We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so hidden gem outside Acadia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Seas Motel
Save
You added High Seas Motel to your Saves list
339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not so hidden gem outside Acadia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were searching for a room during the peak season in Maine. All of the fancier downtown hotels as well as the brand name hotels were completely booked with really high prices. We checked TripAdvisor and were impressed with the reviews.
Pulling up we were impressed with the outside appearance and the obvious level of maintenance. Check-in was quick and the staff was extremely friendly. They recommended restaurants in the area.
The room was not fancy but very clean and decently appointed. Again, it's not the Four Seasons but very clean and comfortable. When we return to Acadia we will definitely come back to this motel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Desert, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Would definitely recommend this motel! The rooms are excellent! Very clean and cozy! Has a great pool. It is in a wonderful location with two restaurants and mini golf course just seconds away. It is minutes from downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Has very reasonable rate as well! My parents have been staying here for years and they love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

When we knew we were actually going to able to take a vacation when we actually had it scheduled it was last minute. I called the place we usually would go to but they didn't have rooms and was under new managment. I looked at a few places on here and saw the High Seas Motel. After reading the all positive reviews I made the call and was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to just reserve on short notice and at a more than reasonable price.

When we got there it was a lot earlier than the time that our room would be ready. We were just placed in an exact same kind of room next to the one we were supposed to have. Quickly and with no hassels.
The rooms and the entire grounds and expecially the pool were so well kept, we were just amazed at how this place had eluded us all these years of going up to bar harbor.
I had very friendly talks with the owner who was just as down to earth and as next door neighborly as you could want.
From now on, the High Seas Motel is our go to place when we come up here. I can't say enough about it. Only a few miles away from the town, it gives you the privacy and the quiet for rest before going into the town visit.
This is the place to go if your not looking for a B&B or fancy motel. Just a great comfortable room and exceptional service.
If you need anything. Just ask and they will happily take care of it for you.
Jeff and Liseanne Grenier - Woonsocket, RI

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our first trip to Acadia so we were sure what to expect we wanted to stay a little away from bar harbor but be close enough to make frequent trips...We couldn't have a chosen a better location and cleaner motel than high seas..You can't see the bar or walk from the hotel to the bar but then we wanted to also stay a little away from the crowds and the cars so this was perfect and it was only a few min drive to the bar harbor where we could walk , shop and dine. It was perfect...!!!

Pool, grounds and the rooms were extremely well maintained...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

First hiking trip to Acadia in 23 years of annual hiking trips all over US and Europe. Absolutely loved High Seas. Reasonably priced, quieter because it wasn't downtown Bar Harbor (and our room was at the back away from the highway), double room was very spacious, motel in great location for going anywhere on Mt. Desert Island, staff was friendly and helpful, AND it was absolutely the cleanest and most polished motel I've ever stayed. Room, buildings and grounds were maintained with obvious care and pride of ownership.

Room Tip: Motel section at the back, behind the office, was very quiet -- couldn't hear the highway traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found this hotel to be spacious, very clean, comfortable, friendly and very reasonably priced. We were in close proximity to Acadia and to Bar Harbor. We had people in rooms to both sides of us and our room was very quite. When we return this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We love this place--it is family run and a great deal for the $$$. We have been going here for the last 5 years and just returned home on Friday.It is always clean,quiet and has a lovely pool. We also like the location--.It meets all of our needs and can't wait til' next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Seas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.