We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Came at end of season so there were only about 3 other guests in the hotel. Lady on front desk was miserable and not welcoming....she soon became friendly when her boss came out! Lady in restaurant at breakfast very pleasant and helpful and gave us maps and recommendations of where to go in local area. Hotel room was pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are indeed in a good location. We are within 2 miles of the park entrance yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of downtown to allow our guest a restful vacation. I apologize for the lackluster welcome you received upon check-in. That is uncharacteristic of our staff. I do hope that you will return and give us another opportunity to give you outstanding customer service. Thank you. Jane Koehling, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    200
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
244
291
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved our stay at the Best Western. The staff was super friendly. We were staying at the end of the season and they were very helpful with information about what was open and closed (and closing) in the area and with information for visiting Acadia and Bar Harbor. One front-desk associate even looked up the route of the MDI Marathon for us so we could avoid the traffic issues. Be sure to stop in the front desk area in the fall for a nice cup of coffee and cookies. We commented to the staff on how well the property is maintained and they were clearly proud of the work that they do to keep upgrading it each year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. What a wonderful one at that! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return next season! We are indeed doing even more upgrades over the winter. Our customers are very important to us and we are proud to say we were recently awarded the Best Western Champion Award in Customer Care 2012. Our staff genuinely wishes for all of our guests to experience the best time ever when staying with us! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Jane Koehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We payed a good price for our room and stayed 2 nights...but disapointed since the hotel is very dated. They need to update the place with new furniture and make the rooms more modern. Very basic room but the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were given a handicapped room and enjoyed the spaciousness of the room. It was very clean, neat and comfortable. We enjoyed the quick access to Acadia and the hotel location was only a few minutes drive to Bar Harbor. We also enjoyed walking on the hotel's large back lawn, trying to get away from outdoor lights to see the starts. We were there for 3 nights during the off season (mid-October) and it was very quiet. Staff was very friendly and a computer with Wi-fi and a printer was available in the lobby. Laundry facility available, too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found the room to be clean, comfortable and well-equipped. It's a shame that the style of our room felt a bit tired - striped wallpaper which didn't co-ordinate with the curtains or the duvet cover, and that the towels were a little thin, as the welcome was warm and the location quiet and picturesque.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acadiajane, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy that you got to enjoy Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor for four days. We are grateful you chose to stay with us when you had many motels to choose from. I am sorry that you found the furnishings in your particular room to be outdated. It is my great pleasure to say we are constantly in a renovating process and this winter is no exception. Many rooms will get a new look and new amenities will be put in place. I sure hope you will return and give us another chance to give you exceptional customer service and an awesome vacation experience. Thank you. Jane Koehling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Maryland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel - since our first visit in 2007 the hotel is under new management and they've remodeled all the rooms and the lobby and we were pleased to see the improvements. The price went up quite a bit from our last stay and they no longer allow pets. Our room was spacious and included a flat screen TV with HBO, good wi-fi, duvet covers, coffeemaker, MW, fridge, and a safe. There's a hairdryer and iron and ironing board next to the sink. The sink area was outside the tub/toilet area, but a bit small - more countertop space would be appreciated. Nice selection of toiletries - shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bath gel, oatmeal soap. Parking was right outside your door and there were plenty of spaces. Front desk staff were helpful and efficient. Coffee is always available in the lobby - regular, decaf, hazelnut, pumpkin spice, and blueberry cobbler (obviously seasonal flavors). Freshly baked cookies are available in the evening. USA Today copies available in the lobby. Breakfast is included, served in a separate building from 6:30 - 10:00 am. There are lots of tables there but it fills up fast so it's best to arrive early. Plenty to choose from here - three types of omelettes, sausages, pastries, cereals, breads, yogurt, fruits, juices. The friendly lady who runs the breakfast room does a really nice job keeping up with the crowd. Keep in mind that it is located outside of Bar Harbor, which I find to be a good thing as Bar Harbor is quite congested. It's a 4 or 5 mile drive to Acadia National Park. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but it seemed overpriced for a standard motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice clean hotel. Good breakfast, but if you see a coach tour, make sure you go for breakfast after or before the travelers, as the room can't really accommodate that many people. Pool nice and warm. We were told that there was 3 restaurant within walking distance of the hotel. We tried to walk but came back for the car. The distance is quite walkable, however, not sure how safe it is to walk on the side of a main highway, with no pavements and on the way back, in complete darkness. Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn

Address: 452 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Acadia Park Hotel Bar Harbor
Best Western Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Best Western
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.