We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Acadia Hotel to your Saves list
Acadia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It was our second stay at the Acadia, several years apart and one major features stands out both stays, if you are looking for quiet this isn't your hotel. It was unbelievable how noisy it is. Between people out on the porch yakking it up after a few cocktails, people strolling down the street or just plain fighting it was decibel challenging. The manager offered us a refund after the first night if we wanted to scoot down the road but we toughed it out for a second (louder) night.
As others have pointed out everything is of the cheapest quality as well, that being said the parking is free and the location cannot be beat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    46
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
139
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay here, rooms were spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. Staff was friendly and pleasant. It is also very well located within easy reach of the front and the shops.Would definitely return here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and were pretty disappointed.

Pros: Like other reviewers have said, this location is second to none. You are right across the way from Valley Green and can walk to pretty much any restaurant or store in downtown Bar Harbor. The free shuttle is literally right across from the hotel.
You also get a parking spot with your stay which is pretty sweet since parking can be a nightmare in downtown Bar Harbor.
We had a king sized bed and a relatively large TV for the room (although we really don't watch TV)
There's a nice wrap around porch with chairs on it so you can sit if you find the time to relax.

Cons: The floral wallpaper was way to much for us. It was black wallpaper with huge pink flowers all over it. It just felt very outdated and the room would be much fresher if they would just rip this down. In general everything felt kind of cheap. Towel rack and fixtures like that were all plastic. Towels were small and you only get two per room. My towel was frayed on the edges. There wasn't anything luxurious about the room and for $180/night I would hope for a little more. The entire price seems based on location.

Our bathtub didn't drain the water correctly so I had water around my ankles by the time I was half way through with the shower, which totally grossed me out since I had mosquito bites all over my feet! I called the innkeeper, who seemed really helpful and offered to come right over. We were only staying one night though and decided to just enjoy your time without worrying about anyone coming into our room. Hopefully that's resolved.

We also had multiple knocks on our door around 10am. Check out is officially 10:30 (which seems early to me) and either it was the innkeeper coming to talk about the drainage, or it was the housekeeper. I'm pretty sure it was the housekeeper knocking because when we left our room at exactly 10:30 she was literally standing right outside our door. This was relatively disturbing to me and she seemed annoyed that we'd waited until the last second to check out (she checked her watch as we were leaving). This whole thing just rubbed me the wrong way.

We didn't have any problems with road noise as some other reviewers have said, but we had problems with cooling our room during the night. There are flimsy blinds covering the windows as well as heavy duty light shut out shades (which we love). The only problem was that the shades covered the window AC unit when they were pulled closed. So you either have to choose to sleep with light shining in, or the curtains blocking the AC and it getting really hot. I ended up waking up in the middle of the night to open up the curtains.

So all in all, we were disappointed with our stay here and would just book somewhere more expensive where we'd be more comfortable next time.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seymour
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

couldnt ask for a better location, really didnt spend much time in the rooms, but it was great to be able to sit on the porch in the evening, and having a place to park your car. park was right across from us so always some action going on.

Room Tip: we stayed one night in the back, low ceiling room. and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed staying here-nice room and great location near village green, shops and restaurants. When we needed to print something, the owner offered to do it at no charge. Many places would have charged to to this. Friendly, clean, convenient - perfect combination. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This little hotel has a great location ...... nice to leave the car and just walk around as in the middle of Bar Harbor! Our room was very clean which is a must for us. Lots of floral wallpaper but this just added to the charm:) Quiet and a good price. About a one minute walk from "Cafe This Way" for some tasty blueberry pancakes in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place is all about location! Perfect, right in the heart of downtown. Clean rooms but outdated decor. Never saw a staff member except at check in, but didn't care. I'm not picky, just expect my lodging to be clean and in a good location. Acadia Hotel was just that. If you stay here, you'd better like flowers, they're splattered all over the walls, literally. Would stay here again, no qualms about it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.