We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay; good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Save Saved
You added Sunnyside Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
amsterdam
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant stay; good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We where looking for a place to visit the Acadia national park and live outside most of the time. It's location is good because it is on the island and you are close to the two major roads the island has. It is however a 15min drive to Bar Harbor.
This place was perfect for a 3 day visit. The rooms are clean and spacious (the A.C. is a little loud) and every room or cabin has a nice porch or terrace to chill on or have diner. There is a neat pool at the back of the compound which makes it nice and quiet. The (free to use) BBQ is perfect.
The prices are a little higher than as displayed on the website but it still is good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, CT, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent a great week here in a cottage for two. For the style of accommodation this was faultless - clean, well equipped kitchenette with two-rig electric, fridge, microwave, Mr Coffee coffee maker. Great attention to detail, too - so there were filters for the coffee pot, salt and pepper, dish-wash liquid. King size bed, two very comfortable easy chairs - same bedroom tv we have at home.

Daily room clean service and towels as needed. Nice inground pool - clean and btight.

The owners are very helpful, and were able to loan us a charcoal grill, and also an outdoor lobster boiler, so we could sit at the picnic table and eat our own locally caught lobster while sipping a cool one. Nice!

The location is pretty much just as you get onto Mount Desert Island, so it is about 10 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor - but nicely away from the bustle and traffic hassle of that area. It also makes it easy access to the quiet Western side of the Island.

Only two criticisms:
The mattress protector was pretty fierce on our king-size bed. I have no problem with a protector but it needed something between it and the sheets to stop it sounding so crinkly. I have never noticed this before so there must be som 'hoteliers' solution to the noise and clammy feeling.

The campus was very brightly lit at night. Understandable - but we missed out on stars.

I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

What a nice place! We needed a cottage with 2 bedrooms because my children are 16 and 19, and their cabin fit the bill perfectly with 2 twin beds in the second bedroom. The cottage was extremely clean, there was a nice screened in porch, and the kitchen was well equipped. The proprietor was very friendly and knowledgeable. Only drawback was being 1 mile away from the shuttle stop. Price was very reasonable as well. In all, a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at Sunnyside in one of the cottages last June for a few days. The stay was more than affordable, especially considering the costs of the surrounding lodgings. The cottage was cozy but had plenty of room for the two of us. Small kitchen area was a plus. Enjoyed screened-in front porch and a picnic table on front lawn.

Room was clean, though furniture a bit dated. Bathroom looked newly remodeled but did have a cramped shower. The woman who checked us in and out (I think one of the owners) was very friendly and helpful.

The location is farther from downtown and Acadia than most of the other lodgings, but we didn’t mind. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, one that we would repeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had two rooms that were very we suited to our family's needs. The rooms were very clean and well laid out with plenty of space. We were welcomed by one of the owners who spent a good bit of time sharing with us recommendations on things to see and do, places to eat for breakfast and dinner, and more. I wish we had a little shorter drive to downtown Bar Harbor, but still I would stay here again! The place seems to draw friendly people as everyone we bumped into here was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This motel was a real surprise. They have cabins and motel style rooms. I had a motel room which was more like a bedroom in a friends home.

Very clean rooms and the grounds were immaculate. Bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was a little tight, but it was easy to put up with.

The owners are a really nice and very helpful couple.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here for a few days while we explored Acadia National park, Bar Harbor and Maine coastline points south. We stayed in cabin #6 and - though tight - was more then we immagined it to be. The only downside would be the slightly longer drive it takes to get into Bar Harbor and enter the park. The cabin more than made up for the drive. Beside it being very affordable, it was very clean and included a nice functioning tv, bath, and kitchen. The owners Richard and Helen were very nice and helpful. We are planning a return trip whenever we visit Acadia again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Motel & Cottages

Address: 1441 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#26 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Motel And Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Hotel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel Bar Harbor
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.