We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conversations. Spacious and Relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chiltern Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chiltern Inn to your Saves list
Chiltern Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   11 Cromwell Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Maine, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Culver City, CA
1 review
“Great Conversations. Spacious and Relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

First off, the Chiltern Inn is not really an inn in the usual sense. It is a bed and breakfast, in the classic sense because they only rent three rooms. But, oh what rooms they are!!
It gives a very exclusive feel, because the house is so expansive that there is a great sense of privacy. The owners greet you at the door, show you around the entire building (and there is a lot to show), and invite you to wine and cheese for conversations in front of the fireplace before we went out to dinner. At breakfast the next morning, the owner spreads a beautiful full meal, in three courses, on heirloom china. She is a gracious woman, a young retired superintendent of schools, who keeps this mansion spic and span. (She hires help, of course). She is a wealth of knowledge about what to see in Acadia National Park, the best places to dine, and the history of the village of Bar Harbor. She has maps to lend. Her son was the actual Phantom of the Opera on Broadway, and there are pictures and clippings to prove it in her theater room. Yes, there is a theater, with raised seating in recliners, a stage, and a projector for watching DVD's. There is also a beautiful indoor pool, spa, and sauna, with fireplace at the end of the pool. There is also a gallery of tastefully selected paintings around the grand piano.

The inn is magnificent, kind of like what a grand home should be, if we had the money to buy our dream home, but the conversations are what make it magical. The owner, Joan, makes everyone feel at home, then she encourages coversations, and before you know it you're like old friends with the other guests. Joan has a knack for getting people to talk about the interesting things they have done.

If you want to get lost in the crowd, go to a motel. If you want to feel connected, and have someone to talk to when you come back from a whale watch trip or a hike in the mountains, then I recommend the Chiltern Inn. It is great.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We booked our trip to Bar Harbor by going online and searching for B&B's and Inns that had accomodations that we were looking for and The Chiltern Inn certainly seemed to have them all. We like another reviewer found noone at the Inn when we got there to check in, but actually found another guest and they advised us to just find our room as they did and there was a note from the owners greeting us. We loved our room which was the "yellow" room and the Inn itself was very clean and comfortable. There were other guests that we really enjoyed talking too and the pool/spa area was fabulous after hiking all day. I have to say that I was very tired of potato every morning for breakfast and they need to change that up a bit, but everything else was wonderful. The Inn owners were very pleasant and helpful when we saw them and the staff was very nice. I think that this is not the place to stay if you require personal service all the time, but if you just want a great Inn that is clean and offers just about everything you could want, then this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

I can see why some people have written negative reviews about the Chiltern Inn, but I disagree. We arrived around 3:00 pm to find no one around. We rang the doorbell and called out for someone, no one came. We wandered around and found or room, door unlocked, with a note from the owners welcoming us. We later ran into the owner who apologized for not being there (she was at the store) to greet us personally.

The inn itself was beautiful. Not a speck of dust. Our room (the Marble Suite) was great and very relaxing. The common rooms of the inn very also very nice. The pool, spa, and sauna were great. We had it all to ourselves. There were others guests at the inn, but you would never know! The theather room was great too. So comfy and relaxing that I fell asleep halfway through our movie!

Besides breakfast time the staff was missing in action. Luckily we didn't need anything. The internet on the computer in the common room was broken, but besides that everything was great! Bar Harbor is a great little town, and the Chiltern Inn has a great location, a little ways from the busy downtown area.

Just like check-in, there was no check- out. We just left our keys on the mantle and walked out!

  • Liked — The relaxing quiet atmosphere.
  • Disliked — The broken internet.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

We reserved a room at this inn and made our other plans around that resevation. Hours after we made the reservation, that was guaranteed, we received a call that we need to add a day in order to keep the reservation. There was nothing on the website or from the clerk who took the reservation that told us we needed to book another night. I talked to the owner of the property to let her know of my displeasure yet she would not budge from the required second night even though I was guaranteed a reservation for one night. The arrogance and tone of her responses makes me believe that the other negative reviews found on this site are absolutely correct. These owners do not appear to be concerned with the customer, only with what is in the customer's pocket.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

Our four day holiday in Bar Harbor started off on a bad note. The hotel we originally chose turned out to be an Internet fairytale. It looked great online but was less then desirable once we actually saw the accommodations. Needless to say, we dropped off our luggage and started looking for a new location.

