We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Owner/Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Central House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Central House
Save
You added The Central House to your Saves list
60 Cottage Street, PO Box 955, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Daytona Beach,Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude Owner/Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just left a 2 night stay. Usually, we realize that an old B&B will have its issues. But The Central House needs an overhaul. The room was musty and dusty. The air conditioner was so loud we had to turn the T.V up to almost full volume and also had to remove the FILTHY filter from it. The noise was so loud that we couldn't sleep either. The shower was mildew ridden and the water pressure, well, there was NO water pressure. It was like showering under a drizzle. We even complained to the owners, to no avail. Coffee was offered, but on the second day, the door was locked. There was water offered in the "lobby", but it smelled like fish.Probably was not changed in a while. Out of habit, we never use the comforter or blanket for any hotel/B&B, so we rolled them to the end of the bed. The floor in the bathroom was gross, so we cleaned it with a washrag. We then received a nasty email from the owner/housekeeper stating we left the room, linens in a filthy state. Other than towels on the bathroom floor, the room was FAR from that. We are experienced travelers and have NEVER been emailed such a rude letter or have left any room "filthy". Nor has ANY owner complained about the state of a room after we left. Needless to say, "any future reservations will be rejected". We replied to the email to defend ourselves and the owners sent ANOTHER nasty letter with RIDICULOUS excuses and accusations, such as leaving "what looks to be fecal matter on the towels"!!!! REALLY?!!! WOW, these are owners of a professional business?!I had to reply and tell them to stop sending me emails. They obviously have some issues. I have never dealt with anything like this from a business owner, so I felt compelled to write this review. Believe me, we will happily not go back. Not just because of the letters, but the place is old, rundown, and shabby. Not worth the money. The only good thing about it is the location. That's it's saving grace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecentralhouse_955, Manager at The Central House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This guest was fortunate that we did not assess damage fees for the state they left our room in. Some of our furniture is antique and most people use the provided coasters to prevent water damage to the beautiful finishes but not these folks. We had to dispose of some of the towels and linens which they had thoughtfully already placed in the trash can.

The comment that the shower has low pressure is possibly correct. I tested it several times after this comment and it always worked fine but when 14 showers are all going at once in the morning there might be some loss in pressure. I had the plumbers look at it and the valve is fine. They said that unfortunately the water pressure is out of our hands as the town of Bar Harbor regulates the flow to every business and residence and there is nothing to be done on our end.

The water mentioned was just tap water and ice in a glass dispenser that we changed every day and it is NOT pond water - it's LAKE water from our Bar Harbor reservoir Eagle Lake. Since the comment we realized that people mistook it for spring water and we stopped offering it because every room has its own water and we provide cups.

To reference the resourcefulness of the commenter, our coffee area is on the sun porch and has three doors to it. The two inside doors are never locked and the only locks on them are on the INSIDE. The exterior door to the coffee area/sun porch is locked at night and all guests have keys to it.

The old bathroom floors ARE old and it looks like they are all getting new surfaces after we close for the season and can tear them up. In the meantime, we apologize for the scuffed up vinyl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Years ago, my husband and I discovered the Central House and we've been coming back every year since. The innkeepers have changed over time, but the experience has remained the same--warm, friendly and very accommodating.

It's location is just perfect. You can walk to everything in Bar Harbor, including the Island Explorer Bus into Acadia National Park. There are so many great restaurants in the immediate area, and many more if you wander around town a bit.

Some reviewers mentioned the lack of breakfast at the Central House: I think the value you get in a great, clean, charming and centrally located inn for the very reasonable rates easily justifies the opportunity to visit one of the many lovely breakfast spots around town. The Cottage Street Bakery is right across the street and there are a number of other terrific places that you can find along a with a little morning walk (Cafe This Way, Jeannie's, Morning Glory).

The rooms are comfortable, clean and well-maintained--it's not fancy, but rather a quaint and charming old New England inn--what you'd expect in a 100+ year old home. There are a couple of nice sitting areas and a big porch that are great for down-time.

