We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time and STILL LOVE IT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Seas Motel
Save Saved
You added High Seas Motel to your Saves list
339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3rd time and STILL LOVE IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was our 3rd time here and have stayed at other places but nothing compares for the value. It extra clean and the owners, a young couple, a super nice. The go the extra mile in helping you make plans etc. The grounds are beautifully maintained and visually nice to look at it. Some othersnwrote reviews about the noise from the highway, then don't book on the highway, it shouldnt reflect the motel and its great owners.Will always stay here when in Bah Habah

Room Tip: Choose a room by the deck to the right of the pool, a little further off the highway and visually pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
augusta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

up in Bar Harbor for business and traveling on a budget. They offered the best price so my expectations were quite low. Discovered a very clean, bright room with a fridge and I had my own deck with patio furniture. Well maintained grounds and a cute pond outside. Also enjoyed the rather large vending room with comfortable furniture and tables to sit down if you wanted to prepare a meal. Room was very clean with table and chairs. My only suggestion is to put up hooks in the bathroom to be able to hang towels from.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days in queen bed room. This was late planned trip and many places were either too expensive or booked solid. Strange since when driving around BH area we saw nothing but Vacancy signs all over.

Checking was quick & pleasant. When making the reservation we asked for a quiet room. Since we had queen bed room reserved we ended up in road facing building with additional 4 rooms and ours being in the middle. So instead of 2 neighbors we had 4. Rascals.

The room was clean and nice size. The bed was firm & bouncy with 4 pillows provided. That's about all the good things I can say.

The walls are paper thin; we could clearly hear conversation, bodily functions, guitar playing, you name it like we were there. And since we could hear them they could hear us as well. Bye, bye privacy.
The road noise from Highway 3 is pretty bad. Heavy trucks, buses, cars all this starts at 5AM and goes late.
No tissues, bring your own shampoo & lotion. Yes, there is this bubble gum smelling liquid dispenser on the wall, but we did not dare to use it.
The bath is small and has no hooks to hang used, wet towels. No place to put toothbrushes, comb, etc. either.
Windows blinds are rather thin and do not darken the room enough with all the security lights outside.
Basic TV channels selection, but no premium channels like HBO.
Fridge is in the room, but no microwave (that is in the vending area that opens at 6:30 AM).
They provide coffee, tea & hot water in the vending room, but nothing else (except during our stay bottle of honey; go figure?).

The place is not close to town or beach, you must drive everywhere, but there is one restaurant (Log Cabin) walking distance.

We paid $95.04 per night (incl. tax). Maybe this is a deal for BH during peak season (in our case July) but we did not think we got a good value for our money at all. Should you decide to stay, either bring earplugs, stay in the room as far from the road as possible or be ready for noise and lots of it.

Better yet, stay in any place that does not front Highway 3.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSeasBH, General Manager at High Seas Motel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. While we do wish we had had the opportunity to address your concerns at the time, rest assured we will use your input as an opportunity to better improve our establishment. Fortunately, we have the resources to provide a resolution for our guests should they have any specific needs, require assistance with a matter, or simply fulfill a forgotten travel essential.
Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribou, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed with our two children while we were in Bar Harbor for a baseball tournament and I cannot say enough about how accommodating the staff was. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are spacious enough for the four of us and very clean. Our boys enjoyed the pool which again was super clean. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend the High Seas over any of the over priced places in Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were searching for a room during the peak season in Maine. All of the fancier downtown hotels as well as the brand name hotels were completely booked with really high prices. We checked TripAdvisor and were impressed with the reviews.
Pulling up we were impressed with the outside appearance and the obvious level of maintenance. Check-in was quick and the staff was extremely friendly. They recommended restaurants in the area.
The room was not fancy but very clean and decently appointed. Again, it's not the Four Seasons but very clean and comfortable. When we return to Acadia we will definitely come back to this motel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Would definitely recommend this motel! The rooms are excellent! Very clean and cozy! Has a great pool. It is in a wonderful location with two restaurants and mini golf course just seconds away. It is minutes from downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Has very reasonable rate as well! My parents have been staying here for years and they love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

When we knew we were actually going to able to take a vacation when we actually had it scheduled it was last minute. I called the place we usually would go to but they didn't have rooms and was under new managment. I looked at a few places on here and saw the High Seas Motel. After reading the all positive reviews I made the call and was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to just reserve on short notice and at a more than reasonable price.

When we got there it was a lot earlier than the time that our room would be ready. We were just placed in an exact same kind of room next to the one we were supposed to have. Quickly and with no hassels.
The rooms and the entire grounds and expecially the pool were so well kept, we were just amazed at how this place had eluded us all these years of going up to bar harbor.
I had very friendly talks with the owner who was just as down to earth and as next door neighborly as you could want.
From now on, the High Seas Motel is our go to place when we come up here. I can't say enough about it. Only a few miles away from the town, it gives you the privacy and the quiet for rest before going into the town visit.
This is the place to go if your not looking for a B&B or fancy motel. Just a great comfortable room and exceptional service.
If you need anything. Just ask and they will happily take care of it for you.
Jeff and Liseanne Grenier - Woonsocket, RI

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Seas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.