We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Outstanding Service! Thank you!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hill Bistro - CLOSED

Town Hill Bistro
1317 Rt 102, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Outstanding Service! Thank you!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant deserves only positive reviews !!! Great food, great service! It was their first week when they were opened on monday. And it was our the only night out. We made a trip to bar harbor for our 2nd anniversary. So the latest possible time to make a reservation was 8pm. We got there at 8.30. They were wrapping up and getting ready to go home obviously. But they let us sit down and order food. No rush. Food was amazing. I had potato gnocchi and my girl ordered a halibut. Delicious! I forgot the name of the cake we ordered but it was fantastic. And what a pleasant surprise we got their famous lemon cake on the house. Unbelievable! Thank you for making our anniversary dinner so special!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    35
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small location, amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The whole experience at this restaurant was amazing! My fiancee and I chose to go to this restaurant because it was close to where we were staying and it was also a little bit away from the busy downtown Bar Harbor area. From looking at the website, we did call and have to make a reservation. They even called us back and said we could come in earlier due to a cancellation, which we were pleased with. Our waitress was friendly. The food was AMAZING. The best meal I've ever had in Bar Harbor. All the food is from local farmer's markets, so even though the food was a tad pricey, it was 100% worth it. We ate until we were beyond stuffed. The rotating menu keeps it interesting. The restaurant is small (hence the need for reservations) but there was still privacy from table to table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Foodie delight in Bar Harbor area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Ok, so we tried the grilled romaine w/anchovy and poached shrimp for appetizers. Followed that with dinners of baked halibut and seared ocean scallops w/cous cous and lobster/lemon sauce. Followed that with the poached lemon cake. WOW.

Didn't leave a crumb, every dish was superb.

Cozy and warm vibes, with a hip bar and extensive wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just returned home from a wonderful dinner here! The scallops were the best I've ever had and my husband enjoyed the monk fish special. Everything was fresh and delicious! Be sure to make a reservation--we saw a few people turned away. They seem to stagger their reservations which results in very efficient service and hot food! The coffee was also excellent and strong! Don't miss this one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food, service and atmosphere here was fantastic........poached shrimp and gnocchi among better ever had......service was impeccable and being a bit outside of town made it even more enjoyable.....small so reservations a must but plenty of table room.....excellent selection of wines by glass......we'd put it even or slightly better than Reading Room and well ahead of Cafe This Way.......Would recommend to family, friends and business associates without any hesitation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hill Bistro also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hill Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.