We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Love It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maples Inn
Save
You added Maples Inn to your Saves list
16 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You'll Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

This is one of the best inns we have stayed at. We had the Red Oak room with the porch opening up into a treehouse. This was a superb inn in every way. The innkeeper makes these gourmet breakfast's and the place is immaculate. The decor is top notch and our stay couldn't have been better. The inn is very quiet if you want to sleep in later in the a.m. I did not want to leave this inn! I cannot recommend it highly enough! It is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

My partner and I spent a few days at The Maples Inn for our recent honeymoon. Our room was terrific--we stayed in English Holly. Our host was wonderful. The breakfasts were amazing. And, the overall ambience was excellent. Our entire experience in Bar Harbor was colored in a magnificent way by our stay at The Maples Inn.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2005

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Maples Inn over Labor Day weekend. Rooms were great and quiet, porch is great, cookies were great, breakfasts were a little sweet for my taste in the morning, but extremely good, and the service was wonderful. You can tell Thom puts a lot of thought into the inn, and it shows in everything they do. We’d never stayed in a B&B before, but the experience was very enjoyable, and we’d recommend this inn to anyone, especially for the price!

Other Bar Harbor comments:

Michelle’s fine dining had great food, a bit pricey.
Pasta’s had terrible food.
Cafe This Way was a great little place recommended to us by others that we loved.
Bluefish was very good and unique.
The Rose Garden at the Bluenose Inn was the last place we ate and it was fantastic, but really expensive.

Overall, it was a good vacation and a nice place to visit. The weather was wonderful, the people were friendly, and the park had some impressive sights.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

My husband and I stayed two nights at Maples Inn in the White Birch Suite. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Bar Harbor.

The place is immaculate and homey. Thom is an excellent inn keeper, always with a smile on his face and full of local information! Breakfast and afternoon cookies were delicious!!

The B&B is in very close walking distance to town and all the "55 restauarants" Bar Harbor has to offer. We walked everywhere (except Acadia, which is just a short drive away - maybe 5 min.).

You won't regret a stay at Maples Inn!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

My fiance and I stayed at The Maples Inn for four nights and it was such a joy. Thom, the innkeeper, is the most personable and thorough host we have had in a bed and breakfast. He never hesitates to take his personal time and chat or do something for you. He is also a treasure trove of information about the area. Ask him a question and you will get an accurate answer.

The Inn itself is clean and the magnificent breakfasts really shine. One can tell Thom puts a lot of time and effort into his breakfasts. The cookies are 4pm daily are also a treat and are also delicious.

The rooms are clean (as is the whole inn) and the environment is relaxing without feeling that you've had a bad Victorian nightmare.

The location cannot be beat. It is located on a quiet side street just three blocks from downtown Bar Harbor. You do not even need a car because the hub for the free shuttle system that serves the area is right there.

Heartily recommended. I will go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

Whether you’re a veteran of the Bed and Breakfast crowd or planning your first visit, have we found the Inn for you! My wife and I were looking for a quiet getaway for our 25th Anniversary. The only rules were it needed to be near the ocean and we wanted to avoid the typical “Tourist Trap” of many resort towns. We decided on Bar Harbor Maine, and are we glad we did. The B&B we chose was the “Maples Inn” and its wonderful host, Mr. Thom Palumbo.

We have stayed in many Inns and this was by far the most enjoyable and clean Inn we have had the pleasure to visit, including some in Europe. Thom was the most gracious host and his staff is top notch. Always available, Thom was truly responsible for the most relaxing stay we have ever had. He is the quintessential perfectionist as every aspect of our stay demonstrated.

When Thom tells you that the breakfasts are “Gourmet”, that is exactly what he means. They are exceptional and you will not be disappointed. Thom also provided tips for outings, restaurants and local sites and destinations which allowed us to get the most of the 5 days we stayed. Best of all, he loves his Inn, the town of Bar Harbor and the beautiful Arcadia National Park.

Bar Harbor itself meets and exceeds all our expectations. There are no amusement parks or carnivals to part you with your money. That’s not to say there isn’t plenty to do. In 5 days we only scratched the surface of what this remarkable town and its people have to offer. The town, in cooperation with L.L. Bean, even provides a shuttle service that allows you to enjoy the entire Mount Desert Island area and its main attraction the Arcadia National Park. This service is FREE but I would highly recommend you make a donation to ensure its continued success.

Fall is coming so get your reservations soon. We are already planning our return. See you there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2005

I was at the Maples last Fall (Nov 2004). My wife and I enjoyed it immensely. Tom and staff do an excellent job of making you feel welcome, and making sure you're fed! The Maples is a very comfortable place: the "main room" is a great gathering place to chat with Tom and other staff, while tossing back home made cookies (the BEST!) as well as coffee, tea, etc - while sitting around the firepace. The room we were in was a bit small, but very relaxing and comfortable. We didn't spend much time indoors for it to really make a difference. The breakfasts were excellent - a lot of hard work, effort and care are put into each meal.

We spent almost 2 weeks in Maine, staying at various B&B's from Bar Harbor down to Kennebunkport. The Maples was our favorite, by far. You're made to feel special, to feel comfortable. Tons of books and games, should the weather become bad. Books about the area, as well as guide books and as tour CDs for Acadia Park are available to take with you - very useful!

Over all it was a wonderful experience - we're looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Inn

Address: 16 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Maples Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maples Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.