We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, good value, close to Acadia NP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Belle Isle Motel to your Saves list
Belle Isle Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, good value, close to Acadia NP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Nothing fancy, but clean and adequate. Room was small! But had all amenities and was quiet. Good value in this lower price range. Easy access to Acadia National Park and right on road heading into park. Had good coffee: Keurig. Front desk was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the back row of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    69
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
44
85
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Belle Isle Motel is a charming & convenient place to stay when visiting Mount Desert Island. Rooms are clean & well equipped. The staff is friendly and helpful with directions & recommendations. The main entrance to Acadia National Park is just minutes away. Southeast Harbor, Northeast Harbor and Bar Harbor are only a short drive. You can buy lobsters from a local fisherman and cook them on the motel grill. There is a fire pit perfect for toasting marshmallows & hot dogs for the kids. You can pack light & use the laundry. And there's a big ice machine so you can pack a picnic for your daily excursions. We would stay at Belle Isle again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We try to rate properties based on the category they fall into. A motel should not get a one star rating because you are comparing it to a Ritz property. Far to may people on trip advisor seem to do that. For this review, we give the Belle Isle four stars in the category of economical roadside motel. This motel is easy to find - its right on the road between I-95 and Bar Harbor. The property itself is clean and neat. The office closes at night but they provide a pickup and drop off for your room key (nice touch). The room itself was small. With two large suitcases, it was a little cramped. For the price, which was reasonable, it you should not expect more. The beds were comfortable and all sheets and towels were clean and plentiful. The bathroom was clean and the water was hot. A coffee maker is in the room and stocked with Green Mountain Coffee. The only suggestions we would have are to replace the tv and a/c unit and upgrade the cable service. The tv was an old unit (not flat screen) and the picture was blurry at times. Also would be nice to have HBO and CNN. As far as the A/C unit, it worked well i.e. got the place plenty cold but was somewhat noisy. Overall our stay was comfortable and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room. There was not really a lot of noise after ten but the end room had no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Pet friendly and clean; we really enjoyed our stay there. Very friendly people. Would definitely recommend this motel.About 6 miles from town. Quiet at night. Great if you have kids too. Lots of room to play. Very clean too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We chose Belle Isle for the price and also so our daughter could experience an old style motel before they are all gone. Belle Isle offers travelers a lower price option near Acadia & Bar Harbor. The motel is right on the main road but we were not bothered by noise between 11 pm & 6 am. Our room (#10) faced the road and was on the far end of the rooms facing the road, so no neighbors on one side . The pool and fire pit are on the other end by the reception & laundry. The window style AC unit in the wall was loud when we turned it to cooling. It was not as loud on the fan only setting so we left it on fan and had the bathroom window open and front windows slightly cracked. The weather was mild so we didn’t need the AC, thankfully. The room had the basics and a K-cup coffee maker (3 pods: 2 reg. & 1 decaf) & small refrigerator. The bathroom was very small but the water pressure was fine as was the water temp. It is an old motel and showing its age but seemed basically clean. The focus of our trip was Acadia so only were in the room to sleep & shower. Staff (reception and cleaning) were friendly and helpful. A place to lay your head between hiking when you don’t have camping gear. It is about 5 miles from the Acadia visitor’s center and 8 miles from downtown Bar Harbor. It was fine for what we needed, very no frills, if it was a different place and time other than Bar Harbor in peak season I would probably be more critical about the price for what you get, but as they say location, location, location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This motel reminds me of the places my parents would find when traveling. Of course we never made an advance reservation, we just drove until Dad got tired and pulled off the highway and found a motel. If you are looking for reasonable priced clean comfortable motel with a friendly staff, you have found it. Rooms are small but well laid out and include a refrigerator. Just a couple miles North of Bar Harbor, well worth the drive to save $100 a night.

Room Tip: Looking for a quiet room choose? Choose 20 through 27.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is an older property that is very well mainained. As noted the rooms are small (they tell you that when you're booking), but clean and comfortble. We were looking for a place to sleep over a 4-day weekend and this fit the bill. Close to Acadia and Bar Harbor. Two firepits both lit every night, gave us a feel of camping out. Fridge in room is a nice touch, as is the high-speed wi-fi. Everyone on staff was quite pleasant and helpful. The rooms away from the highway seemed to be quieter at night.
We plan on staying there on our next visit to the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belle Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Isle Motel

Address: 910 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#24 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belle Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Isle Motel is centrally located on Mt. Desert Island. We are minutes away from many activities and points of interest. If you like a clean simple room, relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle and want to receive personal service, please join us! We want you to enjoy your visit to Mt. Desert Island and Bar Harbor so we do our best to make your stay with us a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Belle Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Isle Hotel Bar Harbor
Belle Isle Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Isle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.