We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, basic, clean, cheap & nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robbins Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Robbins Motel to your Saves list
Robbins Motel
396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Small, basic, clean, cheap & nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked in advance, and it was the cheapest choice we found. Small, basic room and bathroom, but very clean and the daily service was thorough. There's no phone, no breakfast and no fridge, so you have to plan for that elsewhere, but that shouldn't be a reason not to stay there. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends!

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi was very poor on room 6, had to go to the car or stay by the open door. Maybe closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
22
116
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This motel is for people who want to spend their money on activities other than a room to sleep in. The October cost was $45/night, which is phenomenal. Well, for that price, you do not get luxury. The rooms are paneled in rather cheap wood and are very basic. However, our room was plenty spacious and exceptionally clean. The bed was comfortable. There were three chairs in the room, two small closets, two counters for the tv and to put your luggage on, etc. The bathroom was spotless; the shower worked well. What I want in a motel is a comfortable bed, cleanliness, and no bugs. I got all three here. Also, the hosts were very nice and accommodating. There was no coffee in the room, but they provided coffee in the office. Also, the wifi did not work on my iPad in the room, but it did work outside the room and in the office. I could sit in the car and use it. For a place to sleep and bathe on Mt. Desert Island, this was definitely adequate, near enough to Bar Harbor, quite pleasant, and lots better than camping! And we had money left over to have nice meals out every day and still spend about what you would usually spend on only the motel. Thank you to the owners of this motel for providing this place on MDI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
131 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I can't add much of anything to what has already been written. Price was $45. Room was tiny and spotlessly clean. Front desk was friendly and polite.
Was it luxurious? No.
Was breakfast served? No.
I had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Booked 2/3 weeks in advance and was told only rooms at the front were available - close to the road. It was fairly loud during the day and in the morning, but you could get a decent night's sleep. Rooms are incredibly basic, but very clean and with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Free wi-fi and good service from the owners. The price is unreal, incredibly cheap, especially for the area. I would probably have given it 5 stars if I had not had a room at the front, so do check when booking. The owners were perfectly honest and clear about the potential noise problem, so this is in no way a complaint, just advice for future travellers :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Trevorton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We got there and it was booked full, owner was very helpful, helped us find other places to stay near by. We appreciated this level of service and can see why they are so successful. Traveling in the northeast, food, lodge gas ect is very expensive and it was nice to see a place focussed on value !!!

Room Tip: Didnt get to stay - cant say much about the rooms but service and attitude was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Bar Harbor region. The Robbins Motel is a great value for this area in the high season. The rooms are small and lack most of the basic things you find in most hotels, but the service is extra great and Jack and Linda, the owners, are just terrific in making your stay there very nice.
The motel is about 10 minutes from Bar Harbor and 5 minutes from Acadia National Park. There is a public bus right across the street that will take you into Bar Harbor if you don't want the hassle to drive there and search for parking.
For the money this was a great value for us. Extra clean and a place to sleep while exploring this fantastic region of Maine.

Room Tip: Mini golf for the kids is right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Robbins is a motel. This means you get a room in a 1 story building and you can park your car in front of it. Doesn't sound as much, but this hotel offers very good quality for a low price for the tourist packed Bar Harbor.

Pluses:
+ Very clean
+ Good facilities: TV (with good channels), WiFi, A/C, fridge, free parking, Adirondacks chairs outside
+ Good size rooms with wooden walls
+ Good location, peaceful, on the edge of the forest, 10 mins drive from the center of Bar Harbor
+ Friendly staff, very hospitable, quick to answer to questions and requests. Good room service for a motel.
+ Excellent value at around $62 per night

Cons:
- Noisy A/C

I say go for it if you are searching for a honest and good place to stay, even for more than few nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 42 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#18 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#28 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robbins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbins Motel

Address: 396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Harbor no frills option. We offer clean, comfortable rooms with today's conveniences at nostalgic prices. All rooms have one queen bed, cable TV, AC, WIFI. All rooms are non-smoking. Owned and operated by the same family for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Robbins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robbins Hotel Bar Harbor
Robbins Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robbins Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.