We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Manor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Manor Inn
194 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Magnolia, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The innkeepers, John and Christine are extremely accommodating... anything you need or want, just ask and if it is possible they will find a way! We were a group of four with varying dietary needs. My aunt and uncle eat wheat but only eincorn (ancient form of wheat that's not hybridized) and I am allergic to nitrites/nitrates and can only eat organic, farm fresh eggs. I know, needy, right? Anyway... before booking with them I spoke with John and he said that Christine loves trying new dietary things and would enjoy helping us. We brought along a bag of eincorn and Christine amazed us each morning with specially made breakfasts for our group (on top of the regular breakfast she made for all of her other guests and the inn was full!) That alone was enough to have us all on the Ivy Manor Inn bandwagon. There is a restaurant, Michelle's, within the Inn. I think they are now serving lunch and dinner though we only ever made reservations for dinner. We had dinner there 3 nights and everything we our group ordered was perfection and delicious! They have a brilliant new chef that creates fantastic plates we had the pleasure enjoying. And they have gluten free options for each of the courses on the menu. They have a small but very nice wine list and if you ask, a reserve wine list... we enjoyed both! ;) The inn itself is very clean, well kept, calm (even with two resident children), comfortable and inviting. My husband said repeatedly that it reminded him of inn's in the UK because of the lounge (bar) and seating area. We would wake, enjoy a fabulous (perfectly portioned) breakfast, explore Bar Harbor then come back to freshen up and have a pre-dinner drink in the Lounge where we would find John. John was very entertaining - he's a great story teller and so pleasant... easy to enjoy and hour "lounging" with him!
Ivy Manor Innkeepers, Inn, Lounge & Restaurant = Perfection!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mayo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I traveled to Bar Harbor in May 2014 and stayed at the Ivy Manor. The Ivy Manor is in a great location with walking distance to all major areas. The room we had, and the rest of our accommodations, were great; the food was wonderful! If you want to feel like you have been catered to, and have an excellent trip to Bar Harbor, stay at the Ivy Manor. You wont regret it!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

July 1 visit. While we can not speak to the Inn, the café associated with the Inn is very enjoyable. Seating was outdoor, just off the Main St sidewalk. Lobster rolls yummy. Adult beverages equally so.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is an awesome place to stay in Bar Harbor, right in the center of town. Super cozy, cute, and convenient. It's recently changed owners, and the current proprietors are lovely and very hospitable. We overly enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this beautiful place right on Main St. - yet quiet and comfortable. Great, comfy bed, nice outdoor decks/sitting areas, the whole place is lovely. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The freshly made breakfast each morning was delicious. Perfect location to walk to shops etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Returning from a road trip to Canada we decided to spend a night in Bar Harbor Maine. We happened on the Ivy Manor B&B on Main Street which has to be the best we have ever stayed in. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfasts were incredible. We stayed an extra night it was so good

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

How lucky we were to find this charming inn! It is easy walking distance to the surrounding downtown shops. Outside has an open and pretty garden area for cocktails and snacks with an inside bar and Michelle's Fine Dining restaurant. Owners John and Christine Poole are friendly and accommodating, and Christine makes a delicious breakfast every morning. The bed was quite comfortable and there was plentiful hot water for the claw foot tub. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ivy Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Manor Inn

Address: 194 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Tudor style inn is located on Main Street in the lovely town of Bar Harbor, ME. Shopping is right outside our front door and the entrance to Acadia National Park is only two miles away. Whether you visit in the spring, summer or fall the flowers will be in bloom. All eight (8) rooms are uniquely designed with imported tiles from London and the classical decor gives each room an elegant warm feeling. Quaint outside balconies, fireplaces and all the amenities you expect adorn our rooms. We provide our guests with a gourmet breakfast every morning in one of three dining rooms, or choose to dine outside on our patio. Michelle's restaurant is a casual fine dining experience and is open daily to the public for dinner seven days a week. We look forward to serving you at the Ivy Manor Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Ivy Manor Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Manor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ivy Manor Inn to your Saves list