We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Campground!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Campground
409 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
New Brunswick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Campground!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was our 4th time staying at the Bar Harbor Campground over the last 10 years. It is very conveniently located and has a bus stop right at the campground if you prefer to ride the buses to different locations on the island versus taking your vehicle. Bar Harbor is only minutes away. The campground is clean, quiet, and well designed. Quiet hours are strictly enforced which is nice. The WIFI is good but your best reception is up near the main gate. The washroom facilities are clean and the showers are great. 25 cents gets you 5 minutes of hot water. They actually sell hardwood for firewood instead of that cheap smokey slab wood that you get at other campgrounds. There is a convenience store and restaurant on the main road and a short walk from the campground. The convenience store sells Green Mountain take out coffee in the morning for early risers. The campground is very family oriented, but people of all ages stay there. The sites are first come first serve, but we had no difficulty finding a suitable site. I was surprised that they do not take credit cards but there is an ATM in the office where you register. They have a special promotion that if you stay 6 nights, the 7th night is free. A tent site, with no services, I believe was approximately $30. The staff were very helpful and friendly. This is a very nice campground and we will definitely be returning next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
globetrottersolo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I've stayed here 3 different times. On my first visit I was a little surprised that its cash only but they have have a cash machine right there for your use. This is a great place! The bathrooms are clean. The staff is extremely friendly. The location can't be beat. You can park your car and never use it again for the rest of the trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband's family goes camping for a week each summer. This year's destination - Bar Harbor. The Bar Harbor Campground was recommended by one of the family members - but they will never recommend it again. This campground does not take reservations - so when we started planning our trip, I called to ask how it worked and if they ever had to turn anyone away. The said there was always availability - we didn't realize they meant you might have to put an RV in a primitive site. At no point was the fact that they do NOT take credit cards mentioned. Imagine our suprise and dismay as our families piled in their office and saw the large sign stating NO CREDIT CARDS. There is a conveniently located ATM in the office though. Wonder what they get for a fee for that? Anyway...we then made the mad scramble to find sites somewhat close to each other. We managed to find 2 tent sites in the woods for those of us that tent. we found 2 full hook ups for our campers with RVs, but we needed 3. In the end, some very nice guests let us know they were leaving the next day and 2 of our RV campers moved into their spots - so our RVs were all together. We also discovered after arrival, that they have a "stay 6 nights, get the 7th night free" offer. That was not on their website or mentioned in the phone calls. Strange that they don't want to promote something positive like that. The bathrooms are clean - for the first few hours after they clean them (which is only once a day). After that..it ain't so pretty. The ladies room ran out of toilet paper and paper towels at least 2 of the days we were there. At least 3 of the mornings we waited for 15 to 45 minutes to take a shower. Quiet time was from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. But one of our family members was asked to turn down their radio (they were listening to a Boston Red Sox game) at 7:30 p.m. It wasn't loud. We turned it off completely. I guess they were Yankee fans. We tried to use the free bus service to go to downtown Bar Harbor - but that was a disaster. There were 12 of us that arrived at the bus stop. No one else was waiting, but seconds before the bus came, several other campers swoooped in, hopped on the bus before us and only half of our group could get on the bus. The next bus was an hour later. When we asked the driver to ask the others to let us on first, she informed us we would have to settle it ourselves. Definitely not visitor friendly. Yes, they have paved roads within the campgrounds and a 10 mph speed limiti - but no one seems to abide by it, and you take your life in your hands when you step out onto the roads from bikers flying by and cars and campers scrambling for open sites. Would we hurry back to this campsite...I don't think so. Yes, they are relatively inexpensive compared to other campgrounds...but they offer nothing for activities and seem to thrive on rudeness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

Get up early one day to view the sunrise at the top of the hill if you don't get a site there. Pool nice. Bathhouses clean. Nice wooded lots. Location awesome. On the island explorer bus route.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We came upon this campground when we were unable to stay on the 2 main campgrounds in Acadia National Park and we were pleasantly surprised! Sites were well maintained, although some were on the smaller side. BE AWARE - they do not take reservations in advance, get there early to hand pick your own spot. Despite being a large campground with many sites, it was very quiet. Bathrooms were clean, and coin showers were hot. There is also a beautiful view from the pool. We stayed in the wooded lot sites - the shade provided much relief from the sun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

In crossing the US by bicycle I have slept in many many camp grounds and so would consider myself reasonable literate in what counts or the seasoned traveller and what doesn't.

The Bar Harbour Campground is excellent on many levels. First off, reception is excellent, via phone and by visit. The office is clean and pleasant and business like with friendly staff too. They did not accept plastic, but there was an ATM in the office so no real problem there - one mark off for not accepting plastic in the US.

The site itself, for a 2 man tent and bicycle was perfect. There was a choice of locations for a very modest fee and I went for a spot neat the bathrooms. Full marks.

The wash rooms (mens) were spotlessly clean and very hygienic throughout, both lavatories, sinks and showers. The floors are resin coated and also very clean - no grime. The showers used a 25 cent coin op to run for 5 minutes and the water pressure was exceptional. The hot water was very very hot and fully adjustable - no shortage here. In short, excellent. I will deduct one mark for coin op showers instead of timer operated showers here - shame really as the toilets and shower configuration were exemplary.

There are proper washing up sinks for cutlery and the like and a trash unit nearby for refuse. The noise levels are quiet and all in all it is a very very high standard site.

I did switch on my laptop to see if there was wifi at the tent (like there would be - ever!!) and I nearly collapsed when I saw there was, which makes this site practically unique amongst American sites.

In short, an excellent short or long term stopover, very highly recommended because all the basic details are there - hygiene, cleanliness, site quality, staffing, and wifi - the basics done very well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Cash only! Posted only when you get there. No mention of it on the web site, Camp brochure or in Phone conversations. Quite a shock upon arrival. My first question of "You don't take credit cards?" was greeted with, "If you don't like it there are other campsites in the area that will". It was late and we didn't have the option. I never mentioned it again yet this extremely rude older woman was brusk through the rest of the transaction. She was very loud and abusive and repeated the same quote 2 more times. We stayed, determined not to have our 1st experience to Maine be a bad one. I was concerned for my family the entire stay and did not tell management until we left. No compensation was made for our embarressment. Management stands behind this behavior. Do not go to this campsite.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar Harbor Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Campground

Address: 409 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Campground Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Campground Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Campground to your Saves list