We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Sunnyside Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Short vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My daughters and I have been coming here for the last eight years. Mostly for a short stay while on our way to a final destination. We have always been extremely happy with all aspects! Extremely clean, well kept and the owners Helena and Richard are always ready to help.
The thing I think I like the best is that they always remember us, and are always excited to see my daughters and how they have grown. Very family friendly place! Thank you for all you do to make your establishment great!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massillon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights (one 1-bedroom cottage and one motel room). The units were spotless and Richard and Helena were a delight....they take great pride in their property and are very visible and helpful. The only negative I can think of is the washer and dryer were very dated and the dryer took forever to dry our clothes. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Sunnyside cottages. Cottage 6 was very clean and comfortable. The innkeepers were very friendly and made recommendations for Lobster Pounds , grocery stores ,and restaurants. Providing us with a map and details. The establishment is motorcycle friendly and had laundry facilities. I liked the location as it was convenient to Acadia National Park but out of the hustle and bustle of town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I recently stayed in a cottage with three other people and had a great time. The cottage was meticulously cleaned daily by the wonderful maids, enough to please my OCD tendencies. The kitchen is small but functional. We cooked most of our own meals and it was a little challenging with only two burners and no oven but it was manageable. The owners were very nice and informed us of everything we needed to see and do and were right! Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We truly enjoyed the cottage, reminded us of our first little apartment when we were first married.
It has a little kitchen and bathroom which are a bit dated (and cozy), but this is exactly what you get with this type of rental.
We wish the mosquitoes weren't so bad so that we could have sat outside and enjoyed the night.
The only drawbacks were the pillows (hard) and no air conditioner but the night was cool enough that with the fan they provided it was a comfortable night!
We did not have time to use the pool, but it looked nice, just your average motel pool.
The owners were very helpful and friendly...would stay again!
And by the way...LOVED the yellow color of the cottages!

Room Tip: Cottage #3 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed one night, 4th of July, 2014! It was a bit old fashioned, but the bathroom was fully updated and all new. The room was very clean, and while dated, the appliances were well cared for and fully functional. We were there through the last gasps of Hurricane Arthur, and slept like babies. The only suggestion I would make to the lovely proprietors is to move the AC units in the rooms up off of the walls down by the floors. Locating them so low makes it hard for oldsters like us to see the controls, and it doesn't cool as efficiently since cold air falls and heat rises. We got innovative and put the luggage holder in front of the unit with my briefcase propped up at an angle in front of the vents. This channeled the cold air up and through the room for a comfortable night; important since the driving rain kept the windows closed! The owners are adorable and lively, and very conscientious about their little property. I stayed in one of the cabins over 20 years ago, and its still the same couple! Clean room and great value!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Room was clean and staff was very helpful. All their advise about what to see and best deals was 'right on'. Wish we had time to try out the pool... owners very pleasant and helpful. Made the trip to Bar Harbor worth every minute. Thanks.

Room Tip: Call ahead and get your reservations in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

Address: 1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel And Cottages
Sunnyside Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.