We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby elegance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chiltern Inn

Save Saved
You added Chiltern Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chiltern Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   11 Cromwell Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Maine, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shabby elegance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a beautiful historic home this is. The odd thing is that in the lovely Victorian swimming room the fireplace and Jacuzzi did not work. It seemed to be a problem having a log for our fireplace...they were not well stocked. Our shower ceiling had a terrible leak from upstairs, and the ceiling was literally falling down except for plastic patch over part of it. The wallpaper was buckling and peeling.

The host is very friendly and well informed about the area. The breakfasts were OK.

There is a lovely sitting room and reading/game loft. Odd though, it took him awhile to get that fireplace working.

Room Tip: Up-stair rooms probably do not have the water damage the Rose room downstairs has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was a bit worried I had booked the Inn and then read the reviews. As many people have stated there were no staff to great us or check us out. We personally enjoyed this ...we were there to spend time as a couple not make small chat with inn keepers. When needed staff were available and cooked up a great breakfast each morning. It is a bit removed from the corp area but the walk was well worth the peace and quiet. We enjoyed the evening breezes through our bedrooms without having to hear the hussle and bustle of so many tourists. The rooms and furnishings were beautiful. My only complaint would be dust on the window sills, bed frames, doors, stairway all very dusty. We would love to return to Chiltern but would need to be assured rooms were properly cleaned previous to another stay due to allergies.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I needed a room for one night in Bar Harbor and went to my corporate travel agent website to book one. I booked the Chiltern by mistake (either the website's or my own, I'm not sure).

Let be clear - this was NOT the Inn's fault - what follows is: I immediately tried to call the Inn and cancel. All I got was voice mail. I tried numerous times over the course of the next day to contact the Inn with no response. I got my corporate travel agent involved and they were able to cancel the reservation - finally! However, the Inn said they would keep a $50 cancellation penalty.

I travel all the time for work, book hotels online every week, and have never had a hotel refuse to refund a deposit when contacted in a timely manner (I called within 5 minutes of making the reservation).

Additionally, I've tried for weeks to get a manager on the phone - apparently this is something that can't be done.

HORRENDOUS SERVICE!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This inn is incredibly rich - in history, furnishings, and beauty. My husband and I selected Chiltern online. We were absolutely amazed at what greeted our eyes. This property has been restored with lovely rich woods, a wonderful art collection and period furniture. Our suite - the Yellow Room - was delightful. The bath with jacuzzi was incredible. The fresh air and quiet also allowed us to enjoy the best night's sleep of our entire trip. We highly recommend. And Joan's gluten free omelette was probably the best I had ever tasted.

Room Tip: We suggest the Yellow Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We just spent a wonderful 3 nights at this great inn and enjoyed hiking, boat rides and some great restaurants in the Bar Harbor area. The pictures do not do this inn justice. We stayed in the 'yellow room' and it was huge! We had a fireplace, a walk-in closet with robes and slippers hanging for us, a tub for 2 in a very nice bathroom and a very comfy bed. The owners are so friendly and helpful with their suggestions. We look forward to the opportunity to return again.

Room Tip: suggest the "Yellow Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We booked the Marble Room for three nights and were very pleased with the amenities of our room and the Inn. Although we experienced some difficulty locating the Inn in Bar Harbor, we called and the Inn Keeper, Dan was very helpful and greeted us upon arrival. Dan showed us around the Inn and offered us wine and cheese while reviewing some nearby dining recommendations that evening. A delicious breakfast was prepared by the Inn Keeper, Joan and Dan, each morning and served in a beautifully furnished dining room.
Dan sat with guest after breakfast and reviewed points of interest and dining recommendations during our visit in Bar Harbor and Arcadia National Park. This was especially helpful during our first visit to Bar Harbor and Maine.The only disappointment was the SPA, in that the water was not very warm even though we had requested that the Inn Keeper have it heated for the evening. The water was not very clear and was only about 80 degrees. Although the Inn Keeper was not visibly in the Inn except for Breakfast, they did provide a moble telephone number to reach them if needed and provided wine,cheese,chrackers and fruit for guest every afternoon.
Thank you Dan and Joan for helping us enjoy a beautiful and memorable Anniversary in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We are not impressed with this inn for the price we paid. It is not located near the Bar Harbor center. One could walk, but there are no sidewalks for some of the way. The bathroom had a ceiling leak in the shower and had a funky odor, and the mattress and pillow smell musty. One good point is the delicious breakfasts. I would not recommend this Inn and would seek another one closer to the center of Bar Harbor. By the way, the inn has been for sale for some time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chiltern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Inn

Address: 11 Cromwell Harbor Rd., Bar Harbor, Maine, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiltern Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Chiltern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiltern Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiltern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.