We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World comfort next to Acadia National Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Inn
Save
You added Manor House Inn to your Saves list
106 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Dresser, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old World comfort next to Acadia National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our group stayed two nights at the Manor House. Not only was it in a beautiful setting - the décor of this inn and the service and food was outstanding. Just a few blocks from the entrance to Acadia National Park, this B&B is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    30
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
susanmagoozen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We will definitely come back to this lovely place which made our first trip to Bar Harbor so special.
The proprietor was very friendly and helpful with good suggestions and getting us reservations. The location of this place is perfect. You can walk easily to all the restaurants in town but you are just one or two blocks beyond the really busy area. It is very quiet here. We enjoyed having our breakfast and afternoon tea (provided by the hotel) on their spacious and cool front porch. We stayed in the historic main house and loved it. We plan to come here again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a very spacious room (#5)in the front with a private bath. Large enough to have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Manor House Inn is perfectly located close to town and is on a softly lit street lamp block. In terms of location I thought it was perfect for what my fiancé and I had planned for a birthday weekend. We wanted to be close to Acadia National park so we could wake up and drive the 17mins to Cadillac Mountain for sunrise, we wanted to be able to rent bikes and ride for the afternoon on the carriage trails and enjoy a popover at Jordan House Pond (intermediate ride, some challenging uphills ~10miles one way) and of course enjoy lobster and blueberry pie.

The beds were comfortable and we had a fireplace in both of the rooms we stayed in. The breakfast was also delightful and they had afternoon pastries and tea ready each day. I really enjoyed my experience here, although fairly larger than your traditional B&B and less intimate. But all in all I would recommend a stay here.

In terms of the staff, I only remember Anthony as he was the one to help us to our rooms and introduced himself each night. The rest of the staff I was not able to meet although I did see various folks congregated in the kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This July was our third time at the Manor House Inn. We stayed in the Chauffeurs Cottage. and it was perfect...again. The breakfasts and afternoon treats were excellent. Every morning we sat on the beautiful porch and enjoyed our breakfasts. The Manor House Inn is in a perfect location. Just a short stroll from all the activities and restaurants in Bar Harbor and a hop, skip and a jump from Acadia National Park, yet still very peaceful in the evenings.
We will be back, you can count on it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had ventured into Maine to camp for a couple of days in Acadia National Park and after spending a hour on the mountain only to find the road closed without warning and long waits in line to get back off because of road paving which was also NOT posted, we were super frustrated and upset with th epark for it's lack of informing visitors of the changes we headed into Bar Harbour in desparation for a place to stay for a couple days. We tried a few places on the main hotel strip..over priced, ugly hotels...so we ventured further into the waterfront area, tried 1 Inn where the man that runs it was completely rude and took phone calls the entire time I was inquiring about staying there, and completely ignored me (I won't mention the Inn as I don't want them to get any sort of name drop as they don't deserve it ;) ) My husband saw a vacancy sign at the Manor House Inn. A gorgeous victorian house with gardens and a veranda that just beckoned to be sat on. I rang the bell as noted on the door, and this lovely smiling woman came to the door. I asked if they possibly had room at their Inn for a couple of days, and she was happy stating that they did and they would be happy to have us. From the moment we walked into the Inn we felt immediately welcome and at home. What a beautiful and comfortable place. The staff are all so helpful and accomodating. I can't possibly say how much we enjoyed our stay here. The grounds are beautiful and you are free to use the house as you may, as well as the common areas. The room was so gorgeous and quaint like stepping back in time, and such a comfortable bed to sleep! The gazebo out back and gardens are calming and we enjoyed our wine there, as well as coffee in the morning on the expansive comfortable veranda. The Inn is a very short walk to all the activities downtown on the harbor front and we didn't even need to use our car. As the parking on the harbour front is limited we were so happy with our location. I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else while visiting Bar Harbour. With all this beauty the breakfast and afternoon tea cannot be over looked, so delicious and all homemade. You will not be hungry here! Love Love Love this Inn...it was definately a highlight of our East Coast Adventure! A+++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Got in after a long drive from Ogunquit. We were tired and weary and welcomed by the staff here. The place is beautiful and inviting.....staying in a cottage at the back and can't wait for the breakfast in the morning! The cottages are so cute and amazing. King size bed, fireplace for the chilly Maine evenings and a nice sitting area. The grounds have a gazebo and porches are inviting. Can't wait for tomorrow's adventures!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Long overdue review. My husband and I stayed here almost a year ago and planning to return realized I had not written my review. This was the perfect location, with off street parking and pleasant walk to downtown area. Janie the night manager, greeted us with a warm cheerful welcome making us feel at home immediately! We stayed in the Acadia Downeast and it was immaculate and as comfortable as being at home. The Acadia has it's own private sitting room with plenty of reading materials and games. A charming front porch which we enjoyed having a glass of wine in the afternoon with our neighbors. In the morning we met Stacey the innkeeper and enjoyed her scrumptious breakfast. Everyone at the inn was pleasant and helpful sharing information about the area. We left feeling as though we were old time friends and looking forward to out next reunion...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Address: 106 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.