We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, very over done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
150 Sand Point Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
1 review
“Beautiful view, very over done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The Inn has a spectacular location on the bay. Steps lead down to the beach and fabulous views at low tide. we stayed at Deer Cottage across from the Inn. Clean but too much cutie clutter for our tastes. Nix the trundle bed to open the room. Missed having a phone, tv and wi fi. Comfortable bed, tiny shower. Breakfast was creative (blueberry waffles and quiche) but too heavy on carbs for our taste, and not flexible for altternatives. Further out of town than we realized.

Bar Harbour had some nice restaurants. Acadia is the focal point of the area. Wonderful hicking, views and scenery. fun doing the sand bar at sunset.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    19
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
152
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

After having stayed at 2 lovely B&Bs in Portland and midcoast Maine on our way to Bar Harbor, we were disappointed. The issues:
Room: Heavily stained carpet, peeling wallpaper in bathroom, old worn toilet seat, balcony with old stained furniture.

Breakfast: Agree with 2009 and 2010 reviews-small portions. Also, although we arrived 30 minutes into breakfast, coffee in urn almost gone and coffee not good quality.

Other: Although 11:00 checkout, staff starts vacuuming at 10.

The host was very friendly and gregarious. However, he really pushes the Select Registry.

The location is lovely.

This B&B needs lots of freshening and should update its menu to compare to B&Bs of similar price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Friendly atmosphere, great view, excellent service, delicious breakfast and above all best host (owners).

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

In my opinion, the best inns always make you feel somehow as though you're visiting your parents' house, only without the constant requests to check Dad's e-mail or engage in gossip about relatives--you finish the weekend well-rested, (very!) well-fed, and never forgotten about, thanks to people who delight in your happiness and comfort. This is exactly the way the wonderful staff at the Inn at Bay Ledge made us feel during our small honeymoon.

This historic inn--which has been in business under different owners since at least the 1940s--has it all, from a giant porch with cushioned deck chairs and a big Penobscot Bay Swing; to a private rocky beach complete with barnacles, snails, crustaceans, and friendly lobstermen waving as they set out their traps offshore; to a hammock and four Adirondack chairs in the garden and a pair of pine chairs overlooking a tall rocky cliff over Frenchmans Bay; to an immaculate-but-comfortable living room with a sectional (that has lobsters on the upholstery!) that you just sink down into while reading the many topical magazines around; to a sauna room, piano, and book/movie library for guests to enjoy.

The innkeepers have two friendly dogs that make you feel right at home as they unobtrusively lie at your feet while you enjoy homemade breakfast on the porch or in the dining room, both overlooking the bay. The breakfast is top-notch!! You're started off with coffee and a good selection of teas, a fresh fruit cup, cranberry-coconut granola and a variety of other cereals, hard-boiled eggs, and one of the day's baked goods--we had raspberry popovers and banana but muffins on our weekend--hot from the oven with a selection of locally made jam and butter. As you work on that, they'll start plating your main course (of which there's only one option--so make sure that you tell an innkeeper if you've got dietary restrictions before you arrive!), which is tasteful and elegant. The weekend we were there, we had a cheese soufflé with chive blossoms on the first morning, and on the second a 'tropical delight'--a puff pastry with fresh pineapple and tropical fruit cream sauce. Of the two breakfasts, I far preferred the savory one, but either way, it still goes to show that there's something for everyone here!

The innkeepers are self-proclaimed 'ski people' who have their winter home in the mountains, and from October through May migrate to the seaside to run this lovely inn. Jeani and Jack were free with suggestions about how to enjoy the island and the area, and were frank about the quality of restaurants and other attractions around, eventually helping us to choose an absolutely fantastic place--The Burning Tree--that was perfect for our supper. (Supper is not served at the inn itself, but there's no shortage of quality restaurants in Bar Harbor's center, just a couple of miles down the road by bicycle or car.)

We just felt so well cared for this weekend!--I don't think we walked through the front door once without Jack offering us bottled water 'for the ride', 'for the hike', or 'to take back to the room'! When we muddied up some jeans hiking up Cadillac Mountain and needed something to wear to supper that evening, the wonderful staff fired up the washing machine and dryer in a hurry and saved the evening for us!

I suggest arriving early, before 5:00, since afternoon tea with homemade baked goods is served at that time each day. It's a wonderful way to relax after what is, for most, a long drive to Bar Harbor!

Only two things could have improved the stay: first, with all of that bottled water, I'd have loved to have seen a recycling bin somewhere; instead, our bottles were thrown in the regular trash until we rescued them to recycle at home. Second, the online reservation system is a bit unintuitive and requires improvement: it's not truly an online reservation system at all, but really only a more convenient way for guests to transmit address and payment information to the inn while still needing to place an actual telephone call to reserve. While I understand the desire of such a wonderfully accommodating innkeeper to talk to guests personally before they arrive, the way the online system exists now could be very confusing for the ever-increasing number of people who expect to be able to complete the reservation in full online and speak with someone for the first time only upon arrival. If the innkeepers wanted to avoid that, then they shouldn't have an online system at all, and should just require that guests complete the entire reservation over the telephone. But something needs to change, evidenced by the one (and *only* one!) bad Yelp review from someone who never even had the opportunity to stay there because of how confusing the current reservation system is.

Neither of those complaints detract from what was truly an enjoyable stay! We really did feel at home here, and look forward to returning many times in the future. Mount Desert Island is just so rich with activities, and I can't think of a better way of enjoying them than staying in such an elegant, secluded-yet-accessible inn with staff that makes you feel truly at home.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have their own private balconies--but first floor rooms are a few dollars cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Near enough to Bar Harbor, but very quiet and beautiful private beach.

Room Tip: Loved having a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We reluctantly returned from a 5-day vacation at the Inn at Bay Ledge in Bar Harbor, Maine. Our only regret is that we should have planned to stay longer! Inn-keepers Jack and Jeani and everyone else at the inn really know how to pamper guests with attentive service, gracious hospitality, gourmet breakfasts, afternoon tea and cookies, and accommodations that far exceeded our expectations. Our stay in the spacious Summer Cottage at the inn was unforgettable with its panoramic views of Frenchman's Bay, beautiful garden, private deck, comfortable rooms, and the quiet respite we were seeking. We highly recommend the Inn at Bay Ledge and plan to return for another vacation...longer next time!

Room Tip: Summer Cottage for those who seek privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed two short nights, and our stay was wonderful. The hospitality is genuine and warm, Jack and Jeannie, the owners, were ingratiating hosts. The view over Frenchman's Bay is spectacular, the beds are comfortable, the room was clean, the inn is elegant, yet warm, the breakfast was delicious, and I could go on and on. We will be back again and will recommend this to everyone we know! We had such a relaxing and wonderful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Address: 150 Sand Point Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Bay Ledge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Bay Ledge to your Saves list