We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar Harbor B & B that you should not miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maples Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maples Inn
Save
You added Maples Inn to your Saves list
16 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% OFF FOURTH NIGHT
Ranked #2 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bar Harbor B & B that you should not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our two night stay could not have been better. The Inn was everything that you would expect and close to the main downtown businesses. Mark is also the perfect host. He directed us to the best places to eat and the hikes that you would not want to miss. I plan to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
115
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Mark, the owner, is a delightful man that obviously cares about the well-being and happiness of his guests. He takes time showing you the property, always has tea, coffee, and water available for you - and his breakfasts, especially the egg soufle, are first-rate. The Inn is in a historic Victorian house. It is decorated in Victorian antiques etc. The rooms, while not large, are certainly in keeping with the architecture of the house and are immaculately kept. The location is on a quiet side street. This and the incredibly comfortable bed led to some seriously comfortable sleeping. Very highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Maples Inn for three nights at the tail end of the season. It was perfect! Upon arrival, Mark had coffee and tea waiting, showed us where he kept the water, where to park, and had numerous recommendations for dinner ready for us. The morning breakfast was lovely- his cuisine certainly lives up to his reviews (though my husband was disappointed we missed the blueberry french toast). Oh, and the location was perfect! You are within walking distance of the town so within five minutes you can be away from the occasional cruise ship hubub. We loved being able to walk to dinner.

I think the nicest part of our stay was how thoughtful Mark was. Every night in our little suite he put a new fire log so that we could enjoy our evenings in the glow of firelight. Mid-afternoon he baked fresh cookies that were quite tasty. He truly gets to know his guests, their interests and has an intimate knowledge of the area which he can offer excellent recommendations. We most definitely would like to stay there on our next trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: The birch suite has the fireplace. The bathroom is small (stall shower) but the quaint quarters mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We had a wonderful four-night stay at the Maples Inn. The queen-size beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms nicely appointed, and the entire inn is attractively decorated. Innkeeper Mark makes delicious breakfasts for his guests, and is eager and well-prepared to give advice on places to eat and things to do, not only in Bar Harbor but throughout Mount Desert Island. The inn's parlor has an extensive library of guidebooks on the natural and cultural history of the area, and Mark has a collection of menus from just about every restaurant on MDI. The inn is well-located, on a quiet side street but within easy walking distance of Bar Harbor's restaurants and shops. The inn's front porch is a wonderful place to gather in the afternoon for a cup of tea or libation, sharing the day's adventures with other guests. When we visit again, we will definitely book there.

Room Tip: The Red Oak has a small bathroom but a lovely outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Maples inn bar harbor

Mark the owner is a first rate host and is most welcoming. We stayed in the English holly room which had a 4 poster in which you had a set of steps to negotiate the bed. There were great touches that made the experience really rather pleasant, these included complimentary bottled water coffee and cake/cookies in the afternoon. Breakfast was delightfull and quite innovative.

Bar harbour itself seems to center itself around main street which is lined with every kind of restaurant you can think of and all reasonably priced. If like us you have enough of driving, then from the village green you can pick up a free bus (donations on the bus welcome) to all areas of acadia park which are frequent and incredible easy to navigate for your daily trips. Jordan pond is worth a visit. It's about 3 miles to walk around and can get tricky to navigate if you are clumsy like me. The restaurant at the end is most welcome. If you order some food you are given a free popover which comes with cream and jam. If you are English it's 
essentially a yorkshire pudding!

The fav. restaurants thus far are mckays bottom end of main street and for lobster the Trenton bridge lobster pound in Ellsworth. If you are looking for fine dining this is not the place but for a decent lobster then this is the place to come. 2 medium lobsters with corn and potatoe salad  and a couple of soft drinkd came in at 37 us dollars. If you want alcohol you can bring your own.

Cycled the carriages which is all off road which was great and not to taxing 


All in all a pleasant stay now on to Jackman Maine for some rafting.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We arrived early (before 3 PM checkin) and the host was very accomodating. He is definitely service oriented. The breakfast of pancakes with raspberries along with bacon was excellent. The location is on a street with many other B&Bs and inns - it is a few blocks walk to the main area for shopping and restaurants. Our room - the Shore Pine- was very clean. Unfortunately, the room was very small and cramped as was the bathroom which is why I rated the inn lower than I would have otherwise (given the cost of the room for a night). The Shore Pine room has double bed which is probably all that could fit in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Mark, the owner/host was friendly and responsive when I first contacted him with questions (a coworker had stayed there a few years before and highly recommended The Maples Inn) and throughout our stay. I was traveling with 2 friends so we took the 2 room suite and a single for 3 nights. The front porch with rockers and especially the massive jade tree, the convenient location, + breakfasts were lovely. You need to feel comfortable about stepping up into the high beds that we had. Bathrooms/showers are small but everything very clean. Mark was generous with bottled water and granola bars for our day trips (very much appreciated when biking around Eagle Lake and walking around Jordan Pond - excellent photo opportunities for strange mushrooms) and it was nice to have refrigerator storage for our wine and cheese.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#23 of 34 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 34 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Inn

Address: 16 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1903 Bed & Breakfast that invites you to experience Classic Tranquility... Welcome to Maples Inn Bed and Breakfast, a historic "farm Victorian" located in the Village of Bar Harbor, nestled on a quiet, tree-shaded street. At the Maples, you are just a short stroll from the center of town, world-class restaurants, galleries, shops, tours, and museums. Acadia National Park, the "Jewel of the East," lies just a few miles from our doorstep. Built circa 1903, Maples Inn once hosted wealthy Gilded Age visitors to Mount Desert Island. Today, the Maples is your destination for warm and skillful hospitality, a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere, well-appointed guest rooms and suites, and delicious breakfasts with local Maine fare as their focus. At the Maples Inn, we go the extra mile. It's who we are. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maples Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maples Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.