We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B with a warm charming hostess” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primrose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Primrose Inn to your Saves list
Primrose Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   73 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Bridgewater, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely B&B with a warm charming hostess”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Primrose for a week and can't rave about it enough. The room was beautifully furnished and charming with French doors out to a private porch. The breakfast were generous and absolutely delicious and xemplified the care and attention to detail which this owner/hostess demonstrated in every regard. The location, in a quiet neighborhood a very short walk from downtown Bar Harbor was perfect. We loved everything about our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
291
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Primrose B&B is a large B&B located in Bar Harbor, an easy walk from the business district and out of the congestion, etc. The B&B is beautifully kept and they seem to go out of there way to be accommodating and helpful. There is an afternoon tea, a lovely sitting room to socialize, loaner GPS's, and a library of movies to borrow. They are also an easy drive to the Acadia Park entrance. In short, you really can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, which was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in; large, nicely decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this B&B. When we checked in the receptionist already gave us a complete picture about the B&B and Bar Harbor. This was an excellent introduction. We stayed in room 15. That was quite big and cosy. We really loved it. The continental breakfast is good an on top you have the choice between two freshly cooked meals (changing daily). There are the small things that make this place excellent: All-day complementary soft drinks, central fridge to cool your own wine bottles, free computer access, audio CDs for Acadia National Park, etc.
If you go to Bar Harbor I can really recommend this place. It is quite and within walking distance to the "center" of Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talking Rock, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Oh my where do I start this place was soooo amazing I didn't want to leave it to venture out and sight see. We stayed there this 2 days during the first week in October in room 3. I love the color red and room 3 is very red. This place was built in the 1800's and has all of the architectural details. The breakfast was amazing and we can't wait to go back to Maine to visit and stay here again. Me and my husband left there more in love than when we arrived. This place was magical.

Room Tip: Room 3 a very beautiful red room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Primrose Inn and would stay there in an instant, again. The owners of this Inn have hired wonderful staff who cater to about any need that you can imagine. Maureen and Melissa were tremendous and the woman "filling in" at breakfast remembered our preferences our second day there. They have a very comfortable sitting room, as well. All in all a lovely stay.

Delicious afternoon goodies, GPSs that they lend to guests, a full library of tourbooks and movies, a wine fridge and complimentary soft drinks 24/7 just about complete the picture. What does complete it? Toiletries to replace those that you have forgotten and a KILLER location 3 blocks from downtown. They have a computer to do a quick email or to print boarding passes.

Maureen sent us to my favorite restaurant of our week long trip: Poor Boy's Gourmet Restaurant. YUM!

Loved this inn! We stayed in two different rooms because the inn was sold out. Rooms 3 and 6. Of the two we preferred Room 3. It was larger and quieter. But quite frankly both were lovely. We would stay there in another instant visiting Acadia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beautiful, well maintained building and rooms. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, our room had a separate small sitting area and a fireplace in the bedroom. The breakfasts each day were excellent, my husband appreciated being offered second servings. Afternoon tea was a daily treat also. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. The Inn had a selection of DVD, books and newspapers as well as good wifi connection. Close walk to downtown with restaurants and shops, minutes away from entrance to Acadia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a beautiful Inn with all the trimmings. Great service, stunning rooms and lovely food with a great choice for breakfast. It was a short walk to everything in town, shops and restaurants. Maureen was extremely helpful and provided maps and information. You could even get tea which was a bonus for non coffee drinkers from Australia! B&B's don't get much better than this!

Room Tip: Every room was perfect. We chose the least expensive, smaller room due to budget and it was still fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Primrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Inn

Address: 73 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Primrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Bar Harbor Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located only a short stroll from Main Street and only a mile from Acadia National Park. Features 15 spacious guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, luxurious linens, air conditioning, flat-panel TV/DVD and wireless internet access. Many rooms feature gas fireplaces, spa tubs and private porches. Full breakfast served each morning; also Afternoon Tea with freshly baked goods. Reserved parking; smoke-free and pet-free. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Primrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose Hotel Bar Harbor
Primrose Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.