We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Trying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Park Sea Kayak Tours

National Park Sea Kayak Tours
39 Cottage Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
1-800-347-0940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 60 Activities in Bar Harbor
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ecological Sea Kayak trips on the remote "Westside" of Acadia...Half day (4 hours)...2 1/2 - 3 hours on the water...Morning, Afternoon, and Sunset. Great wildlife sightings...locally owned and operated since 1993. Professional Maine Sea Kayak guides provide all equipment, instruction and van transportation.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth Trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I had never kayaked before, so we didn't know what to expect. Our guide, Mark, was very knowledgeable and we did enjoy our tour, but we got off to a bumpy start. First, we got out part way and found out we had a broken pedal in our boat which meant we couldn't steer! Kind of a big problem. Second, they never told us that the bigger person should sit in the front because there is more room. After our pedal fell off twice, Mark had us go to a beach and switch spots and since I wasn't as tall, the pedal was fixed by being adjusted to my height. Once we could actually steer the boat, we did see loons and seals. I'm not sure why someone else said they didn't know to bring a snack - it was on every brochure and their website. Overall, it was a good experience that we both enjoyed and would try it again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    27
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Missed the wildlife”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I see other reviewers had mentioned seeing lots of wildlife, on our trip we only saw few cormorants on some rocks, not even up close. I love that kayaks can get up close to things, we have sea kayaked in FL, CA and AK and seen some great stuff, so this trip was a bit disappointing. Also note that they want you there half hour early and you can bring water and a snack, when we made our reservation no one told us that so we almost missed the trip and had no snacks. Guide was very nice and had good group of people who could paddle, just want some wildlife

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Guide and Great Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

For those worried they will not get enough time on the water due to the bus trip do not fear. Everything this place does is right on schedule. There is no time lost waiting on a bus or getting on the water so you get your money worth of time paddling.

Our guide was Mark. He is very friendly and helpful for the paddle part, but is also very knowledgable. He knows the local history and off the beaten path stuff on land and also knows how to maxamize your opportunity to see wildlife on the water.

The only down side is apparently this company has a sister business (?) on the island. That trip started 30 minutes late, which meant they were right in front of us for a lot of our trip. It is hard to see much wildlife when a group of 12 people are 5 minutes in front of you. Luckily Mark was able to get our group past them when they took their break so we were able to see some seals on the last half of the paddle.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we took the 9 am to 1 pm trip with Mark as our guide. Although we had done some kayaking, he walked us through a great tutorial and got us ready to make sure we were safe and comfortable. the total time on the water was about 3 hours which was perfect. Mark walked us through the history of the area and answered all of our questions. He's VERY good at what he does and was solely focused on making sure the trip was everything we wanted it to be. The weather was perfect which I am sure helped. On one section, we just drifted our canoes and had about 100 sightings of seals as they popped up all around us for a few seconds here and there, kind of like a whack-a-mole game. They were EVERYWHERE. It was a surreal experience. We even had a great bald eagle sighting. Yes, we were lucky but even without that Mark was an exceptional guide for a great service. Beginner to more experienced, this is a great trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a try if you are the outdoorsy kind”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went when the place had just opened for the season. The guide wasn't sure where all the wildlife would be. I'd recommend going for the tour after Mid June. Take a camera and binoculars.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Park Sea Kayak Tours also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to National Park Sea Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Park Sea Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.