We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acadia Pines Motel

Save Saved
You added Acadia Pines Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acadia Pines Motel
389 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Harrison, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Its a good place, nice environment and situated near the park entrance. The car can be parked right in front of the rooms, making it more convenient. The Downtown is also nearby n can be easily accessible. The hospitality of the owner is very good n friendly. Our room was neat n clean. hope will visit sometime again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    34
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice place close to the park entrance. Clean and comfortable, very quiet. The owner was extremely nice and helpful, we hope to get back there some time. Didn't get the chance to use the pool but it did look inviting!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Acadia Pines Motel is a tradition "park in front of your room" motorlodge. Our room was nice, clean, and well appointed even though the bathroom decor was clearly from another era. The motel is convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Acadia Pines presents very well from the road. Its obvious they have lavished a lot of care on the exterior. Our disappointing experience was that they haven't lavished the same care on all of their rooms. We stayed in the wing of the Pines that is not attached to the main part that contains the office. The room was tired. It was obvious it has not had an overhaul in quite a few years but appearances are not everything. The windows were open when we arrived so we closed them and went out to eat. When we returned their was an obvious smell of urine in the room and a distinct overlay of musty odour.

The beds were very uncomfortable. The mattresses were very old and extremely firm. Too firm for me and I'm not usually too fussy about hard beds. By morning the must in the room had reduced me to a sneezing stuffy mess.

It was comforting to know the people in the next room were okay. We know that because we could hear them breathing through the paper thin walls. Seriously you could hear every word they spoke.

The bathroom was old but okay according to my wife and daughter. They are the experts so I take their recommendations without question.

The Pines sure takes the M for motor in the motel title seriously. The road is fairly close and the noise from the Harley's and other loud vehicles was very annoying until very late and began again quite early. This is the main road into Bar Harbor and its busy and loud. When you need the windows open to breath its just ridiculous.

All this made for a horrible night and unfortunately it was expensive enough we couldn't even rationalize that at least it was cheap. Bar Harbour area is expensive but we just couldn't see why this place was charging so much for so little.

On the positive side, its right next to Udder Heaven and it has the best ice cream we have encountered anywhere. Try it if you have even a passing interest in ice cream. We were not as impressed with their breakfasts but they were okay.

Across the road is massive pirate themed mini golf that younger children might like and the hotel is not too far from Bar Harbor or the national park.

Its possible the main wing is in better shape. I went by the positive reviews here and they don't match our experience in any way. The office staff seemed friendly enough but mention of the smell in the room only got me a blank stare. We will pass this one by next time we visit Bar Harbor.

I know this all sounds a bit harsh ... but we try to be honest here, Trip Advisor is a great resource!

Room Tip: If you choose this one, make sure you check the room first and try for the main building in case its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The Acadia Pines Motel is located on Rt 3, north of Bar Harbor, Me. near Hull Cove...it is not in Seal Harbor as your map indicates.

Please reflect the correct location of the Acadia Pines Motel to Rt 3, north of Bar Harbor, ME.

Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thought this was a good motel, the room was clean and spacious and the complementary coffee was much appreciated. Route 3 into Bar Harbour is a busy road, but with the window closed it really didn't bother us, helped by the comfy bed.
One of the most useful things is that the free bus into Bar Harbour stops right next door and this made getting into BH in the evenings much easier.
The only downside was the shower as the water pressure was useless and it was hard to get the temperature right, but this didn't detract from what was a good motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The staff was very friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. We found the room to be very clean, and comfortable. While the motel is located outside of the town, we found the location served our purposes better. It was closer to the park and other areas that we wanted to visit. The area is quiet and peaceful There are several restaurants that are within walking distance from the hotel if you don't feel like driving. Would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acadia Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Pines Motel

Address: 389 State Hwy 3, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 6 acres of lawn and trees, just 2 miles before the Hulls CoveVisitor's Center for Acadia National Park, our family owned and operated motel offers 22 clean, affordable,comfortable rooms. Our guests say the eclectic decor gives our rooms a nice homey feel. A place to just relax and enjoy being in Maine. The rooms vary in size from the economy queen unit to a spacious king kitchen. For families we offer the roomy 2 queen bed units with or without a kitchen to the spacious two room kitchen unit. They feature one king, 1 or 2 queen beds and two room units with 1 king and 2 twins, 5 kitchenettes, all rooms have a refrigerator,hair dryer and in-room-coffee, king rooms include a mirowave. The 48 foot ,outdoor pool is open and heated from late June to Labor Day. There are picnic tables, lawn chairs and a gazebo for guest use. There is a woodland path to the property next door to our right which features a restaurant, ice cream shop and general store. Across the street is Pirates Cove Adventure Golf, a 2nd restaurant and gift shop. The Island Explorer Shuttle bus has a scheduled stop right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Acadia Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Pines Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Pines Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadia Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.