We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acadia Hotel to your Saves list
Acadia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely, cozy hotel. Newly decorated. Friendly, well informed inn keeper owner oversees everything. Quiet. Fresh warm cider on front porch in evening. Great location. All the comforts of home! Worth every Penny!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    40
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
113
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

An amazing boutique hotel, impeccably maintained and clean, on the green in downtown Bar Harbor (the only one so located) and it is near absolutely everything. WHen you arrive at the hotel (in November) thier are gas lights and a small fire pit as you enter--with both cold lemon water and hot drinks right by the door. The hotel is georgeously appointed--Jordan and the owners (Peter and Christina) clearly love the place, have placed their hearts in it and are around to answer questions and provide suggestions. If you have any concerns or issues they are rectified immediately--they really care about your stay and comfort. The owners clearly love Bar Harbor and want all of their guests to have a great time--they are informative, funny and helpful at every turn, but not intrusive in any way.

There are so many loving features of this hotel I could not describe them adequately here--there is a book nook, unusual photos from the family history and area, coffee and tea are available all the time.The owners are always ready to talk about the hotel and its history. This is a small hotel of great warmth and charm (just like the owners). This is a PERFECT weekend getaway at any time--it is open year round, and contrary to popular belief, there is always something to do. Being so close to the Acadia National Park affords opportunities in every season for outdoor activities.

IF you are going to Bar Harbor you can certainly stay in one of the huge, impersonal places there (and there are many) or you can actually taste a real piece of Bar Harbor and stay here, be treated like a family member and enjoy unending hospitality.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Cadillac Mountain Suite at the back of the hotel--an enormous two room suite with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden ME
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Absolutly amazing! Hotel was clean and very well organized. Nice details around every corner. Bed was new and firm. Staff was always available, and very helpful.

As mentioned the location is second to none. It is within walking distance of everything town has to offer. Great coffee in the morning, and the wifi was very fast!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I stayed in room 1, the room was clean but the mattress was not that comfortable. The room was small, but well utilized for luggage space. The bathroom was very and a few traces of mold around the floor edges. The window panels had moldon them. For the price and location, if you're staying one or two nights fine.
A few items to bring that the room does not have
1) Coffee pot
2) Iron
3) Phone
The lobby coffee was horrible and only non dairy creamer to use with thrift store 80's style coffee cups.
For those who said best place ever, where on earth have you stayed?
I expected more from Bar Harbor

Room Tip: bring phone,iron and your own coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Whoa, ho! I tell you--lovely, lovely, simply lovely--and directly opposite the village green! The very best restaurants are but a stone's throw away as are all of Bar Harbor's high-end shops. This couple understands hospitality; they have thought of everything. My room was sleek, immaculate, and very private. Super comfortable bed--the best sleep I have had all year according to my Sleep Cycle app! I love this place!

Room Tip: The Cadillac Mountain two-room Suite has space, space, and more space with a fabulous view of the ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

This year was our best trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia Inn is the reason why. Great hotel. Helpful, friendly staff. Nice, clean, comfortable room -albeit, the shower was a little small.
It was nice being able to park our car and walk to everything Bar Harbor has to offer.
One evening the best thing we did was to sit on the porch with a bottle if wine and watch all the people.
Acadia is now our place to stay. Price, location, service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay last week at Acadia Hotel. Its off the main street by one block. Easy walking distance to everything. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Great price. Owners are very nice and welcoming. Would def stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8. Top of the stairs. Queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.