We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKay's Public House

McKay's Public House
231 Main St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1744
207-288-2002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Arlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stopped by here our first night in town and it was a good choice. The ambiance, in and outside, is really nice and the food selection offered different choices. The seafood risotto was yummy and the lamb burger was good. The service was lacking a bit due to our waitress being back after a long time out but it is worth a visit while in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    164
    72
    48
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed after reading these reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We went to McKay's on a rainy night in Bar Harbor for dinner looking forward to a great experience based on the reviews. We had very good, prompt service, but the food for us was just average. The beers weren't very cold, the pretzel appetizer's seemed undercooked (white pretzels!) with skimpy amounts of cheese sauce. Clam chowder was very good. We had a variety of dinners but overall everything was just average. Atmosphere was very nice - charming old house converted to restaurant, but tables were uneven tables for two shoved together - no character there. For the price it was still a good average meal, but disappointing overall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great pub with a beautiful setting!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

When in Bar Harbor we always stop by McKays! They have a great bar with wonderful local beers and Chris who tends the bar has a passion and is a wealth of knowledge about home brewing!
We also enjoy sitting outside in their garden, lit with soft string lights, having dinner on a beautiful evening and listening to Bob, a very talented musician.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“OMG !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We rented a house last October and eventually had eight of us on the West side of Mt. Desert Island and tried McKays for a random dinner and had to go back the next night! Now the two of us are here for my 65th. celebration vaca trip. We had to, of course , go back to McKays...I had the slow cooked pork short rib and my wife had the special... a fall off the bone lamb shank. I tasted my dinner and knew I SO chose wisely, ...until I tried the lamb! Wow, both of our dinners were fantastic, and it renewed our conviction of last October that McKays is the place to visit when in Bar Harbor.The musician on the patio was just a plus!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We decided to sit outside, the weather was just right. We were 4 grownups and two kids. Serena our waitress was extremely friendly and patient with the two kids. Together with another waitress they promised the kids a free Sundae, the atmosphere was just great. The food in general was good not outstanding. The chowder, crab cakes and duck rolls were good, the lobster mac&cheese was disappointing, so was the shepherd's pie. The total for all six of us was 140 dollars.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKay's Public House also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to McKay's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKay's Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.