We found the Chiltern Inn while we were walking the streets of Bar Harbor, desperate to find somewhere nice, where we could relax and take in the beauty of the Bar Harbor and Arcadia - especially after a six hour car ride. We met with one of the employees – Chris, who showed us the Garden Apartment suite. We looked around the rooms and from what we could see; it looked like it would be a nice and peaceful location for us.

We checked in the next day, dropped our luggage off in the apartment and immediately went on a long, wonderful hike of Arcadia. We came back around dinner time, very tired but exhilarated from the beautiful views and fresh mountain/sea air.

We decided to relax for a while before dinner and watch some TV. We went to sit on the futon but it was really dirty. We ended up having to shake the whole thing outside. Next we went to watch the TV but the reception was so poor that no channels were coming in. I checked the cable and it turned out that it was not connected to the connector which screws into the back of the TV. We desperately wanted to check the weather for tomorrow as we wanted to do a long bike ride so we tried fixing it ourselves. However, we could only get in a few stations and not one of them was able to give us the local weather report.

Following this incident, I went to use the ½ bath, but as I closed the door, it jammed and I was basically locked in. My husband had to forcefully yank the door open. It’s a good thing he was there as I would have been stuck in that bathroom with no way to get out or call for help.

Exhausted and very annoyed at the television and bathroom incident, we decided to go to bed and try to forget. That wasn’t to be the case, as I turned the bed sheets down to discover the dry remnants of bugs in the bed. Needless to say, we didn’t sleep under the covers that night and instead slept on top of the comforter. It was naturally a very poor night’s sleep for me as I envisioned bugs crawling all over me as I lay in bed. But the nightmare didn’t end there. After we finally got to sleep in the early hours of the morning we were woken up by the dogs in the apartment next to ours barking.

Since we couldn’t get back to sleep we decided to get up and start our day, but much to our continuing bad luck, we looked out the window at pouring rain. Since this was suppose to have been an outdoors vacation, and we couldn’t imagine ourselves staying in this apartment all day long due to all of the problems, we decided to leave. My husband went to the main lobby of the inn to check us out. They pointed out that there is a 14 day cancellation policy so they would not refund any of the cost of the room rental for two days. This cancellation policy was not made known to either of us by Chris at the time we checked in. Further more, we have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts and Inns in our travels and the MOST we’ve encountered for a cancellation policy was 48 hours and even then, the owners were more then willing to try and get the accommodations booked by some other party.
We both feel that this room was not ready for its guests and that someone should have checked to make sure that the accommodations were clean and without any mechanical or technical problems before we were allowed to check in.

In complete dismay and disgust, we left Bar Harbor. The experience at the Chiltern Inn left us very tired, frustrated and in total distrust of establishments whose main focus is to welcome and take care of its guest while vacationing in the area.

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — my review says it all
  • Tips/Secrets — for walkin reservations make sure you really really look around a room before you say - I'll take it!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

The property is indeed one of the nicest B&B properties we've ever visited; however, it is marred by the management's disinterest in their guests. Only after we arrived did we discover that the innkeepers own several properties in Bar Harbor and that they would rarely if ever be present at the inn. It became evident very early in our stay that the owners look at keeping a B&B as a business and not as a calling/avocation. The few and rare interactions we had left us with the impression that our presence at the inn was an inconvenience to our innkeepers. We actually felt as if we were not welcome. Often when we asked for assistance we were told to find one of the employees in the inn. One breakfast we had to listen to the innkeeper berate her employee for not properly serving breakfast. When we discovered that water was pouring through the ceiling of our room into the shower from the room above excuses where made but nothing was done to fix the problem nor were we offered another room even though several were vacant. The touted wine and cheese was a small fliptop sandwich bag of cheese sliced in the morning and left out all day, a few old crackers (again left out in the morning). Overall this was the worst B&B we have ever experienced. Don't let the website fool you!!!

  • Liked — An amzing property with wonder facilities.
  • Disliked — Innkeeper/owner, lack of welcoming attentiveness we've come to expect at B&Bs
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiltern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Inn

Address: 11 Cromwell Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Maine, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiltern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chiltern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiltern Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiltern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.