We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient at a nice price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Belle Isle Motel to your Saves list
Belle Isle Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   910 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Nesconset, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and convenient at a nice price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was my first trip to Maine, and the Belle Isle Motel fully met my needs, as I was out and about most of the time. Conveniently located, the motel is just a quick 10 minute drive to Acadia and Bar Harbor. While the room was small, it was very clean and comfortable. The wi-fi, AC, and refrigerator all worked fine; no problems with the bathroom either, and more than adequate water pressure in the shower. The utilitarian TV (small and wall-mounted) was perfectly suitable. My only (and very minor) quibble would be that the room was a bit dim, as both the desk lamp and night table lamp provided only minimal lighting. The staff was friendly and courteous; and the housekeeping was professional and efficient. Overall, the very reasonably priced Belle Isle Motel is a great value. I plan to return to the area next year, and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    69
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
44
85
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I returned again this year for a longer stay. I had a small room once again but it certainly serves my needs as I am out in Acadia most of the time. It is a very clean place to stay and my room as well taken care of. Having a coffee pot and refrigerator in the room is great! There is also a hairdryer which was helpful as well. I was near the end of the row of rooms so it was pretty quiet. I was surprised that the breakfast had been discontinued as it is still listed. I hear another guest asking about it as well. The young girl (cleaner) seemed to know nothing about it. Unfortunately, I didn't see Camille at all this year. However, I enjoyed myself and will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had reserved two rooms here for four of us. The rooms are very tiny, at least the ones with queen beds. There was barely any room to layout our suitcases and move around the room. The TVs are small and installed high up on the walls. There is no breakfast, but a small outdoor pool, laundry facility, and plenty of outdoor furniture. The rooms were clean overall but there was a dirty washcloth in the shower when we arrived and some hair on the bathroom floor. The motel is about 6 miles outside of downtown Bar Harbor and there isn't really much within walking distance. It was inexpensive but it's definitely nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you plan to visit Acadia this is the place if you are not going to be in your room except to shower and sleep. The rooms are small but clean and the location is perfect for getting to the park and out of the area in the morning. I used the grill to cook and which was a plus. The management could not be more helpful and also the cleaning people.

This place is a bargain for Acadia NP.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermon, Maine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Belle Isle 2 nights last week and couldn't have been happier. It was very affordable! The staff was very friendly and the rooms were comfortable. They treated my wife and I like family. I look foward to our next stay in a couple of weeks and highly suggest the Belle Isle to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Belle Isle. We were spending time in both Bar harbor and Acadia National Park. The location is fine, just 10 minutes to both town and the Park entrance.

Our room was smallish but more than adequate and everything worked fine. The service was attentive and housekeeping did a nice job each day cleaning the room. If you want a low cost and nicely situated place to stay on Mount Desert Island, I recommend the Belle Isle as a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Kent, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

What a great little place to lay our head for the weekend. Close enough to Bar Harbor, but far from the expensive prices you get in town. The pool was just what we needed to refresh after a hot day. Surprised at all of the extras the room had - fridge, microwave, hairdryer. super clean room. the owners were very pleasant and welcoming. they even had a fire going outside in their firepit and chatted with guests like they were old friends. Definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Bar Harbor who doesn't want to spend a fortune just on lodging....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belle Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Isle Motel

Address: 910 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#24 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belle Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Isle Motel is centrally located on Mt. Desert Island. We are minutes away from many activities and points of interest. If you like a clean simple room, relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle and want to receive personal service, please join us! We want you to enjoy your visit to Mt. Desert Island and Bar Harbor so we do our best to make your stay with us a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Belle Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Isle Hotel Bar Harbor
Belle Isle Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Isle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.