We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, cozy, and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites to your Saves list
144 Old Bar Harbor Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice, cozy, and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A nice place to stay in Bar Harbor, away from the crowds of Bar Harbor town and parking nightmares. The cottages are small - especially the shower has very less room, but clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased you found our staff friendly and the cottage a clean, cozy and well maintained retreat from the crowds. We hope that if you return to Bar Harbor, you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Cute little cottages! We stayed 4 nights and had a great experience. As other reviews have said, Laura was wonderful and provided a lot of insight about things to see and do. Location is a quick 5 minute drive from the Acadia Visitor's Center and 10 minutes from the town of Bar Harbor. With 2 bedrooms plus sleeper sofa and a small kitchen, this was a good value for family travel (in lieu of getting 2 hotel rooms, which we generally have to do). If your prefenece is staying at the Ritz-Carlton, this is not your place - but if you like getting away and having your own little private cabin/cottage, you'll be happy and feel like a welcome guest staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you felt at home and welcomed by Laura and that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct that we are not the Ritz-Carlton, but we do our best to provide guests a clean and comfortable experience and a place you can call your own. It's great to hear you found our location convenient to the national park and downtown Bar Harbor and a good value for your large family. We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed in a two bedroom cottage last week. The staff was wonderful with Laura, the manager, coming out to our cottage after we checked in to make sure we had everything we needed. The cottage was very quaint and clean. However, the old polyester sheets that did not fit right on the bed, the old saggy mattresses, and the very sad towels made our stay in the Bar Harbor Cottages less than ideal. The location is good because you can get in and out of Bar Harbor pretty easily. I would just hope that the management invests in better bedding.

Room Tip: The cottages toward the back of the property look quiet but there is a highway behind the trees that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites. We appreciate hearing your praise and concerns. We have been in the business for nearly 30 years and guest satisfaction is a top priority. We always encourage our guests to communicate with us during their visit so that we can make every effort to maximize their enjoyment and experience while they are staying with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, property, and that you highly praise Laura and our staff, as well as the decor and cleanliness of the cottage.

We're sorry to hear that you didn't find the mattress comfortable. We use good quality mattresses, fairly recently purchased, and we inspect and rotate them on a regular basis, and replace when necessary. However, we are aware that sleep is a very individual experience and people require different levels of firmness on their beds.

It is our policy to set up the cottages for arrival with first quality towels. Guests may choose to keep those towels throughout their stay, or switch them on subsequent days in our supply barn which is open daily. Although the restock towels in the supply barn are clean and in good shape, they are not our new setups used in the cottage for day of arrival.

Thanks for mentioning the ill-fitting sheets, which should not have been used in your cottage. Each season I purchase good quality, high thread count first name brand linens. I have spoken to the housekeepers to determine how they got into the rotation on your date of arrival and have taken steps to prevent that from reoccurring. Once again, we appreciate the opportunity to address your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very, very nice 4 day stay in a lovely white cottage. Cottage was quite well maintained, simply appointed, very clean with our own designated parking spot right next to the cottage. Laura, the on-site inn keeper, was absolutely terrific. Very customer oriented and extremely helpful in planning a couple of our days. Cannot recommend Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites highly enough. Excellent accommodations for a very friendly price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so very much for your extremely complimentary review of Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for recommending us so highly. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your cottage clean, well maintained and well appointed. Thank you for your compliments of our Resident Manager, Laura. She enjoys helping guests make the most of their visits to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor and very much enjoyed meeting you. We hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

When we arrived at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, it turned out there was a mistake with our reservation (completely my mistake), but the manager called the owner and came up with a solution my family and I were completely happy with- they were extremely accommodating, and we very much appreciated that. We loved the location and proximity to Acadia National Park. The cottages were clean, comfortable, peaceful at night and had everything we needed during our stay (we ended up staying in two cottages). I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Cottage 1 is worth the extra money especially if you're a party of more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for highly recommending Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our cottages clean, comfortable and a peaceful place to relax in the evenings. We try very hard to accommodate our guests when surprises arise and we're glad to hear you were pleased with the service. We hope that the next time you visit our area, you will choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is was the perfect little cozy cottage for our 3 day stay. We were interested in hiking and eating and Kathy and Laura had great recommendations for us. Laura was really helpful in helping us decide which hikes to do. It's really close to the entrance of Acadia and only minutes from downtown Bar Harbor so the location was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you had a great experience while staying with us and found our cottages cozy and the location perfect. Our Resident Manager, Laura, is always happy to help guests find great things to do and see in Acadia National Park and around Mt. Desert Island and really enjoyed hosting you. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family of 3 stayed here mid-June and had a very nice stay. Yes, the cottages are small, but that's what you should expect on this type of property. Having said that, the cabin was nicely decorated, and had everything you'd need to make breakfast and a quick meal here or there. We were very comfortable. We enjoyed our breakfasts outside at the picnic table with a little view of the water.
It is close to the Hulls Cove Acadia Visitor's Center and is a good home-base for exploring Bar Harbor and Acadia.
The only downside to this property is that it is not on the water itself.

Room Tip: Cottages 1 & 2 are closer to the water and further away from busy route 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor and for giving us 5 stars. We are so pleased that your family was comfortable in your cottage and you felt it was well decorated, conveniently located to the National Park and had everything you needed. We hope that if you return to our area you will choose to stay with us again for more outdoor breakfasts on your picnic table!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.