We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better places in Bar Harbor to eat dinner!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guinness and Porcelli's

Guinness and Porcelli's
191 Main Steet, Bar Harbor, ME 04609-1746
207.288.0030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Guinness and Porcelli's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mt. Desert Street
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There are much better places in Bar Harbor to eat dinner!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Don't waste your time eating here, service was ok but the meal took forever (45+ minutes) and the place was practically empty on a rainy night. Atmosphere was substandard, needs updating. For the cost of the entrees, I would expect at least cloth napkins and table clothes. Food was good once it finally arrived. Wine was poor quality even though I paid $26 for a bottle of Italian Merlot. Other parties waited a long time for their food too so it wasn't just our table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    55
    35
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phippsburg, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“horrible, inedible meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I shared a full order of their "Goat Cheese Ravioli". The menu described this dish as follows: "Goat cheese and basil ravioli with a orange zest/fennel pollen cream with roasted beets and pine nuts". This item cost $23.95. What we received was a very odd tasting pink mess that mainly consisted of onions and canned beets. We ate a portion of it but the flavor was so strange and unappetizing that we couldn't finish. This was one of the worst meals I have ever been served in a restaurant. All told, it was a horrible, inedible meal. The disappointing thing is that we had dined at this restaurant a few times in previous years and we always enjoyed good meals. Something very bad has happened at this restaurant, resulting in bad cooking. Only eat here if you want an expensive stomach ache.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“On the Rebound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is one of the few restaurants in Bar Harbor that is open beyond the prime tourist season, something we (as locals) greatly appreciate. Over several years, we had a number of very good to excellent meals there and it became a favorite. Then, unfortunately, we had a couple of very disappointing meals - the kitchen had gotten careless and it seemed that no one was paying attention to what was being turned out. We quit going altogether for awhile.

Recently, we decided (with some trepidation) to give them another chance and are glad that we did. They have a new chef and appear to have returned to their earlier, high-quality form. There are a number of new dishes on the menu as well as some old favorites. The baked tagliatelli bolognese was outstanding and the mushroom risotto was very good. A chocolate dessert was also excellent. There are several other items on the menu that intrigue us - we look forward to trying them on future visits. Service was excellent. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. It appears that Guinness and Porcelli's is off to a new and welcome start.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Open Late was the only good thing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Hub and I could not find anything open after 7pm except this Italian restaurant. Service was just ok as they were short handed. They did the best they could. The pasta was not good and the pizza was not good. Nothing else to be said.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My Salmon was cold and the server was rude and when i took my food home there was a long brown hair wrapped in my togo box and the server was bald. Horrible do not eat here !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guinness and Porcelli's also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Guinness and Porcelli's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guinness and Porcelli's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.