We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an overall good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKay's Public House

McKay's Public House
231 Main St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1744
207-288-2002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 105 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Kennebunkport, Maine
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“an overall good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

we found McKay's to be very well done- decor wise. My husband and I both chose the duck meatloaf wrapped in prosciutto, i think. It was very tasty. We both enjoyed it, plus mashed potatoes and veg. For dessert we split a sundae (which was good-sized with jack daniels ice cream, brownie, choc. syrup, and candied hazlenuts. I'm not a huge ice cream fan but it was very good. The server was friendly enough. the only negative was that it took a long time to get our entree

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    167
    73
    48
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love food done well, but we weren't terribly hungry the evening we visited McKay's. The restaurant okayed our sharing a very nice filet and salad. The dinner salads are inventive and delicious, and the wine choices are reasonably priced. The restaurant has a lovely outdoors eating area, too. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, CT
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Cut above most Bar Harbor restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

McKay's is consistently very good. The ambience is pleasant--in an old house just a half block away from the crazy swarms of downtown Bar Harbor. The service is always great. For appetizers we've had the spinach and artichoke dip which is very good. For main courses, the shepherd's pie is great--they use ground lamb for the meat which is a pleasant twist. Seafood risotto was also very good (and huge). The sachetti pasta with porcini mushrooms and tart cherries is interesting but somehow didn't all come together quite well enough. The wine list is not huge but is good. If you want a 'non-touristy" meal in a pleasant atmosphere with well-prepared, often locally-sourced foods, you will have a very good time at McKay's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Chic and Fun Place to Dine ~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

McKay's had been recommended to us by a bartender at the "Side Street Cafe", so we thought we would take a chance on a new place to eat. It more than met all of our expectations of a unique menu, that was reasonably prices and had a variety of dishes to eat. The service was wonderful and the atmosphere was on the upscale side but not over the top. It had a lively and energetic mood coupled with a beautiful interior. They served both pub and regular specials and entrees. The desserts looked very yummy as well. There are plenty of places to eat in Bar Harbor, so put this on your list because it is well worth your time, money and experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Why I will always support McKay's (and hope you will too)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I don't live in Bar Harbor, but I work there on season at a hotel in the neighborhood. I went in one day after a shift for a beer. The staff was very friendly to customers from near and far as well as myself. When they realized I worked at a nearby hotel, the manager gave me a gift certificate and invited me to bring in my family so I could try out the food (and spread the word to our hotel guests). I would get orders to go from work from time to time and it was incredibly fresh and delicious food using local produce as much as possible.
I didn't make it in for awhile, and over the course of the off season my wife became very ill, and seemingly near death. It took her months to recover, finally over a long period of time she felt well enough to go out for our anniversary. I still had the gift certificate, so we decided to go there. We had a very nice dinner and it was the first time we could go out like this in a long time. I had feared months before this that we would never be able to do these things together again.
When the bill came to the table, the owner saw me pull out the gift certificate and he jumped over to our table and told us that our dinner, drinks, dessert, etc was on the house. I hadn't been there for over a year at that point, and certainly he didn't know the back story of what we had been through that year. His kindness and generosity made a great night even better. A great restaurant with great people, where everyone feels welcomed! Thanks from the bottom of my heart!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKay's Public House also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to McKay's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKay's Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.