We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View of the Sunset from our Oceanside Tent Site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Campground KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Campground KOA
136 County Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Delmar, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best View of the Sunset from our Oceanside Tent Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently stayed here as a little romantic getaway on a budget. Stayed Wednesday through Sunday at site 307, which we both believed was the best site for the money. It's a private little corner of the grounds right on the water with the best views and you can walkout onto the rocks and sip your coffee in the morning. It was a little cold with the breeze off the water in early June, but your rates are discounted when off-season and with a sweatshirt and a blanket, we were able to keep warm by the fire as we watched the sun set every night. Just the best. We had a very nice stay! Bathrooms were pretty close and clean. Staff was friendly. Great location!

Room Tip: Get one on the water! You won't be sorry. Site 307 was great, but you did hear road noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The views, the grounds, the staff...AMAZING

My family had a rough couple of months and I wanted to take them somewhere that stress could roll right off and let them all breathe fresh air again. I think it took all of 15 minutes and my Husband and teenage boys were smiling.
We stayed at the KOA Bar Harbor in a cabin overlooking the water.
The front desk attendants were friendly and helpful. Everything we needed or asked about they had the answer. The main area of our cabin had a Full size bed, plus a set of bunks in another room separated by a sliding door. Off the main area was a screened in porch that you could see the beautiful sunrise or listen to the waves come in at night. There was also a full bathroom with flushing toilet.
The cabin was very clean and came with linens, a small office type fridge, a microwave and a small two person table. There is a 19” flat panel TV, which we never used. The views are more than enough to make you forget about TV. Outside the cabin were a full table and chairs, gas grill and a good sized fire pit.
Every night there is a gentleman that cooks fresh lobster right on the grounds. A full meal for 2 is about $22.00, this includes: lobster, corn, coleslaw and bread. The lobsters are on the larger side as well. If that was not enough certain mornings they have blueberry pancake breakfast. Large portions for $4.00 a person.
My family plans on going back for at least another 2 weeks soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at this campground because we wanted a good experience with our first trip to Maine and KOA is well known. While the staff were very accomodating and friendly the site that we paid $77 a night for was not as accomodating. The site was 109. While the site was big enough it sits lower than other sites so when it rains all the water accumulates at this site along with 108 and a little at 110. Of course it rained 1 day and that was Tuesday and we left on Thursday and the water was still there. Couldnt even get in the passenger side of the truck because of the huge amount of water. Now we made these reservations several months ago so I think I should have had a better site. These sites should be left for last minute reservations. Also, I know there is no cable but in these sites you get no reception at all. All other sites at least got a few channels. I am not a complainer so I dealt with it but just in case you plan to stay there try not to stay in these sites. Everything else was good at the campground.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have stayed here in the past and will be back again. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is tough to beat (right on the water). The tent sites are a bit close to one another but pretty typical. Our site this time was in the 420’s and cost just over $30. We stayed in site 405 previously and I maintain that unless we got 405 I don’t think I would pay the extra for their deluxe sites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here in July 2011 for 3nts.

PROS: Our tent campsite had electricity, water and a cooking shelter with light which made things easier than normal tent camping. The sites were big and wooded with gravel pads to pitch your tent. Staff was generally friendly and shower and bathroom facilities were very clean.

CONS: Kinda pricey for what you get. Other than pool, there's not much going on compared to other KOA's we've stayed at and certainly less attractive than the Oceanside campground that is right on the water and a couple of miles up the road. We stayed on a Saturday night where it was quite loud all night from all of the campers and trailers coming and going on gravel rock. Camp store left a lot to be desired and activities facilities were outdated and run down (including pool table, playgrounds, etc). Pool was nice but the heater malfunctioned so it was quite cold (even in July).

Room Tip: For tent campers, ask for site away from path of campers coming in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed in the Woodlands side of the campground with 3 other families. The site we were in (508) was very tight, but the other three sights our group had were larger. In general all the sights were in the smaller side but had decent tree cover. There were many tent campers and most if the tent sites seemed nice. Bathrooms were clean but the complaint from some in our group was that there were no shelves or benches in the showers to hold "stuff". Our group also felt that there weren't enough facilities for the size of the campground. Staff was helpful and they had the typical KOA activities for the kids. Did hear from some in our group that the person in charge of some of the activites was a little cranky. Wifi and pool heater were not working during our stay. Honestly, though, we all primarily used the campground as a place to sleep as we spent most of our time in Acadia or Bar Harbor. We did check out the ocean side section of the KOA. Sites seemed pretty close together and many were in the open. Overall this good place to stay and use as base to explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Although this campground is very clean and cute, our reservation was completely screwed up. We reserved two cabins side by side, we were also told which canins we were reserved for, to look at the campground map, and how we would really like the cabins because they were off by themselves, but when we got here they were not side by side, customer service was sweet but with a sorry we just can't help you.

Then when we were told about a tee shirt tie die activity starting "from" 230 pm. The kids got all excited, we all talked about which colors we were going to get while we unpacked but when we showed up at 345, we were told sorry its over it was at 330. We said we just
checkednin and the sign says from 230 they simply said well it ended at 330. Of course there was no notice of it ending at 330 itmjustmsaid "from 230". So we just walked away once again disappointed. we have 3 more nights here. . . Hopefully they will not be as disappointing as them first two hours here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Campground KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Campground KOA

Address: 136 County Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Campground Koa Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Campground KOA Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Campground KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.