We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel at a Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Seas Motel
Save
You added High Seas Motel to your Saves list
339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Wiarton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Motel at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Why stay in an expensive motel in Bar Harbor when you can stay in a super clean, quiet motel just minutes from town at a very reasonable price. The High Seas Motel is the perfect place to stay. Large rooms with comfortable beds and mini fridges. Compimentary morning coffee is provided. The motel staff are excellent people.
Will definitely stay here should we return to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was extremely quiet even though there were folks in the room next to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Clean is the word. For the money it was perfect. Bring your own food as they have a mini fridge in the rooms. They also have a function room to meet your friends and have coffee and bring your own fruit, pasteries or whatever in the morning. They have a microwave also. We enjoyed the pool and happy hour deck. Our group of nine (all experienced travelers) gave a thumbs up for this little gem. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nothing fancy -- but clean, comfortable and quiet. The location was perfect and the room was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have been going to Bar Harbor for several years and always stayed in a family run motel with a view. well, the family sold it and it's not the same...we have been looking for a new place and we found it! It you don't need to stay right in the city and don't need anything fancy then I have the right place.
The High Seas has GREAT rates. The rooms are very clean and very spacious!! Nothing fancy...comfortable bed. Bathrooms are exceptionally clean. TV is kinda small but who has time to watch? fridge in the room...only thing is no micro..
You can tell alot about a motel by their grounds...well maintained and pay attention to detail....just like the inside!!
We have found our motel for all our trips to Acadia National Park!! Entrance is not 3 minutes down the road!! I would recommend this motel to anyone going to Bar Harbor and Acadia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I think the reviews here have covered most everything. This is a good clean motel close to local attractions for not a lot of money. What more do you need? I will definitely stay here again when I return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Four miles from Bar Harbor and two miles from Acadia park visitor center.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We've stayed here now three times over the very-very-busy Columbus Day weekend, for $75 a night. You can find plenty of more chi-chi accomodations (at an oh so chi-chi price) and you can also pay less at an old motel where you think the bed might slide out the door at any minute. The High Seas has been repainted, new furniture, young new couple running the front desk with a smile. Close enough to town and Acadia to make you smile, far enough out to be a bit quieter and settled. Maybe one of these times we'll come when it's warm enough to use the pool!

Room Tip: Traffic noise if you're facing Route 3 - better farther back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Seas Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.