We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McKay's Public House

McKay's Public House
231 Main St, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1744
207-288-2002
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #33 of 116 restaurants in Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

this is nice place to eat and have a nice drink. it a nice place to bring you date or wife or both to have a reeally nice meal and not be in a hurry

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    217
    119
    50
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Where were the clams?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I ate here for dinner. We ordered clam chowder and there were no clams and found one chunk of potato in the chowder. I believe the got the left over from the bottom of the pot. They should have just said we are out. We ordered crab cakes, the seafood risotto and fish and chips. Overcooked and bland. We did arrive after eight p.m. and I am just hoping it was a bad night. This was the first week of June and they were not that busy. Nevertheless it was a pricey meal for the quality of food. We did complain and were ignored by the server and management. I do not recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here for the past three years when we come to Bar Harbor for the Mt Desert Island Marathon and have not had a anything but a good experience. Would recommend it to others.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great setting, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had the lobster mac and cheese, which was excellent. The ambiance was terrific, with great outdoor and indoor seating perfect for a late summer night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, ME
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Definitely worthy of a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

With only a few restaurants open in the winter in Bar Harbor, you have to give credit to any of them that persevere. McKay's does more than persevere. The menu offers lots of choice, the price range is good, the food was very good, and the service was excellent.

They had a fire pit going outside at the front of the restaurant in the snow, which added to a very lovely atmosphere. The pub has several rooms which gives some intimacy and privacy. The menu had plenty of options. Although on the night we were there one dinner and one dessert were not available and we were not told until we had ordered them. Very good food, reasonable prices and a lovely dinner out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKay's Public House also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to McKay's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKay's Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.