We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Manor Inn
Save Saved
You added Ivy Manor Inn to your Saves list
194 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Gorham, Maine
1 review
“First time in a bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I tried a bed and breakfast for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. We found the Ivy Manor Inn after looking at dozens of other options. We were completely satisfied with what we found! We choose the "Royalty" room which afforded us a king size suite with private bath, fireplace and balcony. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The Inn itself is unique given its style as it is and contains 7 other rooms, a quaint sitting area and lounge. We were unable to try the restaurant as we were the last guests of the season and the restaurant was already closed for the season. Christine did provide us 2 nice breakfast dishes using fresh local ingredients. The inn is located literally in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor making it a 2 block walk to any restaurants or shopping and only 3-5 miles to the visitor center of Acadia National Park, which was our primary destination. Christine and John made our stay so relaxed and it was great to talk to them about how they became the innkeepers and the plans they had to upgrade the property. A special nod to Christine for making sure that Champagne and roses were awaiting my wife upon arrival! As newbies to Bed and Breakfast, we were so happy that the Ivy Manor Inn was our first experience. We are hoping to return again by ourselves or with friends

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an amazing stay at the Ivy Manor Inn last weekend. John and Christine made us feel at home right away, and we loved every minute of our stay. This Inn is very clean and the atmosphere is relaxing and inviting. We had a fabulous meal in their restaurant Michelle's, and we were very impressed with the menu. We travel to Bar Harbor twice a year, and have stayed in other inns, but will definitely be making the Ivy Manor Inn our "home away from home" the next time we visit Bar Harbor. If you are looking for a wonderful experience in Bar Harbor STAY HERE!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Ivy Manor Inn is lovely, without a doubt. We had trouble pulling into the parking lot because the driveway was blocked by people taking pictures of the building. Our room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the location and parking were ideal and the innkeepers were welcoming and accommodating. Given all that, I've had to knock off a rating point for a few small things. At the price, the absence of glasses in the bathroom and a box of tissues in the room is baffling. Motel 6 does that much. Most rooms could use more light. I'd consider staying here again, but given the options in Bar Harbor, it isn't a sure thing.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did not stay at the Ivy Manor, but wish we had. The beauty of the home caught our eye as we were strolling around looking for something to eat. We stopped in for appetizers only, because our lunch had been so late that day. John was so very gracious and welcoming. We sat in the bar and got visiting with many other patrons. We had the sliders and OMG are they delicious! They were perfect for a light something at the end of the day. Next visit will be spent at the Ivy Manor!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

John & Christine have a great place right in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Although we did not stay at the Inn (wish we would have); we had dinner at the restaurant our last night in town. It was SOOOOOOOO good! I mean everything we ordered from the mussels to the pork chop (w/ the most delicious pineapple chutney I have ever tasted) to the Lobster...ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! John even chased after us when we left our credit card at the restaurant, which we were truly grateful for! We're definitely staying at the Ivy Manor Inn next time!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

First trip to Bar Harbor & so happy to have found this gem! Old world charm with modern amenities (wifi worked great), wonderful hospitality and most of all clean! We chose Room 2 Royalty w/ king (comfy) bed, gas fireplace & deck...where we had cocktail hour w/ new friends. Wonderful organic breakfast prepared every morning by Christine. Right on Main St so we walked everywhere...harbor, walking trail, restaurants, museum. Stayed 3 nites & never moved car. Enjoyed delicious dinner in Michelle's Restaurant 1 night. As in other reviews, the lighting is dim but it's ambiance! if you don't appreciate B&B's or European charm choose otherwise. Thank you John & Christine for a delightful stay...from "the ladies"!!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 was in rear of building...very quiet even with windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Great location and John and Christine were marvelous hosts. That being said, our room was smaller than expected, only one chair, one night stand, and a tub that was so high sided that it was difficult and dangerous to get in and out. The door into the room scraped the floor probably because the floor was a bit warped. The breakfasts were excellent and the lobster omelet was a special treat.

Room Tip: We were in the Amore room (#3) which had access to the back deck. If you are a senior, the tub is d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Manor Inn

Address: 194 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Tudor style inn is located on Main Street in the lovely town of Bar Harbor, ME. Shopping is right outside our front door and the entrance to Acadia National Park is only two miles away. Whether you visit in the spring, summer or fall the flowers will be in bloom. All eight (8) rooms are uniquely designed with imported tiles from London and the classical decor gives each room an elegant warm feeling. Quaint outside balconies, fireplaces and all the amenities you expect adorn our rooms. We provide our guests with a gourmet breakfast every morning in one of three dining rooms, or choose to dine outside on our patio. Michelle's restaurant is a casual fine dining experience and is open daily to the public for dinner seven days a week. We look forward to serving you at the Ivy Manor Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Ivy Manor Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.