We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Help with priorities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Save
You added Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites to your Saves list
144 Old Bar Harbor Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Globe, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Help with priorities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our time in Bar Harbor was very limited but the staff was helpful in helping us decide how best to spend our that time. The cottage was a clean, restful, comfortable place to take a break from sightseeing. We would love to return when we have more time to spend in the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased you found the cottage clean, comfortable and a restful retreat after a day of sightseeing. Our Resident Manager, Laura, enjoyed assisting you with finding great things to see and do during your limited time in the area We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed in a cottage here recently. It seemed nice for the most part, but the sheets looked like they weren't cleaned since the previous guest was there, so that was a bit of a concern. It was also a bit cold (even after we got the heater going). Other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor and for sharing your concerns. We have a reputation for being clean, clean, clean, so it is troubling to hear that you felt the sheets in your cottage were not. We have highly trained staff who take pride in their work and always, always change the linens after every guest check out. We don't know what would have given you the impression that the sheets were not changed, but please know that they were. We wish we could have had the opportunity to address your concerns while you were still with us because your satisfaction is our number one priority. Also, we always have extra space heaters available to guests, so had we known you were a bit cold, we could have provided you one. Hopefully, the next time you visit Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, you will give us the opportunity to make your next stay a more memorable and enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Bar Harbor Cottages & Suites was an excellent option for my recent trip to Maine! Four of us stayed in a one bedroom (two beds) cottage. The cottage was small, but offered just what we needed since we spent minimal time inside. We loved eating out on the picnic table and relaxing on the screened-in porch. The cottage was clean and had all necessary amenities for cooking and eating. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They have a barn with extra towels, bedding, and anything you may need -- guests are encouraged to visit the barn to take whatever they may need. We even received a call when we left one day early to make sure everything was alright -- absolutely wonderful service!

The cottages are in an absolutely beautiful area, right down the street from the MDI Bio Lab, and across the street from the beach. It was about a ten-15 minute drive to downtown Bar Harbor and only 5-10 minutes to Acadia National Park.

We had an absolutely perfect stay! Thank you BH Cottages and Suites!

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottages are worth the small extra fee! One bedroom for four people was tight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that your group had an "absolutely perfect stay" with us. We're so pleased you found your cottage clean, well appointed and had everything you needed for your stay-- including a screened porch and a picnic table for enjoying your meals outside in our beautiful setting. And thank you for the compliments you paid Laura, our Resident Manager, for her excellent service and friendly demeanor. We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownsville, maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband and son were skeptical at first look and the sink was the tiniest we've seen but we so enjoyed the Bar Harbor Lobster pound-closest on the main road toward the village of Bar Harbor and we were so close to Acadia-very handy! The beds were very comfortable and we were in #3 and I loved the little screened in porch. We would certainly stay here again. They are so well kept!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and the 5 star rating! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient to the national park and the cottage well kept, the beds comfortable, and the screened porch a nice feature. We hope you will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed three nights in a small cottage for two. Bathroom is very small, but functional. Kitchen has everything you need to cook, cool, eat and drink. Bed was acceptable. Location was okay, several miles out Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park; away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to not feel inconvenienced. Laura, the on-site manager, was wonderful. She welcomed us with a smile, answered all our questions, gave us her opinions of attractions and trails. She was not in a hurry to get us out the door. Thanks Laura!! There is a barn/shed that has a variety of supplies that you may need and you are allowed to help yourself. For example, there was some charcoal and lighter that was left by a previous tenant and we were instructed to help ourselves. Need an extra towel, it's there. The cottages also have screen porches, which are a great feature. They are they only cottages we saw with screen porches. There is plenty of yard for kids, and adults, to play games or Frisbee. For us, that was a big plus so the kids could run around at the end of a busy day. Don't expect fancy. Clean accommadations at a reasonable price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and that you would do it again. We are so pleased that Laura, our Resident Manager, made you feel welcomed and unhurried as she shared all the great things our area has to offer It's great to hear that you found the cottage clean, conveniently located and that it had everything you needed-- including a yard for the kids to play and a screened porch to relax on. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A nice place to stay in Bar Harbor, away from the crowds of Bar Harbor town and parking nightmares. The cottages are small - especially the shower has very less room, but clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased you found our staff friendly and the cottage a clean, cozy and well maintained retreat from the crowds. We hope that if you return to Bar Harbor, you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Cute little cottages! We stayed 4 nights and had a great experience. As other reviews have said, Laura was wonderful and provided a lot of insight about things to see and do. Location is a quick 5 minute drive from the Acadia Visitor's Center and 10 minutes from the town of Bar Harbor. With 2 bedrooms plus sleeper sofa and a small kitchen, this was a good value for family travel (in lieu of getting 2 hotel rooms, which we generally have to do). If your prefenece is staying at the Ritz-Carlton, this is not your place - but if you like getting away and having your own little private cabin/cottage, you'll be happy and feel like a welcome guest staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you felt at home and welcomed by Laura and that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct that we are not the Ritz-Carlton, but we do our best to provide guests a clean and comfortable experience and a place you can call your own. It's great to hear you found our location convenient to the national park and downtown Bar Harbor and a good value for your large family. We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.