We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Acadia Hotel to your Saves list
Acadia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A gem of a place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our entire experience with our stay at the Acadia Hotel in Bar Harbor, Maine. We stay there every year! It is centrally located right next to the town green within walking distance to stores and restaurants and there are also wonderful shuttles to anywhere we wanted to go in Acadia National Park. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The customer service provided by the owner, Peter, and by Cornelia was fantastic and extremely accommodating and we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    41
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
118
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and i spent 5 very comfortable nights at the Acadia hotel. Overall the hotel was charming, clean, well-appointed, and perfectly located. The staff was lovely and free coffee is available in the lobby beginning at 6 am, to help you get an early start on the day's adventure. We slept very well each night in the wonderfully comfortable king size bed. We also enjoyed the beautiful wrap around porch, an ideal spot for drinking that early morning coffee. We especially loved leaving our car parked at the hotel and walking just a short distance to the many fine restaurants where we could enjoy a bottle of wine with our meal. we loved that the hotel is located just across the street from the village green, where you can enjoy the bar harbor band or an outdoor movie, it's also a great place to people-watch while savoring some home-made ice cream. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Acadia National Park.

My Husband and I both really enjoyed our stay at the hospitable Acadia Hotel. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to my Granny and to you too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were lucky to get two adjacent rooms on the first floor (2 King size rooms #4 and #5) having booked very last minute. The hotel has a fantastic location right in the middle of Bar Harbor and it provides sufficient parking in front of the hotel and in the back. The reception is staffed until 11 p.m. which was great as we got stuck in traffic and only arrived around 10 p.m.. The decor is more like a bed & breakfast than a hotel but the rooms were quiet, clean and both had a small fridge and a window A/C. The only slight disapppointment was the bathroom of room 4: the sink had a huge crack and the shower was hard to get into and out (and I am not tall; 5.5) and you could barely move in it. My friends, however, had no issues with the bathroom in room 5. Staff was very friendly and they have a great breakfast place just around the corner ("Cafe This Way") where we went the first morning. In the evening, everything in Bar Harbor is within 5 walking minutes from the hotel. Acadia National Park is just a 5 min drive from the hotel.
Great location, great staff and we would definitely stay at Acadia Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Hotel's directly in the city center and yet it's quiet (visiting time - end of April). The receptionist suggested we go to the Irish Pub nearby, and it proved to be an excellent choice. It was Pub Quiz night, and we got complimentary drinks because we were staying at the Acadia Hotel. The room as well as the bathroom were clean and cosy. No problems with Internet access. I'd recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit the Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location when staying in bar harbor. This hotel is clean, quaint and the perfect location in downtown bar harbor, everything is within quick walking distance. There are many great restaurants right around the corner and its only 5 min walk down to the water. We stayed in the Cadillac mountain suite which was VERY clean and spacious and had everything that we needed, including a mini fridge and a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom! This is a PERFECT place to stay when visiting bar harbor!

Room Tip: Cadillac mt suite is beautiful and spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This boutique hotel is located right on the village green in Bar Harbor Maine. The Harbor itself just blocks away. It is convenient to all downtown activities and restaurants so you never have to worry about driving or parking. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is a renovated victorian style home with wrap around porches perfect for relaxing and people watching.

Room Tip: Some rooms have jacuzzi tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia Hotel could not have been a better spot to stay. Right in town, our room was spacious and clean. The free parking was an amazing perk and we were grateful for the food recommendations provided to us. We also appreciated all the activity pamphlets in the lobby. The house has more of a B&B feel than a hotel in that it is full of hominess and personal touches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.