We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent value in a high-priced area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edenbrook Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edenbrook Motel
Save
You added Edenbrook Motel to your Saves list
96 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An excellent value in a high-priced area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here two nights. As pointed out in other reviews, the motel is old. but the rooms are reasonably sized and are comfortable. Yes, the wi-fi can be spotty, but that also can be the case elsewhere. The rooms (or at least those in our building) front on an outdoor balcony that runs the length oif the building and has chairs. And the rate was phenomenal for Bar Harbor. To be sure, they don't serve breakfast, but the rate was low enough that we could go out for breakfast and still save money as compared to other motels. And it's closer to town than other lower-priced motels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elmsdale, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Old motel but very happy to see how clean it was. Beds were comfortable. Had a few things that needed looked at and they were done while we were out that same day.
We had the suite with 2 double beds and 1 queen bed. #56 third building up off the road.
Lots of hot water and water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I paid less than $50 for a room in May. The room was large and clean. The wifi was lousy though. If you need to plug something in you'll need a 3 Prong to 2 prong grounding converter.Luckily there was one in my room and I was able to plug in my laptop. Maybe the other rooms have updated electrical outlets.
Road noise is an issue especially if you stay in the first building.
Great for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Our room was one of the best surprises we've had in our travels. It was quite large, very clean, comfortable and had a view to the ocean. We were in the building furthest up the hill, Building #4. It's the perfect room if you're looking for great comfort, cleanliness, and a terrific value (especially in Bar Harbor). It had two double beds, very good ones. We will definitely stay there again and will reccommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor of the building furthest up the hill. (You will have to climb one flight of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great motel that is very reasonably priced. Large rooms, very clean and just a little ways from town.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms up the hill away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My wife and I drove from the beaches of NH all the way up to Bar Harbor. We stayed in 6 different motels during the trip. This was the least expensive place we stayed, and the comfort level was nearly the best out of all the places! We stayed in the highest building, had slight views of the ocean (not really worth the mention), and had a huge room. $55 per night?! Yes please.

We will stay there again next time we're in town. It's like a 2 minute drive to the main hub in Bar Harbor, and it's super easy to park in Bar Harbor in late September. I still can't get over the value of this place, no idea how they do it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have been staying at Edenbrook Motel for years and have always found it to be a great deal. The rooms are very clean, and include chairs outside for sitting as well as a table and chairs in the room. On our last stay, we tried the 4th building and found the room to be quite large, with a larger bathroom than usual, small refrigerator, and a balcony outside the room with a view of the bay through the trees. There were deer behind the building on a couple mornings.

While the beds aren't as luxurious as in some more expensive hotels, we find them quite comfortable. Again, the place is quite clean. And you will not beat the price in Bar Harbor.

Downtown Bar Harbor is about a mile and you can walk. There actually is a sidewalk on the other side of the street. You can also catch the free bus right at the motel entrance. And best of all, you can follow the street alongside the motel and be in Acadia National Park in less than 5 minutes.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the 4th building, but buildings 2 and 3 are also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#34 of 42 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#24 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbrook Motel

Address: 96 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenbrook Motel is a family run business since we opened in 1953. Our modest rooms in the 1st and 3rd are updated and accommodating families, and with a covered porch. The 2nd and 4th rooms are modern and very up-to-date with balconies and top floor of the 4th has views of Frenchman's Bay. This is reflected in the prices. We welcome reviews from all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edenbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Edenbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenbrook Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.