We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Inn
Save
You added Manor House Inn to your Saves list
106 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Yarmouth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay and ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We only stayed for 2 nights but we had a great experience at the Manor House Inn. All of the people that worked there were very friendly from the day we made the reservation on line (the room we wanted wasn't available for both nights so they gave us another - more expensive - room for the same price) to the day we left. They are right on West Street so we could walk everywhere - check out Bar Island which you can walk to when the tide is out! The food was good but we did go to Two cats on morning just because we had friends rave about their breakfast. We would go back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Chauffer's cottage is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    30
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Manor House for two nights. We had three rooms none of which were in the main house. They were all very comfortable and clean, each had air conditioning and heating and the cottage had a small fridge. The location is very close to town so we walked to dinner. We were very late to arrive (after 10pm) on the first night as an accident had closed the road, however the Innkeeper Stacey welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was excellent - blueberry french toast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beautiful house, but suffocating Victorian florals everywhere--looks the same as it did on my last visit 30 years ago! I suppose that is appropriate for an historic property, which this is, but the decor does nothing to enhance this beautiful house. Our room was roomy and comfortable, and thankfully less floral than the common spaces. Bathroom a bit cramped but clean and workable. I totally agree with other reviewers about the so-so breakfast and the impersonal contact with the hosts. I, too, am not sure I ever met them. The staffer who checked us in was friendly and helpful but we never saw him again. Breakfast was heavy and mundane--especially in comparison to other inns along the way. The front porch was a happy place to have tea upon arrival and we enjoyed being close enough to walk to Main Street, Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just got back from an amazing stay at Manor House Inn! Even during pre-peak season and rainy, cold weather, we had a most enjoyable time at Bar Harbor and it's all because of the incredible suggestions given to us by the wonderful innkeepers at Manor House. They greeted us with such friendliness! We felt like we were home! The food was delicious, our room (#10) was large, beautiful, and very comfortable. We traveled with our two children so that particular suite is perfect as it sleeps 4. Everyone went out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasant and they did it happily. They love what they do and it's very evident! I just can't say enough about Manor House. It just has it all - history, charm, beauty, friendliness, warmth, elegance, and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have stayed for many years at one of the cottages on the Inn property. We stay for about 2 weeks a time, and sometimes in both the spring and the fall. The breakfasts and tea are fantastic--excellent quality and different dishes each day. The owners and their employees are all warm and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weddinng and had a great time. The owners were very friendly and hospitable. There are so many different types of rooms to choose from in this classic house...our room was on the top floor and had plenty of room, a comfy bed, and a nice bathroom. The location is right on the bay and you can sit on the front porch and look out over the water as it is just above the downtown area of shops, bars, and restaurants that will keep you busy if you choose to visit them. The breakfast in the morning was top-notch and it was fun to socialize with the other guests during this time as well. They have some guest houses out back with larger rooms if you are looking for more space...I highly recommend these rooms (our friends loved theirs and it was alot larger than the rooms in the main house...more expensive obviously). If you're looking for an affordable B&B with a great location, this is your place.

Room Tip: Choose the guest house out back to get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Five of us spent five nights at Manor House Inn in two rooms on the third floor. We were doing the MDI marathon, and it was a first trip to Bar Harbor for all. Manor House was the epitome of the perfect home-away-from-home. The staff and owners were unobtrusive but present for any need at any time. A brief introductory tour of what was available for our use made us feel totally welcome and at home.
Every traveling comfort (even for us athletic event travelers) was anticipated and openly available for the taking--delicious homemade breakfasts and tea time snacks cooked everyday by Joyce, common rooms on each floor for socializing outside your room or watching TV, insider tips on the area and Bar Harbor offerings from Janey and Stacey (co-owner with husband Ken), spacious rooms with excellent beds and immaculate baths.
The house itself Is a real joy, 124 years old and flawlessly preserved, a short walk to just about everything in town. It struck me one morning how all five of my senses were being pampered here: surrounded by the beautiful decor, coming down to hot pre-breakfast coffee in front of the fireplace with soothing wake-up music in the background as I inhaled the aroma of a great breakfast being cooked for me by someone else. Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Address: 106 West Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.