We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robbins Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Robbins Motel to your Saves list
Robbins Motel
396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I subscribe what most of the people have said. This is a great deal for those looking for a clean and comfortable place to sleep. Although the room was close to the main road, we barely hear the traffic noise. I totally recommend this place. For sure, if I'm lucky enough to be back in Maine I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    71
    34
    13
    4
See reviews for
22
109
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked in advance, and it was the cheapest choice we found. Small, basic room and bathroom, but very clean and the daily service was thorough. There's no phone, no breakfast and no fridge, so you have to plan for that elsewhere, but that shouldn't be a reason not to stay there. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends!

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi was very poor on room 6, had to go to the car or stay by the open door. Maybe closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This motel is for people who want to spend their money on activities other than a room to sleep in. The October cost was $45/night, which is phenomenal. Well, for that price, you do not get luxury. The rooms are paneled in rather cheap wood and are very basic. However, our room was plenty spacious and exceptionally clean. The bed was comfortable. There were three chairs in the room, two small closets, two counters for the tv and to put your luggage on, etc. The bathroom was spotless; the shower worked well. What I want in a motel is a comfortable bed, cleanliness, and no bugs. I got all three here. Also, the hosts were very nice and accommodating. There was no coffee in the room, but they provided coffee in the office. Also, the wifi did not work on my iPad in the room, but it did work outside the room and in the office. I could sit in the car and use it. For a place to sleep and bathe on Mt. Desert Island, this was definitely adequate, near enough to Bar Harbor, quite pleasant, and lots better than camping! And we had money left over to have nice meals out every day and still spend about what you would usually spend on only the motel. Thank you to the owners of this motel for providing this place on MDI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I can't add much of anything to what has already been written. Price was $45. Room was tiny and spotlessly clean. Front desk was friendly and polite.
Was it luxurious? No.
Was breakfast served? No.
I had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked 2/3 weeks in advance and was told only rooms at the front were available - close to the road. It was fairly loud during the day and in the morning, but you could get a decent night's sleep. Rooms are incredibly basic, but very clean and with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Free wi-fi and good service from the owners. The price is unreal, incredibly cheap, especially for the area. I would probably have given it 5 stars if I had not had a room at the front, so do check when booking. The owners were perfectly honest and clear about the potential noise problem, so this is in no way a complaint, just advice for future travellers :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Trevorton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We got there and it was booked full, owner was very helpful, helped us find other places to stay near by. We appreciated this level of service and can see why they are so successful. Traveling in the northeast, food, lodge gas ect is very expensive and it was nice to see a place focussed on value !!!

Room Tip: Didnt get to stay - cant say much about the rooms but service and attitude was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Bar Harbor region. The Robbins Motel is a great value for this area in the high season. The rooms are small and lack most of the basic things you find in most hotels, but the service is extra great and Jack and Linda, the owners, are just terrific in making your stay there very nice.
The motel is about 10 minutes from Bar Harbor and 5 minutes from Acadia National Park. There is a public bus right across the street that will take you into Bar Harbor if you don't want the hassle to drive there and search for parking.
For the money this was a great value for us. Extra clean and a place to sleep while exploring this fantastic region of Maine.

Room Tip: Mini golf for the kids is right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Robbins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbins Motel

Address: 396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Harbor no frills option. We offer clean, comfortable rooms with today's conveniences at nostalgic prices. All rooms have one queen bed, cable TV, AC, WIFI. All rooms are non-smoking. Owned and operated by the same family for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Robbins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robbins Hotel Bar Harbor
Robbins Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robbins Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.