We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acadia Hotel to your Saves list
Acadia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is our second time staying at the Acadia Hotel and we (my fiancé and I) love it! The hotel is clean and the staff is very polite and helpful. The location of the hotel is amazing and it comes with FREE parking. The hotel is located next to some great restaurants and bars. Each time we visit we make a point of grabbing a drink at Leary's Landing; a great Irish pub located just a few doors down from the hotel. This is a great hotel for the money!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    43
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
133
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Acadia Hotel this past weekend and I can't say enough good things about our experience! We arrived about mid day on Friday and were able to even meet the hotel owner (Peter) who was extremely pleasant and informative as he checked us in and gave us some sightseeing tips. We stayed in room #9 which we found to be very comfortable and cozy and even had a great view of Cadillac Mountain off in the distance! The hotel is located next to the town's Village Green so it was fun to explore some shops and restaurants nearby. We found a great local Irish Bar nearby that was tucked in between some shops (Leary's Landing) where we spent Friday night with some good drinks and local music and then on Saturday there was an excellent breakfast place (Cafe This Way) just around the corner. All in all, if you are looking for a true local Bar Harbor Maine experience, I would highly recommend the Acadia Hotel!

Room Tip: Book early in the season...the hotel was already filling up when we called to book in early summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you want to be in town this is good location. Room was clean as all reviews stated but had overpowering smell of bleach... even with windows left open. For price, room was nice but not what I expected from all the amazing reviews.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had a great stay at Acadia Hotel. Quiet, comfortable, near the great Abbe Museum and a fantastic Irish pub that makes you feel instantly at home. Couldn't be a better location. The big wrap-around porch makes for great lounging with friends in between activities.
Randy C.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was my second visit to the Acadia Hotel. My mother and I shared a relaxing weekend in Bar Harbor. We booked the suite which has two rooms that share a bath. The hotel was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. We really like the location downtown. You can park your car at the hotel and walk to everything. We could not have had a nicer time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a lovely three night stay at the Acadia Hotel July15-17th. Our room was small, but very clean, and it had everything we needed for our Bar Harbor stay. The setting was in the New England style, and it felt like "home". The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful in making suggestions for seeing Acadia ( even in the rain) and Bar Harbor. I loved the front porch on the green with lemon water and a firepit in the evening. We had a nice deck to sit on outside our room too. This was like staying at a family run Inn right in the heart of a lovely town. We would stay here again- no question.

Room Tip: Book early in advance of your trip. They had no vacancies while we were there. We had an economy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This small hotel was a lovely experience from the decor, the comfort, the location, and the staff. Though the room we had was one of the smaller ones they offer, it was well designed to provide maximum comfort. And the location just can't be beat - right next the the village green so you can walk to everything. The shuttle stop for the free transportation to Acadia park is just a block away, so you really do not need a car to visit Bar Harbor and the park.. The manger, Jordan, was extremely nice and helpful as well as knowledgeable about the town history. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys a small intimate hotel experience..

Room Tip: don't choose room 8 if you have short arms - the location of the toilet paper holder is not clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.