departure about your concerns, so that we could evaluate them to better serve future travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October. Room was very nice... clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom. Staff was friendly. The hotel was nicely appointed, and had complimentary cheese, crackers, cookies, and hot apple cider in the lobby/breakfast area during the day. Breakfast was decent, with french toast, waffles, cereal, instant oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, fruit salad, bananas, bagels, yogurt, english muffins and regular muffins every day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

it was sort of a little better than a shot in the dark.
We (20 Harley riders), arrived in the early evening hours. The front desk people were nice, and dispatched us with out any problems, There was only a coffee set up at that hour, but they were helpful in giving us directions to many of the local eateries.
Several of our party took advantage of the pool,, (they reported it was a "little cool" (not certain if it was supposed to be heated).

i didn't feel unwelcome (you know how some see bikers), my only real concern before hand was having to pay full when i made the reservations (in April/May), which didn't include taxes, (so i guess it really wasn't "in full").

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for our 25th anniversary. It is a very nice hotel; clean, modern, and the beds are very comfortable. We chose a package; dinner and a schooner trip. It turned out to be a very good value. The dinner alone (which was included) was over $110.00 for the two of us.
The hotel is located about 1 mile from town and just a few minutes from Acadia National Park. There is a shuttle that runs all day if you don't want to drive.
Hotel staff is very helpful, they had several suggestions for things to do on a rainy day, as well as great restaurant suggestions (Galyns Restaurant-great setting, friendly staff, and food was wonderful).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Location of the Inn was convenient. Rooms were clean and staff very friendly. Jack Russels restaurant right next door was very good. Would definitely stay here again. Pool was clean but not very warm. Don't know if it was advertised as heated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Acadia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Inn

Address: 98 Eden Street (Route 3), Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acadia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Inn - Friendly, Comfortable, Affordable - The Acadia Inn offers 95 deluxe air conditioned rooms with king/queen beds. Well-maintained grounds and recreational area. Amenities include: free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, HBO, guest laundry, heated pool and Jacuzzi, refrigerators, free local calls, irons, hair dryers. Located just one mile to waterfront, and 1 mile to Acadia National Park. Free shuttle to downtown and park. Special Value Packages available that include meals, and choice of harbor cruise or park tour. AAA 3 Diamond ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Acadia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Inn Bar Harbor, Maine
Acadia Bed Breakfast
Acadia Bar Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.