Over the years, we have been there as a couple, and with a baby and growing boy. Our now 10-year old son looks forward to going back every year too--He calls it his house in Bar Harbor. :) I highly recommend the Central House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Central House for July 4th weekend. It was right in the center of downtown, within walking distance to the pier, restaurants, etc. We were very pleased with our stay. We received Geddes gift certificates and used it for lunch. The lobster plate was great! Blueberry pie ala mode was delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Bar Harbor and would not hesitate to stay again at the Central House.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This place is great for what it is. We stayed here after 2 days of camping, and we were quite happy. We wanted something not too expensive, close to everything, and to support a local business. It satisfied all those quite well. The room was nothing special, but was big enough, clean, comfortable bed (and a nice view from the 3rd floor). Jerry was very nice and professional and even made some good recommendations for where to catch some local, live music. It's a super close walk to everything and they have free parking. They are not a B&B, so no breakfast, but I would highly, highly recommend you go to Two Cats a few blocks away for a memorable breakfast. Oh, they do give you a $10 certificate to Geddy's but we didn't go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights in July. This was my favorite out of all of the hotels / B&Bs we stayed in during a 10 day trip. The location is perfect, as you can leave the car in their parking lot and walk all around town to sights, restaurants and bars. There is free tea & coffee all day long & some ice to cool down drinks in your room. They don't serve breakfast, but instead give a gift card to a local restaurant (which can be used at any time the restaurant is open), which I really appreciated. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated to fit the style. (I also enjoyed peeking into the vacant rooms where the doors are open, as each is different). It's a great place to relax & feel like you are on vacation. The house is very spacious, so if you don't feel like spending time in your room or out on the town, you can relax in one of the great rooms or on the porch.

I definitely recommend the Central House for: cleanliness, location, price, charm, atmosphere

Downsides: can't think of any!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Everything was great - our room (on the third floor), bed, bathroom, location, morning coffee (excellent) and the gift card to a local restaurant (food was wicked good and excellent variety). We plan to return and stay longer. The Central House was a great find. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Not worth the $:
1. Coffee & tea served only in the morning. Day & evening: you only get water.
2. No breakfast is included! You get a 10$ card per night to spend at a local pub for lunch or dinner (food is not great).
3. Rooms are outdated and bathrooms need some upgrades.
4. Avoid room 206 (our room): dingy and dark.
B&B manager is nice and friendly, but that isn`t enought to justify the big flaws listed above.
Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecentralhouse_955, Manager at The Central House, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We appreciate all feedback, especially when it gives us an opportunity to make improvements in our business and facility. After this comment was made about poor light conditions in Room 206 during dark, rainy days, I replaced the old ceiling fan with a new fan/light combination. There are now four additional lightbulbs shining from the ceiling of Room 206 for a brighter, more cheery experience. Thank you for helping us make The Central House even better!

See the photo of Room 206 with its new fan/light in our Central House photos.

Happy trails,

Jerry
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Central House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central House

Address: 60 Cottage Street, PO Box 955, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Central House was built as a guest house in 1887. Tourism was just getting started in Bar Harbor. Much has changed since then and The Central House is now right down the street from many Bar Harbor shops, tours, restaurants, and the Island Explorer shuttle bus to Acadia National Park and Sand Beach. We offer Maine-roasted coffee and a selection of teas at 8 o'clock every morning. While we do not serve food, we provide a $10.00 gift card per room per day to lunch and dinner favorite Geddy's Restaurant facing the harbor. Our living room, front porch, and coffee area provide comfortable places to sit and enjoy your own food and drink and wireless internet is complementary throughout the house. Our rooms are simple and cozy with A/C, cable TV, and private bathrooms. Each room is uniquely furnished and decorated and many returning guests reserve their favorite rooms year after year. Rooms have a queen-sized bed, except Room 206 with a king-sized bed, and Room 204 has an extra twin-sized bed in addition to the four-posted queen to comfortably sleep three. We have been told by many guests that they find The Central House is a great value for the charm and ideal location. We hope to hear from you this season! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Bar Harbor
The Central House Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Central House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.